We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For a great evening and great sleep” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plume of Feathers

The Plume of Feathers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Plume of Feathers
Ranked #3 of 3 Crondall B&B and Inns
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“For a great evening and great sleep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I have just stayed for a weeks accommodation at the Plume of Feathers in Crondall, Hampshire.

The food, accommodation and beer in this traditional, warm and friendly pub & hotel is absolutely first rate at very competitive rates. It blows the wind out of the socks of other such pubs and guest houses around Farnborough.

The rooms are reasonably sized with very comfortable beds and high quality contemporary ensuites. The rooms have being sensitively converted from former stables and are airy due to the high ceiling space with all the modern conveniences you may require including flat screen tvs, wifi, coffee/tea, etc.

The pub and the local area are steeped in history and offers a beautiful rural feel yet with easy reach of nearby towns and London making it an ideal place to stay. To top it all the accommodation is very reasonably priced as too is the excellent food served from an extensive menu and the good quality beers kept by a Landlord and staff who take great pride in service which provides for a welcome and comfortable stay.

I will certainly be staying at the Plume of Feathers again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    15
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
20
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed for one night last weekend and had a really good nights sleep after a lovely meal in the restaurant. Cant comment on the breakfast as we didnt have it, but the room itself was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. We stayed in room one, and the only problem we had was with the door key - getting out took us a while!! We would have mentioned it but we left at 9am the next morning and no one was about.The room is tiny, but we expected that after reading other reviews.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Just a note of caution before booking this hotel. The rooms are located in former stable blocks and as such have NO windows apart from a small sky light. So if you suffer form claustrophobia I would not recommend. Also the lock in the door to room 1 is dodgy it took me a while to get out!! The room itself is fairly small but clean very noisy extractor fan in the bathroom I called the owner to fix the tv as there was no signal and was told it was due the 'atmosphere'!! I had a fiddle with the aerial connection and normal viewing was resumed......landlord did not seem particularly bothered about fixing it.I have reported to landlord so may be fixed for next guest.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pheebs363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plumeoffeathers, Owner at The Plume of Feathers, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
We are sorry that this guest was not happy with our facilities.
Our web site explains that the rooms are compact but have a roof window with blinds and high vaulted ceilings.
The extractor fan in the bathroom only comes on when the bathroom is used and has a one minute run on period. It is not excessively noisy but has been serviced and oiled since.
The door lock has also been adjusted and oiled.
Unfortunately, we are not TV ariel specialists and were unable to find the fault for the guest on a busy evening. However, we are grateful for her efforts!
This guest did not make any complaints to us during her stay apart from the problem with the TV and seemed quite happy.
Please read other reviews on both this web site and our own site.
Thank you for taking the time to read our response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed here last night and had a lovely time. The staff were friendly & very helpful. Excellant evening meal followed by an excellant nights sleep in a very comfortable bed !!. The bedroom was so cute...loved it !!! So much character and charm. Bathroom was lovely and clean.Couldnt fault this place whatsoever and will definately be returning !!! Highly recommended :)

Room Tip: We had rooms 1 and 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Very friendly staff, very well kept beer, great food. Clean, tidy and comfy room. The room was in a converted barn, so was a 'cosy' size, but was fine for 1 person. My only complaint was no wi-fi in the rooms, but no problem from the bar. I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThinTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

My brother, niece and I stayed at the Plume of Feathers for four nights last week on a trip from America to visit my dad. We took all three rooms. We had a wonderful time. The rooms were cosy and clean and were toasty warm. I slept like a log. We had a family dinner with some friends one night. I had some fabulous local pheasant with all the trimmings. Spot on. The regular locals were all friendly and conversational. Exactly what a pub should be. We had a beer or two before bed each night and it was perfectly conditioned. The staff were super friendly throughout. We also had the full English breakfast every day with plenty of French press coffee. It was great to have the pub to ourselves first thing in the morning! From my point of view the price was very reasonable and we will be going back any chance we get. [Don't miss the All Saints Norman church on your walk around the village. Some locals gave us an impromptu tour and explained some of its history].

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickOLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

My husband and I have been going to The Plume of Feathers for over 10 years now and have always had a great experience. A couple of weeks ago after parents evening we had a bar meal and the fish was very fresh and a very generous portion. Whilst on trip advisor i happened to see some of the negative comments about the accommodation and mentioned this to the Landlord Julian, he got the room keys and showed us the rooms. They were immaculate and very cosy. My husband has worked in the property industry for over 35 years and I worked in it for 12 years and we have seen alot of places. This does not deserve some of the negative comments it has been given and that's why I felt strongly about adding a review. You must go and visit this beautiful pub, with friendly Landlords and locals.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COX4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crondall
2.3 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#6 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
3.6 mi away
Lismoyne Hotel
Lismoyne Hotel
#1 of 4 in Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Princess Royal
The Princess Royal
#1 of 22 in Farnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bel & The Dragon
Bel & The Dragon
#1 of 2 in Odiham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Frampton Cottage
Frampton Cottage
#2 of 3 in Crondall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plume of Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plume of Feathers

Property: The Plume of Feathers
Address: The Borough, Crondall GU10 5NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Crondall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Crondall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plume of Feathers 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historic village of Crondall, the Plume of Feathers is a 16th century pub/restaurant. The accommodation is in the converted stable block adjacent to the rear courtyard giving guests complete and private access 24hrs a day. Food is served both in the bar and restaurant between 12.00 and 2.30 and 7.00 and 9.30.Free Wi-Fi in the bar and rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Plume of Feathers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plume Of Feathers Crondall, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing