We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice for lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plume of Feathers

The Plume of Feathers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Plume of Feathers
Ranked #3 of 3 Crondall B&B and Inns
Hook, Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great choice for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Popped in for a quick lunch. Menu was wide ranging and very tempting. I opted for the Pork and black budding patties, my wife went for the Croque Monsieur. Both were delicious.

The pub has a smallish, cosy bar and a larger restaurant to the rear. The staff were very friendly and efficient.

Would have liked to stay longer. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPRStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    15
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
20
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Three of us enjoyed an excellent lunch at the Plume of Feathers today. We didn't stay, but felt we must comment on the food and drinks. The range of choice was enticing, and all our choices gave satisfaction, especially my choice of Thai Red Prawn Curry. We all had nice pints of beer, and were delighted with the conditioning of our selection of beers. The standard of service was truly outstanding, and the management is to be complimented on their choice of staff. They truly add materially to the customer experience. I only come around this way twice a year, and the Plume has become something of a fixture in the agenda. Here's to the next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Fairways2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We sat outside on a balmy night and had drinks & an evening meal. The pub had a dozen more people sitting & drinking outside. The food we ordered was very good. My husband had the ribeye steak with blue cheese sauce & would not stop raving about it.He Said it was the best he had had (and he,s eaten a few!!) We felt comfortable & not rushed. We sat for a couple of hours taking in the charm of the very pretty village - Crondall.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sarahlouise55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I have been staying at the Plume of Feathers for over a year now during the working week. It is located in the beautiful village of Crondall, away from the larger towns but conveniently located to them which is ideal for travel to the office.

Over my working career I have stayed at many hotels, inns, pubs throughout the length and breadth of the UK. Rarely have I ever found such a friendly and comfortable place to stay as the Plume of Feathers.

I certainly recommend the good standard of the clean, modern and comfortable accommodation plus the high quality of food and proper English beer, which is outstanding. The pub itself is beautiful and situated in an ideal spot in the centre of the village, steeped in history. A proper English treasure.

But best of all has been the warm and professional welcome received from the Landlord, Landlady and Staff during my stay complemented by the variety of village regulars who have kept me entertained and offered me their friendship and good company.

Room prices are very reasonable at £50 per night during the week which is considerable cheaper than other places that I have stayed at in the local area which, in my opinion, are of a lower quality.

Beer prices are not the UK's cheapest but the quality is very high and I like to think that you get what you pay for in life.

I will certainly stay at the Plume again, look forward to seeing you there!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

We wanted an uncomplicated and cosy pub to stay in on our way to the South East. The Plume and Feathers ticked the boxes for decent value for money in that area. The beer isn't cheap but is typical for that part of the world. It seems an old coach house had been efficiently converted into bedrooms and we found this cosy rather than cramped although longer stays might find this too small. The ale was kept well, the food, decent pub fayre (don't bother with the steaks) and the village was delightful in the early summer sun. As long as you only stay for one night, enjoy good ale, a decent menu in a local's pub then you will have a good night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJClarke1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Quintessential English Village pub. However the 3 rooms out the back, if ours is anything to go by, do not fulfil the image. It is not the quality of the fittings or the décor, but the cramped interior without any usable window (very small velux style roof light faulty, insufficient to light or air the interior). Twin beds, wall side can only be accessed by climbing over the other or via the bed end. Tiny wall mounted television.

Access to room via BBQ area with CP to rear. Every noise outside audible, as were the voices of the occupants next door.

Room price £50, breakfast an extra £10 each. English breakfast good flavour. No offer of cereal. No offer of extra toast. Coffee refill offered.

Evening meal; roast beef excellent and reasonable to good value £10.95. Beer extortionate, a pint of Abbot Ale £4.20, the most expensive pint I have had to date! The meal was spoilt by the local clientele who drowned out our ability to hold a conversation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GFJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plumeoffeathers C, Owner at The Plume of Feathers, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
We are sorry that these guests were not happy with their stay.
Our web site and all other sites state that the rooms are compact but very comfortable.
These guests stayed in our twin room on a bank holiday Sunday. We were not aware that the Velux window was faulty. If we had been told, it would have been repaired.
The room has two comfortable single beds with an en-suite shower room and a high 16' vaulted ceiling. There is a 16'' colour television, with full digital coverage. A large screen TV would be over sized for the room.
We do not normally offer cereal for breakfast but, if asked, we can provide a reasonable selection.
We can also provide extra toast and coffee. Please ask!!
Our Abbot Ale is a premium bitter with an ABV of 5%, lovingly conditioned in our temperature controlled cellar and is £4.10 a pint. For those guests who prefer a beer to suit their pockets, we can offer Green King IPA at 3.6% for £3.70 a pint, also lovingly conditioned in the cellar.
These guests ate in the bar on a bank holiday Sunday evening when we were obviously very busy.
For a quieter and more romantic meal, our candle-lit, beamed restaurant is always available with full waitress service.
Please read other reviews on trip advisor and other web sites.
Thank you for taking the time to read this response
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

just spent three nights at this lovely old pub, would like to thank the landlord and staff for making my stay a very comfortable one. The rooms are a barn conversion very professionaly done with excellent en suit bathroom and comfortable bed very clean and well maintained.I would imagine you would have to book early at peak times for restaurant as food is of a very high standard.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crondall
2.3 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#6 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
3.6 mi away
Lismoyne Hotel
Lismoyne Hotel
#1 of 4 in Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Princess Royal
The Princess Royal
#1 of 22 in Farnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bel & The Dragon
Bel & The Dragon
#1 of 2 in Odiham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Frampton Cottage
Frampton Cottage
#2 of 3 in Crondall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plume of Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plume of Feathers

Property: The Plume of Feathers
Address: The Borough, Crondall GU10 5NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Crondall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Crondall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plume of Feathers 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historic village of Crondall, the Plume of Feathers is a 16th century pub/restaurant. The accommodation is in the converted stable block adjacent to the rear courtyard giving guests complete and private access 24hrs a day. Food is served both in the bar and restaurant between 12.00 and 2.30 and 7.00 and 9.30.Free Wi-Fi in the bar and rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Plume of Feathers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plume Of Feathers Crondall, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing