We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel”

The Plume of Feathers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Plume of Feathers
Ranked #3 of 4 Crondall B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2014

There is nothing else in Crondall, but if here, it is worth the stay in this quaint hotel. Our room at the back of the hotel was small but adequate. The shower is incredibly small, but did the trick for us slim people! The carpets were dirty and left brown marks on my wife's white jeans when she was packing her case on the floor. The meal we had was good although should be at the prices charged. Breakfast was also fine, but again not worth the prices charged (there is nowhere else to eat). Fun for a night in the country.

Room Tip: Our room 3 was OK. Not sure what the others are like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownCobraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plumeoffeathers C, Manager at The Plume of Feathers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We are sorry that these guests had cause to make a complaint about the carpets.
Our carpets are deep cleaned every year and, by coincidence, were cleaned on the day they left.
Whilst the en-suite shower room is relatively small, the shower enclosures are 900mm quadrant and large enough for most people.
With regards to the comment that there is nothing else in Crondall, the guests had obviously not taken the trouble to look around the village.
There are three pubs, three bed and breakfast establishment, a large village store and post office, two churches, one being one of the oldest in Hampshire, a garage specialising in Bentley and Rolls Royce cars, a cricket pitch, a bowling green, a football pitch, a large village hall and over two dozen medieval houses!!
We serve freshly prepared food to order in both our restaurant and bar at what we would like to think is good value. A look on our web site will confirm the prices that we charge.
We charge £10 for breakfast which includes, fresh, chilled fruit juice, tea or coffee, full English breakfast, a choice of white or granary toast, jam and marmalade. Other options are available on request.
As a cheap alternative, McDonalds in nearby Fleet can offer a bacon and sausage egg
McMuffin plus large tea for £3.49!!
Thank you for taking the time to read this management response

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

41 - 47 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Nice and comfy bed, very quaint and cute room. Only downside poor sound proofing. Apart from that can't complain for spending less than 10 hrs of kip ! Also, the Lux soap is amazing - I have a job finding it in the supermarkets !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bakul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here whilst on a business trip with a colleague, and would come back!
The room was small and did only have one skylight, but it was immaculate, comfortable and had everything I needed. If you are the sort to bring the kitchen sink with you when you go away, then you will find you need more space. However as a base whilst I was out and about, it worked really well. The shower was a bit on the small side - a burly chap would have looked rather amusing in there - but there was always hot water and plenty of it. Other reviewers have commented on noise from the beer garden - I stay Friday and Saturday and the worst noise was the garden gate banging in the wind!

The car park is a good size; we came in a large transit van and though it was tight getting in, there was enough room to turn and park comfortably without blocking anyone it.

I loved the pub; good beer selection, warm and clean. The food was fantastic, what I would think of as comfort and homely meals. I cannot fault the staff, or landlord and felt that we were really well looked after during our stay. The locals also provided some amusing tales and a good chat while we were there.

Just to reiterate - if you want a large spacious room in which you can spread yourself about, or do the conga in, then this is not the place for you. However, if you want a comfortable, friendly place that is full of character (and characters!), then I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shnoowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I haven't been to this pub in years and I wasn't disappointed today. We sat in the bright sunny courtyard garden to the rear of the pretty pub and enjoyed our first sunny trip out with a spot of lunch. We went into the pub to order which is very cosy and beamed and saw something I haven't for years. Little bowls of very nice nuts and cheese straws on the bar, which I thought was a very nice touch. Lovely menu. .. We chose a sharing fish board which was scrummy. Smoked trout, mackerel, anchovies, smoked salmon, whitebait, prawns and rollmops with salad, olives ,bread with oil. Also we shared a hot roastbeef sandwich. I noticed that the roasts looked good too so we plan a re visit soon. Thank you we will definately be back. Oh and the staff were very attentive and lovely too!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Julian and his staff couldn't have been more helpful. Clean and comfortable room, nice bathroom, excellent dinner and very convenient. The pub/restaurant oozes with olde worlde charm and the rooms are off the courtyard in a converted barn, so you can access them straight from the car park without going through the main building.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1, a double, and the bed was extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluecatcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Oi Oi Saveloy! Came up from east end on jolly boys outing. Left me bag for life on her jack jones as she had to pick up the teapot lids.

Got lost and found this bath tub and thought we’d stop for a pigs ear so I could rest me plates. The becks and posh was handsome. I had loop de loop and a charlie drake and Mental Mickey had the kate and sydney.

Few of the geezas drinking in there didn’t have much of the old barnet fair. Should have used me noggin and sold em a couple of syrups.

Spent all night at the jack tar having a frank and pat with the landlord. Pwoppa geeza. Also met some fellas called sniper and licky... mush them blokes can rabbit and pork.

We left when the dickory hit 10, had to get back to me mickey mouse cause the old pot and pan was coming round for a ruby. Cracking battle cruiser.... Mickey says we’ll be back next year. Nice one!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Antony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Our company have used the Plume on a regular basis for accommodation,after most of our clients, being American required the obligatory Olde Worlde Pub and British Fog! The former is provided in abundance, with real charm and excellent accommodation, food and service. So much so, we have booked the entire restaurant in December for our Xmas bash. Lovely Landlady and staff, although I thought the Landlord had a slight speech impediment, until I found out he came from the North of England. Reading one of the previous reviews is interesting, regarding the locals. Apparently Licky Hills, was once a famous cocktail waiter in Winchester and specialises in Toffee Crunch dippers. Sniper is a great bloke, certainly worth buying a drink for, as is the UK's last serving Field Marshal, who also frequents the pub regularly.
Great local Pub, amazing beer, food and hospitality, a must for locals, tourists and northerners!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Cmwellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crondall
3.1 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#1 of 6 in Farnham
231 reviews
2.3 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Farnham
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vine Cottage Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Erlands House
Erlands House
#1 of 4 in Crondall
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plume of Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plume of Feathers

Address: The Borough, Crondall GU10 5NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Crondall
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Crondall
Price Range: £57 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plume of Feathers 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historic village of Crondall, the Plume of Feathers is a 16th century pub/restaurant. The accommodation is in the converted stable block adjacent to the rear courtyard giving guests complete and private access 24hrs a day. Food is served both in the bar and restaurant between 12.00 and 2.30 and 7.00 and 9.30.Free Wi-Fi in the bar and rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plume of Feathers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plume Of Feathers Crondall, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing