We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality, nice setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Arms

Hampshire Arms
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Crondall
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$82
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
A1_ken
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good quality, nice setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Tried this pub as was in the area and they do food from 6pm. The pub up the road didnt start food till 7pm. Emailed ahead to check dogs were allowed, and got a very speedy response back so yes, dogs welcome.

Menu was very small, but the scampi and chips were cooked to perfection, nicely dressed delicate salad, and a good bottle of Pinot Griogio, not at a hyped up price either. Would definitely visit again if in the area.

Garden at the back was absolutely lovely and tranquil.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A1_ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    33
    7
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

After trying to book a Sunday Roast at a number of restaurants, and all being fully booked we decided to try The Hampshire Arms as we had not been there and the reviews being good. When we arrived there were a few cars in the car park. On entering the pub there were only 4 people in there, after 10 mins they left leaving just us two. We both ordered the sunday roast, my husband had the pork and I had the roast beef, both meals were very average, and the service very slow. We would be in no rush to go back

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 430Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Attended a Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We visited the Hampshire Arms last week for my nephews wedding...cosy/friendly pub... The wedding buffet looked and tasted delicious. Also top marks for the late night buffet of bacon sandwiches and chunky chips...(Think I was only there for the buffet )...not really..>had a glorious day with beautiful surroundings-lovely pub in a beautiful village..

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsRevGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Durrant's Wedding Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Spent a wonderful time at wedding reception held in the Hampshire Arms.
A lovely village pub/restaurant provided the ideal setting to celebrate the wedding of Amanda &Justin Durrant.
Everything from the catering, setting and entertainment was wonderful and nothing was to much to ask for.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank milktruck169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Hampshire Arms is a delightful pub set in the charming village Crondall. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food is delicious and the atmosphere is wonderful.
We had our wedding reception here, Charlie and his amazing staff made our wedding a complete success and gave us some fantastic memories to treasure. I would highly recommend the Hampshire Arms!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AJDurrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hampshire Arms also viewed

 

Been to Hampshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing