We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belle Cote
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acres and Ocean Cottage
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bronxville, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I had originally planned on staying in the B&B, but when we took too long to get our plans in place (months in advance, by the way -- a tribute to their popularity) Peter was very helpful in setting us (two couples) up in the cottage for three nights. My wife and I have never stayed in a cottage (being B&B folks), but my sister and her husband have. We were very happy overall and they thought it was fine (and good value) although the location (on the coastal road) disappointed them a bit.

The cottage is very clean, well-appointed, with a well-equipped kitchen (although we're glad we brought our own dishwashing liquid). Peter makes the small grill available for a $15 charge for the propane. It was plenty big for our needs, which included cooking an 8-pound chicken.

The bedrooms are comfortable and functional -- nothing special, but perfectly adequate. As they draw water from a spring for both the cottage and house (which includes the B&B), they ask that guests take short showers. We never had a problem with the water supply in the bathroom or kitchen.

Although situated on the main road, we had no problems with noise. The view of the ocean and sunsets is excellent. The price was very fair -- $150/night, taxes included.

Margaree is a great location with access to lots of natural beauty. The cottage is a two-minute drive to the restaurant at Island Sunset Resort, which really surprised us with the quality of the food. Several of us had an amazing dinner of Margaree Snow Crab.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDW952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caperbeach, Owner at Acres and Ocean Cottage, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
241 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This is a real find on the Cabot Trail in Belle Cote, on the edge of the Magaree Valley and close to Cheticamp and the Highlands National Park. Two bedroom cottage with ample living and dining space, spotlessly clean. We rented for four nights. Could have stayed longer. Much better value than other "resorts" in the region. Owners are very helpful. Wildlife and bird watching from the porch is great, swimming at Belle Cote beach in July is excellent. Be aware that the water supply is creek fed so shower only, and the cottage overlooks the ocean and the Cabot Trail Highway, so sunsets and views are beautiful but there is traffic on the road (it didnt bother us).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruperto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caperbeach, Owner at Acres and Ocean Cottage, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for review and feedback .
The water is a spring fed well , not a creek source , so while we treat it, we feel it is always wise to tell people who are used to city water as this spring fed water is so pure , but some may not realize that .
Our water passes water tests every year and has for over 20years .
Yeah, we are by the Cabot Trail, and there can be some noise, but there's no great amount of traffic anyway, so . The sunsets on the horizon will far outweigh the road noise .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed in the Ocean View cottage for 12 nights. We found it to be spotlessly clean, comfortable, convenient, and very well located. This quiet two bedroom cottage has a very well appointed kitchen with stove, fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, tea kettle, pots & pans and utensils, dishes, etc. It is on a paved road and in walking distance of restaurants and a nice beach. Located in Belle Cote, just north of Margaree Harbor, it sits on the Cabot Trail in one of the most scenic locations in Cape Breton Island, minutes from Cheticamp, Cape Breton Highlands Park, the Cabot Trail, and the beautiful Margaree, and is a very easy drive to the French speaking Acadian communities and also the Ceilidh trail. The view from the deck to the ocean is wonderful and refreshing in the mornings and with beautiful sunsets in the evenings.

Peter and Joan are warm and welcoming hosts who are glad to help their guests in any manner that they can. We have stayed in several B&B's and cabins in Cape Breton Island and we think Ocean Haven was our best stay yet. The combination of a very nice cabin and a terrific location make it a top choice!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank submariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles City, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We've stayed with Peter & Joan two years in a row and for good reason. They are gracious hosts, offering wonderful advice on the places to see, do, eat, ride, swim, hike, wander, and enjoy all that the area has to offer. The B&B (Ocean Haven) has an upstairs room with its own bath outside of the room...but it's the only room upstairs, so you've got all the privacy you'd want. The downstairs room has an en suite bath. Windows open...great breezes...clean to the highest of standards. WiFi in the B&B, but not in the Cabin...though, they're fine if you wander up the short walk to the house to use your laptop or wifi device.
Joan's breakfasts are great, filling, and feature fresh, local ingredients. They handled our dietary allergies w/o a hitch.
Sunsets from the porches are, well, killer.
Short way down road to Duck Cove, there is a public beach to get even better view.
You can drive to Margaree valley for music (Barn concert & dance every Wed night), or into Cheticamp for music on Sat afternoons at Doryman. Easy day trip to Aspy Bay, Dingwell, White Point or HIghlands Park hikes. Good food and grocery stores in Grand Etang and Cheticamp. Recommend the folk art-bakery-and-espresso place on north end of Cheticamp (free wifi there, too) for best coffee north of Halifax.
Whale cruises nearby. Wild life abounds. Great horned owls, moose, etc.
Quiet, cozy, and, again, Peter & Joan are just top-drawer folks.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iowill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Cote
38.2 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
8.2 mi away
Margaree Riverview Inn
Margaree Riverview Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Forks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
29.3 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Duck Cove Inn
Duck Cove Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
7.0 mi away
Cajun Cedar Log Cottages
Cajun Cedar Log Cottages
#1 of 3 in Margaree Forks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.4 mi away
Margaree Harbour View Inn
Margaree Harbour View Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Harbour
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acres and Ocean Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acres and Ocean Cottage

Property: Acres and Ocean Cottage
Address: 10814 Cabot Trail Highway | Nova Scotia, Belle Cote, Nova Scotia B0E 1C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Belle Cote
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Belle Cote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acres and Ocean Cottage is a 2 bedroom house , furnished and finished just like your home. It's quiet and comfortable, with several large arm chairs and the conveniences of home . All Carpeted. It's really designed to accommodate four. An eat-in kitchen and full appliances. You have mountainside views of sunrises or ocean views of sunsets . You can walk to a working wharf, bird colonies, or sandy swimming beach; walk paths on the property or up the the mountains . You have three handy places to dine . To the south is all of the Margaree river valley , Inverness and the Cabot Links, Glenora Distillery and famous Red Shoe,or the Doryman for CB Celtic music . North is several restaurants, a national park, the Skyline trail, whale watching, horse back riding. You are surrounded by museums. Culture centers, crafts stores , wood products and carvers ,quilters ,rook hooking , and many CB fiddling music venues . It is one of the best base locations.You can travel the whole Cabot Traill casually full circle in a day or make the visit to Louisburg and be back within a leisure day and never miss a sunset.We are government licensed and inspected . Our rates vary from $ 145 to 195 including the 15% tax . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acres And Ocean Cottage Belle Cote, Cape Breton Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing