We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, right on the beach”
Review of La Scogliera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Scogliera
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Piraino
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place, right on the beach”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Location, location, location!! Wonderful place, right on the pebble beach, with wonderful little bays for swimming. Wish we could stay more.
Back side of the hotels faces the railroad tracks. Trains are not very frequent, but may present some issues for light sleepers.
Hotel is a bit dated, but clean and stuff could not have been more accomodating. Wonderful, friendly, cordial people (6 stars in that regard). Breakfast needs serious improvement though - selection and quantity sadly was not there. Overall, great experience. Would come again.

Room Tip: Sea side view, even if it cost extra. Sunsets are magnificient, and you'd be speared the noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    68
    24
    14
    13
See reviews for
56
71
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We had the good fortune to have this hotel recommended to us, and it certainly didn't disappoint. The rooms and simple, spotlessly clean and comfortable, and the sea facing view is just stunning! In fact it's a painters paradise at sunrise and sunset with the light changing We were on a room, breakfast & dinner deal and the food was typically Sicilian and fantastic. The seafood pasta is a speciality.

The staff are very pleasant and bend over backwards to ensure that everything is in order for the perfect holiday.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pogson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We were staying at this hotel from 15.09.2012 for one week,we arrived by car.When we were booking this hotel we did not know anything about this village Piraino,it is a really wonderfully untouristy place,lovely and clean.There are some bars and supermarkets to buy Sicilian specialties and fruits.The people who work in this hotel are very pleasant and friendly.The room with the sea view was a fantastic choice because the hotel is right on the beach,so you can hear only the waves coming to the shore.The breakfast was unusually abundant for Italy,we especially liked the high quality coffe machine,which we could use without limits,cheese,prochutto and croassans were an excellent start of our Sicilian vacations.The restaurant itself needs no advertizing,you need just to order,try and then come back to taste all the items on the menu,we especially loved the fresh fish dishes and salads,pizza was superb as well.The beach was spotlessly clean with a shower.We drove all the way to the famous Cefalu and did not find a beach just as lovely as in front of the hotel La Scogliera.Wifi was perfect in the room. We read some reviews about railway but we did not notice it at all. Maybe there are two things we can advise which can be improved: shower cabin size can be lager and the bed matrass can be more comfortable.
The only disadvantage can be that your vacatins finish and you have to come back to reality after such a relaxing stay right on the beach.

Regards,
Valentin and Alexandra

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra555_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The hotel is not a new building, but ok ! The rooms are clean and very bright.The view from the bedroom balcony is absolutely fantastic, right in front of a lovely clean sea and beach, and the Eolian Islands straight ahead. The restaurant has a very wide choice of dishes and all those we tried were really, really tasty.The pizzeria has so many different piizzas,we had problem choosing: so beautifully made and so good to eat, first with your eyes and then your mouth.The staff was always present and very helpful. We highly recomend a stay here if you intend to have a relaxing holiday,eating good food and when you're not sun tanning on the beach, you can visit so may lovely places that are very close by car.Overall we had a lovely stay and are definetly coming back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piraino
0.4 mi away
Riviera Del Sole
Riviera Del Sole
#1 of 3 in Piraino
652 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gattopardo Sea Palace Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hotel Capo Skino
Hotel Capo Skino
#3 of 9 in Gioiosa Marea
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Avalon Sikani
Hotel Avalon Sikani
#2 of 9 in Gioiosa Marea
399 reviews
3.7 mi away
Capo Baia Verde - Sea Resort
Capo Baia Verde - Sea Resort
#5 of 9 in Capo d'Orlando
116 reviews
1.8 mi away
CalanovellaMare
CalanovellaMare
#3 of 3 in Piraino
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Scogliera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Scogliera

Property: La Scogliera
Address: Via del Popolo 5, 98060 Piraino, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Piraino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Piraino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — La Scogliera 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Scogliera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Scogliera Piraino, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing