We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!”
Review of Fyfield Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fyfield Manor
Ranked #1 of 2 Benson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Thank you for your hospitality, we had a wonderful two night stay. Wow what a fantastic Manor, feels like going back in time, a truly unique B&B. We loved sitting in the garden under the trees next to the stream, so peaceful. Delicious breakfast, we ate like kings and queens in the beautiful dining room. Thank you for your kindness in regards to our friend's dietary requirements, your family really goes the extra mile to make each stay a wonderful experience. Our grande room and bathroom was such a surprise, so much space. Need to get another friend to get married near there so we can come back and stay! Thanks again, Alex

Room Tip: The cream/green room is big and has a separate very large bathroom with shower attachment but no sho...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Saabtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris_fyfield, Owner at Fyfield Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your generous review. I am glad all went well with the wedding and you had an opportunity to enjoy the house and gardens. I hope some to in the future you will stay again.

Best wishes Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Fyfield Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

I recently used the Fyfield Manor for some filming and it did not disappoint. The manor is stunning both inside and out and looked beautiful on camera.

The gardens are beautifully kept with a babbling stream and amazing views of the manor creating a sense of tranquility. Inside the house is sympathetic to the era (one of the doorways is apparently 12th century!) and has been lovingly restored and maintained throughout. The dining room and observatory were both oozing period charm.

The staff were friendly and helpful and were incredibly accommodating to our needs.

Although I was only at Fyfield Manor for two hours I was reluctant to leave and I will definitely be coming again to stay. If you're looking for an impeccably maintained period B&B look no further!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank c_pricemorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris_fyfield, Owner at Fyfield Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We very much enjoyed the experience of having a film crew here. It is one of my daughter's favourite programmes so she was thrilled to be able to watch. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Cloisters, a two bedroom self-catering, open plan apartment, attached to the main house. It is lovely and fitted out to a high standard. With beautiful rustic garden views and a large comfortable bed it was impossible not to be relaxed. Waking up each morning to the sound of chattering birds for us was a pleasure. As we were visiting our son nearby at RAF Benson, we never used the modern kitchen apart from making tea and had breakfast in the main house. Christine, the proprietress is charming and breakfast in the medieval hall was a delight with a good selection of organic cereals, fruit and of course, a hearty cooked breakfast, if required, also using organic products. There was also some gluten-free breakfast cereals available which was very thoughtful. This is the second time we have stayed here (the first in the Cloisters) and it was just as pleasurable as the first.
Before arriving, I took time to read the many positive reviews for Fyfield Manor in Trip Advisor and even took in a couple of disgruntled reviewers comments which I find absolutely laughable.
They were obviously visiting from another solar system.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris_fyfield, Owner at Fyfield Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Cloisters and it was a pleasure to see you again. Thank you for all the kind comments. It is very much appreciated.

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We started off feeling a little apprehensive about staying in this very old house. Our hostess was friendly, helpful and informative about the local area. We stayed in the Blue Room which was an original 18th century room. It was redecorated in a manner appropriate to that time and was warm. We had a great nights sleep after exploring the local area. The breakfast was wonderful organic and tasty food including cereal and full cooked English breakfast. The hostess helped us with our forward travels and we recommend this place.

Room Tip: It's a historical house with many ryes of rooms. Discuss your needs with the host.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris_fyfield, Owner at Fyfield Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

I am pleased that you enjoyed your experience of staying in a very old house. I can see that it could be a little overwhelming on first arriving but I am glad that you found it easy to settle in.
With best wishes
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We would like to thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful home. We had a wonderful weeken d. the bed was very comfortable.The room had a view of the stream running through the garden.We stayed in the blue room. We are missing your wonderful breakfasts.We were very impressed with all the toiletries in the bathroom.You gave us very helpful information on the area where to eat and the bus timetable into Oxford. You were very kind to buy me some gluton free biscuits to go with my cup of tea plus you also bought gluton free bread to have for toast in the mornings.We hope to see you again soon. Brian Heather Sweet

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris_fyfield, Owner at Fyfield Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad I could be of assistance in providing information and all you gluten free requirements. You were both a pleasure to have to stay in our home and we look forward to your next stay.

Thank you. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Although we only live a few miles away, the chance of a weekend away without the children was too good to miss, and managed to get a late booking at Fyfield Manor.

We arrived at night, but the directions given were clear and concise, so easy enough to find.

Our welcome was warm - instantly felt at home, and the Blue Room was a delight. Spotlessly clean, quiet, full of character, excellent bathroom, and twin beds so comfortable we wanted to take them home.

Excellent first night meal at recommended pub the Red Lion in nearby Britwell Salome, followed by the best night's sleep we'd both had in ages.

Breakfast really hit the spot - the dining hall is most welcoming, with great selecftion of cereals, including organic options and lovely fresh yoghurt. Bacon, eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, toast, tea, coffee and preserves all top quality and fresh as they come. No sign of pre-prep and warm-up, and no greasy cooking.

The hostess and her family are charming and helpful, and clearly dedicated to giving top qaulity with value for money.

Second night and breakfast of equal quality, and provided later in the morning on request to allow for a Sunday lie-in.

Also worth mentioning The Cloisters - modern yet architecturally sympathetic self-catering annexe. The family built this themselves, and it has to be seen to be believed. This is no ordinary bed and breakfast, and we highly recommend it.

Blue Room B and B, £85 per night. Had a tour of other rooms, and all look wonderful.

We will return, and we will take friends

Thanks to Christine and the family

Room Tip: When booking a double room ask about the size of the bed. Not all doubles are equal If in doubt...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris_fyfield, Owner at Fyfield Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a generous review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to totally relax. It is always encouraging and a pleasure to have such appreciative guests to stay.

Thank you again and hopefully we will see you in the future.

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Fantastic place and wonderful hosts. We really enjoyed our stay and the house is really beautiful, a real privilege to stay in. Christine and her husband are the friendliest hosts ever - I came away with loads of advice and the best nights sleep in 17 months!
Kate & Fred

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooksie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris_fyfield, Owner at Fyfield Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thank you for your positive review. It was a pleasure sharing our home with you and look forward to seeing you again.

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benson
2.1 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
658 reviews
2.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
249 reviews
3.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Benson
91 reviews
2.1 mi away
Little Gables Bed and Breakfast
Little Gables Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Crowmarsh Gifford
139 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Partridge Inn Wine Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fyfield Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fyfield Manor

Address: High St, OX10, Benson, Wallingford OX10 6HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wallingford > Benson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Benson
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12th century manor countryside guest house situated in the village of Benson. It has recently been restored and refurbished and now offers very comfortable hotel-equivalent accommodation in a building with features which span 7 centuries, many of which have been hidden for over 250 years. Fyfield offers a friendly and personal service without being intrusive. We offer a good selection of organic and healthy options for breakfast but still maintain the traditional English breakfast. The 3 rooms are very individual in their character and furnishings but all have either king or super king beds, are large and bright and have all comforts. There are 3 local pubs within walking distance and several gourmet pubs and restaurants within a short drive. A regular bus goes directly to Oxford and Cholsey train station is within 3 miles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fyfield Manor Benson, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing