We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling completely at home in the manor house”
Review of Fyfield Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fyfield Manor
Ranked #1 of 2 Benson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 February 2009

This was the first time that we had left our two and a half year old daughter with relatives and were feeling anxious when we arrived. The house is magnificent, full of period features and the dining room and adjacent room have to be seen to be believed! There is also a new build cloisters that is an ecologically friendly build but bagged by Christine's son! Fair enough I suppose when you consider that he both designed and built it along with the befuddled man mentioned in a previous review (what was that woman on??!!) I was welcomed by Christine's husband and no i didn't catch his name either but he was charm personified. The bedroom that we had was the cream one which is large and spotlessly clean and very warm. I was meeting my wife at a local pub for dinner which involved a twenty minute walk down dark country lanes. Christine had supplied both a rechargable torch and a high vis jacket for this very purpose (how thoughtful). I thought that this was a lovely touch and came to really appreciate it as I set off to the pub.
Breakfast in the morning was delicious organic food and Christine made us feel most welcome. If you're looking for a bed and breakfast with style, class and the very warmest of welcomes look no further than Fyfield Manor.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shopkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 59 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2009

Huge rooms, tastefully and appropriately furnished, alongside good views, and a friendly but not fawning greeting makes Fyfield Manor worth a stay. There's plenty of useful local infomation provided and Chris has been able to supply more during the various stays made by this writer throughout January. The local village happened to record the coldest temperature in England one night of the stay - the room was warm as toast, albeit the stone dining room required me to wear a sweater in the morning - a small price to pay.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horsekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

After having spent several days traveling around England and Wales, we were looking forward to spending our New Years Eve night at this beautiful, historic manor. It was an extremely cold day and after wandering around nearby Wallingford, we decided to call the owners and see if they would be alright with us arriving at around 4:00 pm. We were told that would be fine, but upon arriving the owner (I'm not sure he ever told us his name) seemed rather befuddled to see us and wasn't sure what room to put us in or how to put the heat on in the room he chose.

It was actually kind of funny and even a little charming in its eccentric kind of way. The house itself is stunning, with a beautiful garden in front, but we were cold and tired and just wanted to take a bath and get ready for the evening that we had booked at a nearby restaurant.

Eventually Christine, who really seems to run things, came in and told us that she didn't expect us until between 5 and 7pm and seems quite put out that we were there so early. I was very surprised by this as we had called to ask if it was ok, and most places are fine with earlier check in times. So we did feel a little unwelcome. Every other guest house we used that week welcomed us with tea and mince pies on arrival - perhaps we lucked out with the others, but we did feel the contrast at Fyfield.

Our bedroom (none of them seem to have numbers, but we were on the first floor, facing the garden) had a pretty view, but was kind of nondescript. You don't really get a sense of history until you go down to the breakfast room in the morning, which does have original medieval features. That being said, you really don't get to see a lot of the house itself as there's no public sitting room or area to relax in. I will say that Christine seemed more welcoming in the morning and breakfast was both organic and locally sourced.

And, of course, what isn't really the owners' fault is that yes, in the middle of a cold winter, the rooms of a medieval manor house are indeed cold. Because of the listed nature of the building, fitted radiators cannot be used, and the bedroom was heated with a standing space heater on a timer. There are drawers full of bedding should you need them - and, if you come in winter, you will.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squidalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

Fyfield Manor offered us a really perfect stay for a relatively small cost. The room was beautiful - enormous in size, classically decorated and very comfortable with a tall bed and crisp sheets. The bathroom was also very luxurious. Breakfast was wonderfully fresh and warm, served in a splendid dining room.

We also found the hosts to be extremely friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

Fyfield Manor is a beautiful historic house in the countryside of Oxfordshire. Parts of the house, including the dining room used for guests, date back to the 12th century. It even smelled pleasantly old. The room we stayed in was beautiful and huge (at least 15' x 20') with a lovely view of the back garden. The ensuite bathroom was also huge, with a large modern bathtub.

The hosts were friendly and helpful, providing plenty of brochures for local attractions and menus of area restaurants. Breakfast was a typical full English breakfast with cereal, toast, eggs and bacon, much of it local or organic.

The location is close to the town of Benson (a 20-minute walk to the local pub which has good food), and a short bus ride into Oxford.

The room was spacious, comfortable, and clean, athough as you might expect in an old house, there were a lot of creaks and groans. The bathroom plumbing was modern, but the shower was unreliable; better to enjoy a bath.

Fyfield Manor is located next to the Benson Airfield, but this was not a problem for us. The aircraft noise was mainly a "white" background noise when it happens, and while I am a light sleeper, it did not disturb me at all.
Note that the house was difficult to find due to the lack of road signs in the area (but it was worth the effort). Don't try to get there in the dark.

We loved our stay here, and would definitely come back. It was excellent value.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosie-and-Mr-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SanFu2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris_fyfield, Owner at Fyfield Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fyfield Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fyfield Manor

Address: High St, OX10, Benson, Wallingford OX10 6HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wallingford > Benson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Benson
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12th century manor countryside guest house situated in the village of Benson. It has recently been restored and refurbished and now offers very comfortable hotel-equivalent accommodation in a building with features which span 7 centuries, many of which have been hidden for over 250 years. Fyfield offers a friendly and personal service without being intrusive. We offer a good selection of organic and healthy options for breakfast but still maintain the traditional English breakfast. The 3 rooms are very individual in their character and furnishings but all have either king or super king beds, are large and bright and have all comforts. There are 3 local pubs within walking distance and several gourmet pubs and restaurants within a short drive. A regular bus goes directly to Oxford and Cholsey train station is within 3 miles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fyfield Manor Benson, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing