We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming”
Review of The Crown Inn

The Crown Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Benson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2014

********************************************************Had a very good welcome, staff were friendly and happy to help in anyway. Honest advise and breakfast and night sleep was excellent. Would go back in a flash
flash.
********************************************************

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan_John_ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Tim and Germaine are superb hosts! The service was excellent, the bed in our king room very comfortable, the bathroom a great size with a spacious bath and shower and the food absolutely delicious (we had dinner, breakfast and Sunday roast, all very good!!) My wife, sister and I stayed at the Crown Inn on a Saturday night as I was running in the Oxford Town & Gown on the Sunday. We were made very comfortable and our every need was met, including an early and race-day appropriate breakfast, the provision of safety pins to pin my race number to my shirt and allowing me to return after the race to have a warm bath and change! We couldn't have asked for more! Tim and Germaine look after the locals well too, which made for a great atmosphere in the bar. We will be back to stay for the race next year, by which time my PB will be much improved! Thanks for such a great stay. John, Esther and Anna.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnACheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Haven't stayed here as we live locally but we use The Crown for meals out, mostly at the weekend. The food is very good and the chef (Pascal) does particularly good soups and steaks. Tim and Germaine (the landlord and his wife) have renovated the place and always provide a warm welcome. There's never a problem if you want chips rather than potatoes or ice cream instead of custard.
We can certainly recommend the home made soup (there's a different variety depending on the seasonal veg available), the sirloin steak and if you have room, the sticky toffee pudding.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My parents stayed here for 2 nights at the weekend while we were visiting family at RAF Benson. The room was lovely, bed was comfy and bathroom was spotless. They had a lovely time and would not hesitate to stay again, the owner and his family were truley lovely.
The rest of the family and I joined them for dinner on Saturday evening for dinner. The food was plentiful and delicious. It was clearly home made and cooked to order. The lasagne was amazing as was the steak and ale pie, fish and steak. If you have room for pudding you must try the honey and ginger ice-cream, it is great.
We also all joined them for breakfast on Sunday morning and the landlord had no problem with adding me in for breakfast and providing tea and coffee for my brother and his family. The breakfast was yummy, the bacon was delicious.
The whole atmosphere in the Crown Inn is charming with real fires which makes it really welcoming.
One criticism my parents had was there was no TV in the room which is unusual, this was a minor criticism however and would not stop them staying again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazilium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Having stayed at The Crown Inn before the recent facelift it was a pleasure to see such improvements on my second overnight stay. The bedrooms are now completely refurbished with quality fixtures and fittings and extremely comfortable beds. The bathrooms, likewise, upgraded to a high standard.

The downstairs interior was pleasant before the recent changes but now looks freshened up and a pleasant place to sip a beer or two. There is a TV and pool table but neither dominates the bar area which is relaxed and friendly. The last time I stayed the restaurant was not yet open. Now it is and the choice and quality of food, as other reviewers have commented, is excellent.

For me breaking long trips up from the north to London is a regular weekly requirement and it is good to find somewhere in the same price bracket as a Premier Inn, but with far more character, to stay overnight. The current owners appear to have spent a lot of time considering the comfort of their guests and it works very well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huntershipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was the first time we had visited to pub since Tim and his wife had taken over the running of it. I made the booking with a little trepidation as The Crown had not always had the best reputation in the past. Five of us arrived at 2.00pm and we were warmly welcomed by Tim. We chose a Sunday roast, which we all agreed was beautifully presented and certainly had the edge on most pub roasts we have had (very tasty). The crumble that followed was also very nice to. As locals we will definitely be going back for more and would highly recommend that you try it. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Mo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We are always looking for somewhere to have a good Sunday lunch and today visited The Crown in Benson with friends. We were made very welcome by the landlord, and he outlined the renovations made since he and his wife had taken over the pub a few months ago. The bar was very nicely decorated, and had a welcoming open fire. The tables were laid with pristine tablecloths and napkins and there were fresh flowers. Everyone in our party of 5 enjoyed their meal; between us we had all the roasts on offer - beef, pork and chicken, all served with home-made Yorkshire puddings and fresh veg. The desserts were delicious too - between us we sampled the fruit crumble, chocolate brownies and cheesecake. The chef, Pascal, came out from the kitchen to say hello, and we complimented him on the lovely meal we had just had, which was also very reasonably priced. The service from Tim was very professional, friendly and welcoming, and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benson
1.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
250 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
658 reviews
3.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
629 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Partridge Inn Wine Bar & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Little Gables Bed and Breakfast
Little Gables Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Crowmarsh Gifford
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: 52 High Street, Benson, Wallingford OX10 6RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wallingford > Benson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Benson
Price Range: £85 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Crown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Inn is a beuatiful village Inn whuch has been newly refurbished to a high standard with a restaurant specialising in fresh locally sourced ingredients, good British meals with a continental touch. We have boutique style all en-suite rooms recently receiving new showers and flooring. We have six rooms from a single to a triple family room and a king with a large bathroom. Our bar, terrace and garden are very popular with families. Dogs are welcome, with one of our guest rooms reserved for guests with dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Inn Benson, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing