We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palairos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Neilson Vounaki Beachclub
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Palairos
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was our 10th Sunsail holiday. It was nice to get back to Sunsail, now that there is only one club we have had to go elsewhere. As usual they have a large variety of well maintained boats with the added attraction of day boats. The staff were enthusiastic and pleasant, and the rooms were huge.

Our booking experience wasn't good - on the day which I booked I was asked to pay a deposit - fine. I knew that I would have to pay the balance fairly soon and when the booking information came through I found that it was due that day after I had booked. The booking information said that I had been informed - I wasn't. Wouldn't it have made more sense to be asked to pay the full amount when I booked?

When the tickets finally arrived, the information said that you could prebook late check-out so I rang them and waited for 4 minutes only to be told that you can’t prebook.

The food is good but the meat & fish is often overcooked. There is a great selection of salads etc. but the selection didn't change much.

Wi-Fi worked in the restaurant and bar areas but not right across the site, there didn't seem to be a problem with bandwidth.

Day boats – the bureaucracy around this is a pain. You need an International Certificate of Competence before you can take a boat out. Check which certificates you have - you might be entitled to the certificate without needing to do a course. You also need to do a load of paperwork (required by the Greek authorities) which HAS to be done at exactly 4pm the day before.

Our departure was at 6pm but the time for vacating rooms is 12 noon. We had to pay €40 to keep our room until 4.

I really like the meal plan allowing us to eat out in the evening. One of the non-inclusive evenings is the first night which is usually a great opportunity to meet other people. This year it was poorly attended - food was barbeque and salads and the only dessert was a very sticky cake.

Welcome talk on Monday was brief but didn't give you enough information on WiFi, tea & cakes at 5.30, day boats, departure arrangements, the beach barbecue wasn't mentioned.

There are plenty of places to eat in the village 10 minutes walk away, we had good meals at Dionysus and Tomorrows.

We really don’t need to be entertained during/after dinner. The staff started the quiz while we were trying to eat our main course. The Greek evening was good and it was great that the Greek staff joined the dancing.

We had a ground floor room with a sea view, however the hedge in front was so high that we couldn't see the sea. One of the gardeners cut the hedges in front of the room so we got our view back! The rooms and bathrooms are big, the sea view rooms mean that you get full sun in the room in the afternoon (wonderful sunsets), the air con wasn’t very efficient and it was difficult to cool the room before going to sleep. The beds were very comfortable by the way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AEGReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    100
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
183
93
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Whistler
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great Holiday. I came 9 years ago as a teenager and loved it then and now coming as a young adult I enjoyed it even more. The staffs' enthusiasm and energy is what make this place work so well. Enormous rooms.

Shelby - Race Officer - Unbelievably bubbly and thoroughly enjoyed her creative races
Simon - Activities coordinator - You have to take part in his dance at the end of aqua fit.
Scratch - Always helpful on the beach
Kelly / Jonno - Bar - Extremely friendly and interested to talk to
Alex - Chatty lifeguard

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just arrived home from the beautiful Vounaki bay Hotel. As soon as we arrived all the reception Kate and Tierney were so pleasant and welcoming. The huge room was spotless with amazing views across the bay. Delicious food, beautifully presented. Staff are so attentive, especially Andrew at the Kirki beach bar/grill. Hayley,Savanagh and Lauren all made it a pleasure to eat there. My hubby and I are not sailors but thoroughly enjoyed kayaking as our introduction to the activities on offer. We will certainly return if only to experience the great fun on the themed evenings, especially Greek night, which staff and the manageress Panagiota joined in. Cocktails made by Grant went down very easily. Cant wait to return to get out in a boat next time.

Room Tip: our room on second floor was perfect for us, quiet , fabulous views and convenient for dining areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This Sunsail Beach Club was one of a number but now it is the only one that exists. This was our first visit as a family, having been previously as a couple, and the Kids Club was just perfect; brilliant staff and the whole day packed with activities which allowed Mum & Dad to relax and do their own thing. The only concern was why were so many items an extra cost in the Kids Club and not included in the overall deal?

The food was much better than we remembered from our previous visit; good breakfasts, a tremendous range of salads, meat & fish from the BBQ, hot dishes for lunch and dinner. You don't get dinner every day but that is fine as the village of Paleros is just 10 mins walk away with lots of tavernas to choose from. And for the non-inclusive lunch days they have a great bar/restaurant down on the beach.

The rooms are very spacious, kept very clean and all look out over the bay. Buy your drinks from the Marina shop and sit out on your balcony/patio while watching the sun go down behind Levkas. In the bar a beer is 2.80 and from the shop it's 1.10!!

But it's not all plain sailing. We were there for the May half term holiday, but the place was less than half full. Fine for us, but for the long term future of the Club?? We only went because the deal on offer 3 weeks previously was too good to give up but maybe other potential customers were put off by the initial sky high prices?? And sorry guys, but in 2014 your wifi should have enough bandwidth to work when all your guests want it and not just only in the reception and bar areas as long as 2 other people aren't using it at the same time. Also, why are you still using a system that requires log in & password that is time limited??!! We were staying for a week and I was given a 24 hr validity ticket!!

Another concern was the number of staff/ suitably qualified staff (??) available for dinghy training. The RYA Level 3 course advertised didn't happen so a one on one session had to be purchased; at extra cost of course.

Maybe the company PR & Marketing is missing a trick? For a 'British' company, pandering to the British market with the British passion for sailing the occupancy over half term should have been +80%, not half of that. But when an apparently senior member of the company's marketing team was staying there and was always the person who was last for the flight and the transfer bus, maybe that sums up their attitude to customers?

You can get better flights than immediately available from their booking process. They will naturally want to use Thomson but you can travel with Monarch from Gatwick which departs at 06.00 ish and leaves Preveza at 12.30 ish.

In summary it paints a worrying picture of an organisation cutting back on costs and consequently its services, while grabbing money from customers wherever it can.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DevonBlueboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

An excellent place to learn to sail at all levels, young, old, big and small (boats/yachts, and people too).

Food was really good with the choice of a BBQ every night.

Great local village only 10 minutes walk away with lots more places to eat, and drink.

If sailing you will visit some great beaches and fishing villages for lunch/dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We (a couple) have just returned from a weeks vacation and overall the location and club and staff are excellent. This is our first holiday with Sunsail and we will likely return, we will also be strongly recommending this resort to our friends with kids as can see it would be a perfect holiday for them.

The inclusive food is also excellent although the rotation is a bit odd as you have breakfast and either lunch or dinner on any given day which is a set timetable as opposed to having a choice. (We liked having the excuse going into the local town for food so it was no problem for us)

However, on the last day you are required to have a late return flight (21:00) and the only inclusive food is breakfast and because we have had either Lunch or Dinner included every other day it felt we were being 'disposed' of for lack of better words. (i.e. the 'Package' finished a day early)

I would strongly recommend including a half size buffet or sandwich selection at minimum as many of the other guests shared the same comments. Bear in mind it was the companies decision to have the late flights in the first place as part of the 'package' - I expect they were cheaper.

I also think they could reduce the price of a large beer @ €3.80 and cheapest bottle of wine which is currently €15. (I anticipated the prices would reflect the local 'tourist' prices such as €2.50 and €8.00 respectively)

Great sailing for beginners and experienced sailors alike.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichieRich333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have been going with Sunsail for thirty odd years and this holiday was as good as ever. Fantastic staff managed by a magic lady.
The only downside was the UK office handling of our booking, they seemed not to be aware of long term clients. Having received my e ticket for my flight, I received an email saying I had not provided my passport details. I rang the office only to be told that it was my wife's details needed.
Having complained, I was left wondering. Bring back the Port Solent staff, they knew how to treat clients and had the knowledge to advise on the holidays

Room Tip: Choose block 2 or 3 rooms away from kids club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palairos
8.9 mi away
Villa Olga Hotel Apartments & Studios
8.9 mi away
Alkyon Apartments & Villas Hotel
8.4 mi away
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Alexaria Holiday Homes
Alexaria Holiday Homes
#8 of 77 in Lefkada
93 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Ligia
Hotel Porto Ligia
#4 of 7 in Lygia
108 reviews
9.8 mi away
Avra Beach Hotel
Avra Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nidri
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neilson Vounaki Beachclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neilson Vounaki Beachclub

Property: Neilson Vounaki Beachclub
Address: Paleros Bay | Vounaki, Palairos, Greece
Region: Greece > West Greece > Aetolia-Acarnania Region > Palairos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Palairos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 98
Also Known As:
Sunsail Club Vounaki Hotel Palairos
Sunsail Hotel Vounaki
Sunsail Hotel Peloponnese
Neilson Vounaki Beachclub Greece/Palairos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing