We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Would definitely stay again...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Valdonica Winery & Vineyard Residence
Ranked #1 of 2 Sassofortino B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing! Would definitely stay again...”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Valdonica is an amazing place to visit and stay. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. Massimo was great and helped us find places to eat and even made reservations for us. Eric was also quite helpful and a great asset to the winery. The wine tasting was entertaining and the wine was fantastic. Views are unbelievable and the winery itself is beautiful and modern.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimeelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casalone, Owner at Valdonica Winery & Vineyard Residence, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thanks for your visit, thanks for sharing your impressions! Come back soon, see you at Valdonica,

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2010

I travelled to Tuscany and Valdonica with two friends, to visit a norwegian friend of us who works at the Valdonica wineyard. The athmosphere at Valdonica is so beautiful and the people working there were so nice to us. I can totally recommend Valdonica, if you would like to be close on the Tuscany winemaking and relax in a beautiful landscape. The Valdonica wine is also fantastic, and i bought as many bottles i could carry home to Norway, to keep me warm trough the vinter. Thanks Martin, Massimo, Eirik, Angela and the rest of the Valdonica team.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars_Oslo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casalone, Owner at Valdonica Winery & Vineyard Residence, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thanks for staying with us, thanks for sharing your impressions! Hope you had a good time with your VALDONICA Wines back in Norway. Come back soon,

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We wanna thank Martin and Karma, as well the thoughtful team, for such a great time at VALDONICA.
Are you looking for a peaceful, sensitive, open minded and harmonically place in the heart of the Tuscany where you can take a break from everyday life between the vineyards - A place with magic spots, an historical surrounding area, culture, authentic people and awarded wines? Get an inspiration at www.valdonica.com and you will know what we try to explain you in the way of using words. At least you have to be a poet or you should see it to understand how difficult it is to describe the very special feeling of Valdonica.

It was our first time at Valdonica but for sure not our last ;)
Ralf and Harald

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harald_Wegerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casalone, Owner at Valdonica Winery & Vineyard Residence, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thanks for staying with us, thanks for sharing your impressions! Please come back soon,

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We booked our last minute, two night stay via wotif.com and we could have stayed on longer, if if it weren't for our stay in Northern Italy being only two weeks.

Massimo graciously collected us at short notice from the train station in Grosetto. We arrived at Valdonica and frankly, were not prepared for the breathtaking views that we were to be spoilt with for the remainder of our stay. The view out to the valley and beyond is simply stunning.

The room was cosy, modern and VERY clean and had direct access to the back of the property and wonderful the views. We stayed in one of the rooms at the Cantina, which had a wonderful shared kitchen and dining space.

We also made use of the outdoor setting on the hill while enjoying twilight drinks!

We regret not eating a home-cooked dinner at Valdonica, which was offered to us but instead we opted to eat in town (Sassofortino). However, the breakfast fairies arrived quietly each morning and prepared a wonderful Italian spread of brioche, breads, cheeses, fruit, yoghurt, prosciutto and so forth.

Our visit was quiet and relaxing - exactly what we were after!

The most impressive thing about Valdonica was the hospitality extended to us by Massimo. The other staff were also really friendly and said hello whenever they saw us but Massimo led us through a wine-tasting (great wines!), showed us around the property and was really happy to sit with us and chat.

We would absolutely stay again and recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeniemeinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VALDONICA, Owner at Valdonica Winery & Vineyard Residence, responded to this review, 14 January 2015
Thanks for your visit, thanks for sharing your impressions - it was lovely to have you as our guests. Please return soon - salute to Melbourne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We planned to spend a single night at Valdonica before heading deeper into Tuscany to explore the riches of its vineyards. However, after wandering Valdonica (and hearing nothing more than birds and the waving of the ancient boughs of oaks), we thought it might make sense to stay an extra day. When we saw the care the team was putting into the creation of their organic wines and olive oils, we thought perhaps three days would suffice. But when we met the man whose vision is Valdonica, and saw the passion with which he is striving to transform this forgotten hillside into an authentic and meaningful producer of good, delicious food, we realized that we may be staying four days. Finally, after spending one night in our newly renovated chateau (build to hold 8, we got it for a free upgrade for 2 of us), looking down the valley to the Mediterranean, we determined then never to leave! Actually, we spent our entire Tuscan vacation at Valdonica, and it worked perfectly as a central point for day trips to Rome, Florence, Sienna, San Gimingano, and a hundred local vineyards and buona vistas. A truly magical place with a heart like no other. Don't miss it. I will be returning every year.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChadGracia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VALDONICA, Owner at Valdonica Winery & Vineyard Residence, responded to this review, 14 January 2015
Thanks Chad for your returning visits to Valdonica, thanks for sharing your impressions, thanks for the inspiration and spirit you leave here with the Team, the Land and the Spirit. In the resonance we are growing - thanks for making us grow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I cant speak highly enough of Valdonica and the Valdonica team. We stayed there a few days before we got married nearby. Contemporary in design but with a warm atmosphere, Valdonica quickly became our home from home - no doubt assisted by the friendly welcome, great hospitality and advice of Martin, Massimo, Angela and the rest of the Valdonica team.

In terms of the accommodation, the rooms are clean, well kept and designed thoughtfully. The terrace has stunning views over the vineyards.

Valdonica also hosted a private dinner for myself and some close friends (15 people), the hospitality, great food, great wine and attention to detail made it a very special evening for all of us.

A place to go back to.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VALDONICA, Owner at Valdonica Winery & Vineyard Residence, responded to this review, 14 January 2015
Thanks for staying with us in this special time of your life with us, thanks for sharing your impressions. Weddings, Honeymoons, Engagements, Baby-Making ---- it all has been happening here at Valdonica. This is very special for us - your love remains in the heart of the people and in the spirit of the place. THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raasdorf
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2010

beautiful landscape withn lots of wineyards, wonderful wines, perfect view to the sea, very quiet, modern, new built rooms

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfreyschlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VALDONICA, Owner at Valdonica Winery & Vineyard Residence, responded to this review, 14 January 2015
Thanks for staying with us, thanks for sharing your impressions - please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sassofortino
2.0 mi away
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni
#2 of 4 in Roccastrada
303 reviews
16.9 mi away
L'Andana
L'Andana
#3 of 23 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
311 reviews
21.9 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
399 reviews
8.5 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
322 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Melosa Resort
La Melosa Resort
#1 of 4 in Roccastrada
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valdonica Winery & Vineyard Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valdonica Winery & Vineyard Residence

Property: Valdonica Winery & Vineyard Residence
Address: Via Dogana 1 | Sassofortino, 58036 Sassofortino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Sassofortino
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sassofortino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW: Pool directly at VALDONCA Residence! VALDONICA Residence is nestled in the hills of Southern Tuscany - surrounded by vineyards, Oaktree forests and pastures. From the newly built Pool there is a magnificent view on the hills of Tuscany, the Mediterranean Sea and the Island of Giglio. Terraces, trails and lounges invite for lingering. Guestrooms are located in the Villa and in the Cantina: The bright and open atmosphere comes from the integration of modern, minimalistic design and fine, traditional materials - for example, the beds in the Cantina are made from the wood of medieval wine barrels. All guest rooms have their private bathroom as well as a private terrace/ garden. Breakfast includes local specialties such as Pecorino and Mortadella - and there is served whole-wheat bread, which is brought from far. Guests enjoy here the originality of Tuscany. In the two medical villages nearby there are 7 restaurants offering a variety of local cuisine. Once a week there is a dinner in the wine cellar - this is where the owner gives an introduction to his winery and wines. If visiting the beach, lake, river ... Or cultural highlights ... Or other wineries ... Or just re-connecting your soul at VALDONICA - we look forward to hosting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Valdonica Winery & Vineyard Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valdonica Winery & Vineyard Residence Italy/Tuscany - Sassofortino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing