We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the Optional Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shi Bao Zhai

Shi Bao Zhai
Book In Advance
More Info
US$1,277.57*
and up
Luxury Yangzi River Cruise - 4 days and 3 nights
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
148 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Worth the Optional Tour”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was part of an optional tour package through a Gate1 tour trip with the Century Sun river cruise. We departed in the afternoon along with a few other ships, so there were lots of crowds. There was a brief walk from the ship with lots of locals selling their goods. I think our local tour guide even called it the "Hello Market" because most of the people have learned enough english to say "hello" and the name of their products! Once we got close, we had to cross a swinging rope bridge. I'm not afraid of heights or bridges, but this one was pretty difficult to walk across because it was really swinging. The temple itself was very pretty. It was neat to see how they built it right into the rock and how they protected it from the river. I think there was around 100 steps to make it to the top. You could climb a metal ladder to go to the very top but the last room was very tiny and could only fit a few people at a time. But there are nice round windows at the top making for a good photo op, so of course I had to do it. Overall, I enjoyed my time at this stop and it was nice getting off of the ship for a bit!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shyla M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    40
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“real life Temple Run”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had a lovely visit to this town, to see the temple, during our Yangtze River cruise. The trip across the bridge is like playing the computer game "Temple Run " as it swings erratically from side to side due to the large number of pedestrians - but get used to it as it is the only way back!!
The pagoda is very interesting but has very steep steps on each level and is very crowded.
We went right up to the top and visited the small temple, and we really enjoyed the challenge.
You will see some images of gods, an ancient carving of a face and get the chance to step over a small bridge for good luck, but if you are not confident about the swinging bridge and climbing the many steps, take some good photos of the outside instead !!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank streetdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, KS
Level Contributor
241 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Shibaozhai Temple”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

During our Yangtze River cruise on the Century Sun the boat stopped at the Shiaozhai Pagoda/Temple to allow passengers to climb the 12 stories of this 18th century temple. It was erected by Emperor Qianlong on a large rock almost 100 feet out of the river. It's a 15 minute walk from the boat through the narrow streets of this quaint but poor little town. Merchant kiosks line the main street with colorful souvenirs and art. Getting to the island requires a walk across a swing bridge which is an experience in itself. The pagoda is very colorful and makes for a great photo op. Legend has it the higher you climb the in temple, the more likely your dreams will come true. Once you reach the top there is a small temple and beyond that are more shops and restrooms. Our tour with Gate 1 Travel offered a 3-tour package on the Yangtze which included this stop; the 3 Gorges Dam; and a scenic journey up the Shennv Stream by motor boat. I would highly recommend this package if it's made available. It's worth every penny.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank KansasTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice hike and views”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We went there as an optional tour from cruise, good 2 hrs hike with no tourist on the way, nice sunset views from the top, but lacking historical information. I recommend it if you want to get out of the crowds

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nasnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shi Bao Zhai also viewed

Zhong County, Chongqing Region
Zhong County, Chongqing Region
 

Been to Shi Bao Zhai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing