We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talented kitchen let down by a tired hotel - 5 star food, barely 3 star rooms”
Review of Ardeonaig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardeonaig
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Talented kitchen let down by a tired hotel - 5 star food, barely 3 star rooms”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We expected so much but left feeling very disappointed.

Our room was quite run down and felt cold and damp. Doors had holes in them, bits fell off taps and we felt as if we were staying in a fairly shabby B&B that had seen better days. Our bathroom was so cold that it was virtually unusable.

Dinner, on the other hand, was superb. The six course taster menu we ate was very, very good - the work of a talented chef. The front of house team were also excellent as they were knowledgable and friendly yet discrete.

Breakfast might appeal to guests with a sense of humour. Instead of offering an informal meal made from great local produce, in keeping with many five stars, we were served a pretentious range of poorly prepared food. In the place of fresh juice, good coffee and hot toast we received a shot of orangey slime, cold bread and nasty muffins. As we arrived for breakfast we even heard other guests sighing and laughing at what was being served. It was really quite poor.

Aside from the really excellent taster menu we could find very little to enjoy about the hotel as it has the air of a place about to go under.

Go for a great dinner, stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go to see a room to ensure that it isn't damp and cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank locomota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamoHotels, Sales Manager at Ardeonaig Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Many thanks for your recent feedback however we are so sorry to hear you left Ardeonaig feeling very disappointed with your stay. We do wish that we had received this feedback on check out where we could have taken immediate steps to rectify the situation, we treat all feedback very seriously and are proud to have received 126 excellent reviews over the past year however we will make direct contact to see how we can make amends.

We are happy to hear that the service and meal were superb and must pass on our sincere apologies that some other elements of the stay have had a negative impact on the overall experience.

Kind regards

Sandra Cunningham
Ardeonaig Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    63
    27
    9
    10
See reviews for
49
279
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

It's not often a hotel appears effortless in its perfection.... some work hard at it, others are a little over the top...The Ardeonaig gets it just right. The ambiance, the fabulous and luxurious accommodation, the sensational food and the learned and charming staff. Treat yourself to salmon fishing on Loch Tay... with the help of our wonderful guide Simon we caught a plump Brown Trout and a nine pound Salmon....and it was no trouble to serve it at diner that evening (big thanks to David the Head chef and his team).... I even went home with the vac packed remaining fillets nestled around a freezer block. Looking forward to another visit already... a faultless stay. Huge congratulations to the team and thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LVS64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Firstly an apology for not writing this earlier, it slipped our minds over Christmas!

I was treated to a night at this hotel back in December for my birthday. It was a total surprise organised by an Australian and given the fact I grew up not far away in Crieff and had never heard of this place, I was extremely impressed.

From the moment you walk in you are greeted with smiles and welcomes. It feels like walking into a hotel where you are the only or most important guest staying there. Even when there was a wedding on the day we arrived!

We stayed in one of the Shielings which are finished to an incredible standard with beautiful free standing baths and huge beds. The room backs onto the small stream with that sound of nature to send you to sleep at night.

After a nice chat and recommendation from the sommelier (just happens to be the hotel owner) we sat down to the most incredible meal. I was not prepared for the extravaganza which arrived over the next 2 hours. 7 courses of delicious food, some was experimental but never over the top.

Living in London we have our choice of restaurants and try our best to sample the best of them however I must say that this restaurant is by far the bet food I ate in 2012 (and 2013 so far).

If you want to feel like a true VIP, eat like a king and relax in the tranquillity of the Scottish countryside, there is no better place to be.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a Shieling...you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geemcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The hotel entirely justifies the excellent reviews.
The shieling rooms are excellent and favourably compare with the facilities and accomodation you would experience in the best 5 star establishments and all have a fabulous Loch and mountain view as an added bonus.
The staff are excellent and do their best to make your stay enjoyable; personally I would prefer it if they were a little more relaxed about the food service; for me it is a little too formal....I recognise however that is a personal preference.
The focus for the majority of visitors is the food and wine (in addition to the location).
The food is presented "seriously" and although generally of a very high standard is far from without fault and It was disappointing that the chef didn't venture out of the kitchen to personally discuss the highs and lows. However it is still a high quality dining experience.
The wine decision making is assisted by very knowledgable staff; the choice is excellent and unusually it was made easy to choose wine (including dessert wines) by the glass.
Overall an excellent place to stay on Loch Tay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldhench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This was the wow weekend, the accomodation was wow, the service was wow and the food was wow! wow! wow! Absolutely amazing. Michel Roux, if you're reading this, I know that this place would live up to even your exacting standards! We had a really lovely time - thanks to every single one of the team who, altogether, make this a very special place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit to Ardeonaig and once again from the moment we arrived to the sad moment we left everything was perfect. James and his team looked after us as soon as we arrived, welcoming us both with a glass of champagne. We then sat beside the log fire as our luggage was taken to our Shieling, which was as before delightful. Dinner was fantastic, we both had the tasting menu, 1 being the vegetarian choice....and of course Marion(red wine)!! Breakfast was beautiful and refreshing, but as ever it was then time to leave. I would imagine that it won't be too long before the restaurant earns its 1st Michelin star. If you're thinking of going, stop thinking and get booking!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottyboyy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The whole Ardeonaig experience is just stunning from start to finish, everyone must experience it! James, Christophe and Tom are excellent at what they do and clearly enjoy it as they always have welcoming smiles and nothing at all is too much trouble. We booked here as a half way point so to stay on the way to Loch Ness and again on the way back. We loved it that much we stayed an extra night! The food is just out of this world every course carefully thought out and presented so stunningly this has to be a contender for a Michelin star as this is the only thing the place lacks! We stayed in one of the Shieling's which was peaceful very private and the views again stunning which Betty our beagle was also allowed to stay in with us. The wine selection was brilliant and reasonable priced and James was a proper wine connoisseur. I can not fault anything and I can not wait to re-visit which we are already planning. Thank you x

Room Tip: Go that little bit extra and book a private Shieling it is more than worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellpottsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardeonaig
24.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
17.7 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
407 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
904 reviews
18.8 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
8.9 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardeonaig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardeonaig Hotel

Property: Ardeonaig Hotel
Address: South Loch Tay Side, Ardeonaig, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8SU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Ardeonaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardeonaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ardeonaig Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ardeonaig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardeonaig Hotel Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing