We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”
Review of Ardeonaig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardeonaig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We arrived after the white knuckle drive on the single track road in - the hotel was well maintained, the room was clean and the food was excellent, and very well presented. We just had problems with the road in and out.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife, son and I had a great time at Ardeonaig.

The drive to the hotel is pretty narriow and not in the best of conditions. The weather was clatty, but we managed to get out for a walk around Loch Tay for an hour in the afternoon, on arrival, before getting back before the fire and outside of a few pints of Schiehallion.

I had phoned in advance to advise that we would be coming with our infant son, to ensure this wouldn't be a problem. i was told we'd be placed in a room next to the restaurant, so our video monitor could be used. We weren't. I think our room was the furthest room from the restaurant, so we couldn't use the baby monitor. (Heather, I think.) We askedif we could take our son into dine with us, but this was re-buffed. The receptionist very kindly offered to watch our son, but we'd have preferred to simply monitor him by video than leave him in the reception.

The room was fine. Terrific shower. Large bed. Not a great view from the window, the car park fence, though.

The food was awesome. We had a tasting menu of 6 courses; butternut squash and pumpkin seed veloute, red partridge and black pudding, oak smoked Duart salmon, pork (cheek, belly and crackling) with apple sauce, winter fruit meringue and a mango & pineapple sorbet.

The service was a little slow, though. We waited around 45 minutes between our plates for the third course being cleared away and our fourth course. I suppose people are normally in no rush, but, because we had the our son with us, we had to stop mid-way through our meal to go and give him his 10:30 pm dream sleep.

On alerting the waiter to the delay, we were offered a free selection of Scottish cheeses with our nigtcap by the fire.

My wife and I would go back, mainly for the food, but probably wouldn't come with our son.

Room Tip: If travelling with infants, demand a room close to retsaurant if you plan to use a video to monitor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wotsit179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Doing the Rob Roy Way 4 of us stopped off here for a break. I knew the Ardeonaig in its earlier guise but now it has new owners who seem to be aiming at the 'upper' end of the market. A wedding meal was in progress but the General Manager, Marianne, made sure that we were taken care of. Our snack was excellent and the ambiance good. We shall stop here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ScottishVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a delicious lunch here last Sunday, in the lovely warm dining room overlooking the lawn with the apples falling from the trees. 3 courses for £28.50 - we chose the hay-smoked salmon, venison and chocolate pudding, all delicious. The staff were lovely and even gave us a complimentary upgrade for the wine as they were out of our first choice.
The setting, half way along Loch Tay is beautiful and well worth the drive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraRvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at the ardeonaig to celebrate my husband and our friend's birthday. The whole weekend could not have been any more perfect! The hotel is lovely and the location stunning! The staff were absolutely fantastic and could not have been more helpful and friendly and the food was absolutely amazing! The whole experience could not have been more perfect - thank you - we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahfortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Myself and my girlfriend spent two nights at the hotel , which was recomended to me by several people before booking . it wasnt a let down at all , the staff were incredibilly helpful , from the general manager who was on call for us for anything we needed during our stay , to the chefs being friendly and welcoming in the passing . the sheildling room we stayed in was perfect , anything we asked for wasnt a problem. The dinner was very impressive , even from a critical chefs perspective as was the breakfast , showcasing local scottish seasonality . we plan to re-visit soon with friends in tow .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartinConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The food was amazing. Certainly a place for fine dining. A fabulous well thought out taster menu. Wonderful breakfast. If you are a meat and two veg and full English breakfast person this is not the place for you. The service is second to none, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely room overlooking loch. Crisp bed linen and fluffy towels. Couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room overlooking loch or a roundel. Take a hair dryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkshireroseLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardeonaig
24.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
22.2 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
688 reviews
17.7 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Achray House Hotel & Lodges
8.7 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
814 reviews
8.9 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardeonaig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardeonaig Hotel

Address: South Loch Tay Side, Ardeonaig, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8SU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Ardeonaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardeonaig
Price Range: £110 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ardeonaig Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Ardeonaig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardeonaig Hotel Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing