We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ardeonaig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardeonaig
Certificate of Excellence
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just back from a lovely night in the Ardeonaig Hotel. Although only open for two week which made it very quite but the food and service were excellent. We stayed in a Loch view room which had great view of Ben Lawers. Will stay longer the next time.

Room Tip: Loch view rooms worth pay a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrishB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    53
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
46
249
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Glad to see this Hotel being back into operation. Excellent food & good service on day of visit for a la carte dinner which we had out back alfresco style as wee had our pet dog with us.
Only criticism would be a general tidy up & bit of TLC required. But food was excellent & beautifully presented. Will definitely be back hopefully to stay overnight next time.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JET1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Beautiful place, great hotel and first class staff. We stayed at the Ardeonaig hotel for three days in June 2014. Superb view of loch and the mountains. The service was second to none.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Visited on 19th June having tried unsuccessfully to contact them by phone the previous day. Regrettably this once splendid hotel / restaurant appears again be on its last legs with no meals cos no chef resulting and not much left other than coffee and apparently B&B. Pity as used to be a favourite but guess its prime but isolated location equates to very restricted passing trade.

Room Tip: Telephone in advance to ensure it's open
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
3 Thank 323RobinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just a quick note to day thanks to the staff at the Ardeonaig Hotel . We stopped by a couple weeks ago whilst we were walking the Rob Roy Way. We were stood outside soaking wet and muddy and a staff member came out and welcomed us inside !! What a nice touch ! My friends and I had a variety of hot and cold food between us which was of a very good quality. If your passing, please stop in by this place and enjoy some Highland hospitality and food !!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jana24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed at the Ardeonaig Hotel for four days over Christmas. Our welcome by Liz was very warm and friendly. We stayed in the shieling closest to the loch, which was beautiful and well appointed. The photos on the website do not do it justice. On the first night we were the only ones at the hotel, which could have been uncomfortable, but was anything but. The dinner was magnificent, and Liz and Tom could not have been more friendly, while professional at the same time. We were even invited to go into the kitchens to meet the chef afterwards, which was extremely interesting. Each meal we had seemed to outdo the previous one. The hotel is quite remote, with no TV, but this was not a problem. There is a lot to see in the area and lots of walks. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and will hopefully return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: For complete privacy ask for the shieling nearest the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank londoner06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelin5star
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I have visited Ardeonaig many times over the last couple of years, largely for the peace, quiet and the food. The food has def not been of the standard I would expect in the last 12 months until my recent visit and OH BOY what an improvement !!
On this visit I only stayed for 1 night and so much enjoyed the tasting menu, artichoke winter truffle, macaroni of lobster, venison, chocolate pave being some of the content, each course was just outstanding. The head waiter/sommelier, Tom couldn't have been more helpful with everything from the outstanding service to help with wine choices and everything that was suggested was 5* My heartfelt compliments to Chef David Butters and his team who have taken the food to a new level. Keep it up guys and I will be back very soon :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelin5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith D, Director at Ardeonaig Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Michelin5star,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Ardeonaig Hotel. Our team work hard to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable experience and both Tom & David are delighted to read your feedback.

Should you have any other feedback we would be delighted to hear from you.

We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardeonaig
17.7 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
24.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
22.2 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
15.6 mi away
Monachyle Mhor
Monachyle Mhor
#1 of 2 in Balquhidder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
17.5 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardeonaig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardeonaig Hotel

Property: Ardeonaig Hotel
Address: South Loch Tay Side, Ardeonaig, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8SU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Ardeonaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardeonaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ardeonaig Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ardeonaig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardeonaig Hotel Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing