We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice spot for lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Meikleour B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice spot for lunch”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We lunch here occasionally if walking our dogs in the nearby woods (a popular dog-walking area). They allow dogs in the bar area and garden, but not in the 'proper' restaurant. The menu is imaginative and the food tasty and well executed; we've always found the service to be friendly and welcoming, and their house beers are very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeikleourHotel, Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch, we do try to ensure that our menu is varied to suit all palates, and pockets, and yes we are always pleased to welcome dogs.

Hope you return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    63
    20
    8
    8
See reviews for
53
141
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alyth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Had high expectations of this hotel. Insisted we arrived for lunch by 12.15 p.m. so we assumed they were busy. This wasn't the case and it took them until after 1 o'clock to produce any food. Main courses (we tried haddock, scampi and sirloin steak) were okay but lacked vegetables. I only got a tomato, a mushroom and some plain, boiled potatoes with my steak. For dessert, we all ordered the Fudge and Honeycomb Sundae. Again, they took a long time to arrive and were not worth waiting for. There was about two teaspoonfuls of ice cream in my Sundae, if I was lucky! The rest of the glass was filled up with cream/or empty. My husband and son fared no better. When we queried this, we were told that was how chef always served up his sundaes. Well, I think chef should be ashamed of himself for being so mean. The Meikleour Hotel makes a big thing about using Stewart Towers ice cream, but we saw precious little of it. We would have been better going across to Stanley instead! Fair enough, they knocked off the price of one dessert but I still ended up paying ten pounds for three glasses of honeycomb and cream. I agree with the previous reviewer that this hotel only seems to care about its margins!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodFoodLoverAlyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeikleourHotel, Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for your comments, we requested that you arrive at start of lunch service as we had a large table reserved in the dining room for a private party, so it is always our policy that when we can to seat other guests ahead of any group. All our dishes come with a complete explaination of all elements of each dish, our haddock comes with its own individual bucket of chips and peas, Scampi comes with a bucket of chips and salad, and our steaks are served with the traditional garni garnish. Vegetables are listed on the menu as an option and would have been served if ordered, this is quite normal in a vast majority of restaurants now. Our sundae is served with a number of ingredients which include, ice cream, fresh whipped ice cream, homemade honeycomb, fudge sauce, and garnished with a chocolate pencil, all our desserts are priced at under £5.00 so are not overly expensive in comparison to other establishments.I have passed all your comments to our head chef, for her attention.

Whilst profit of any business is quite key to success, here at Meikleour Hotel the very most important aspect is the satisfaction of service and food to all our guests. We hope to be able to welcome you and your party back to Meikleour in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Finding ourselves temporarily homeless due to a flood at home, we decided to treat ourselves to a weekend away and stumbled upon this hotel by chance. What a serendipitous find! From the minute we arrived until the minute we left, nothing was too much trouble to the friendly, welcoming staff.
Our room was huge, as was the very comfortable bed, and the welcome nip of sherry was a lovely touch.
The menu had a good range of excellent food; plentiful, fresh and cooked to perfection. There were several twists on favourites, such as the black pudding scotch egg and the chilli, pineapple and coriander prawns. We ate in the bar but chose from the restaurant menu. We were glad we chose to eat in the bar as the banter delivered by the local worthies was extremely entertaining! Special mention here must be given to Wullie and Alexander whose badinage was completely engaging!
We were very fortunate because the weather was glorious during our stay and we were able to relax outside with drinks in the grounds. The location is very peaceful and tranquil and, having stressful jobs (and that's without a flooded house!), we were able to relax totally which was very welcome. Best nights' sleeps in ages!
All staff could not have been more helpful, especially Kat who booked us in and signed us out, and Tracey who dealt with the bar banter sympathetically and humourously.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieElins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeikleourHotel, Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
We are so glad that you found us and that we able to de-stress you if only for 48 hours. It is so important that all the staff make sure that all our guests feel welcome, and I am delighted that you were able to 'sample' the local wit..... you certainly got your monies worth from Willie & Alexander, both have a great sense of humour all beit dry!. We will be delighted to welcome you both back to Meikleour at any time. Hope the house dries out!

I will pass you comment to the staff

Kind regards
Kia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We called by to have lunch (having read some decent reviews) deciding to give it another go after having a not-so-good experience a couple of years ago. It has much improved since then with the seating arrangements being modernised and the menu looked okay. We both chose one of the specials of the day (Rock Turbut) and it came with boiled potatoes in the skin and asparagus. Not really a great deal of anything, very small piece of fish, about 3 boiled potatoes and 5 sprigs of asparagus. It tasted okay, although on the bland side but quite honestly it really was quite a small meal. I know that is the fashion in some restaurants but The Meikleour is after all just preparing pub grub. The puddings (my cheesecake and my wife's chocolate cake with icecream and tinned cherries - both given fancy names) were again very small portions. Overall, the meals were okay but in our humble opinion overpriced for what they were, leaving one with the distinct impression that cost/profit is uppermost in this establishments eyes.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albion51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeikleourHotel, Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
We are delighted you decided to return to Meikleour, and allow us to showcase the different aspects of our menu. From the description of your choices you and your wife selected from our specials menu, where the chefs offer a choice of dishes to compliment our main menu also available during lunch and dinner, where we offer dishes more associated with ' Pub Grub'. We have a very large regular clientelle so we delight in being able to offer alternatives to our main menu. If you are looking for quantity & quality please return and have our traditional haddock & chips I know then you will feel that you have had a large meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for just one evening. The staff were very helpful and cheery.
Cosy wee bar to end the night in.The accommodation was very clean and the wee touch with the sherry decanter in the room was nice.Maybe a little overpriced but would definitely recommend it as a romantic retreat.

Room Tip: We seen two of the 5 rooms and would have been happy with either. Didn't see any of the upper fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikki0141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeikleourHotel, Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for your comments, I am glad that the staff made you feel welcome and that the little extra touches were to your liking. We do try vewry hard to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable stay, and trust that you will return to Meikleour in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Found this hotel by chance when travelling to the area to see Dougie McLean in concert. What a find! We were extremely comfortable and well-looked after by the very helpful and friendly staff (Martin, Ashleigh and Cat). Food was lovely and well presented.
On the night of the concert they served dinner early for ourselves and three others who were also going to the concert and made sure we knew where we were going. Excellent service all round.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeikleourHotel, Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Well I know that you all enjoyed the concert, and I am delighted that you took the time to write this review. My assistant manager took the decision to prepare your early dinner for you, you may not be aware that our chefs have a well earned rest in the afternoon, but Martin was only too delighted to make sure that you all left well fed before your evenings entertainment.
We place a high value on customer service here and will try whenever possible to ensure that all our guests experience is of the highest level.
We would delighted to welcome you back to Meikleour Hotel at any times in the future.
regards
Kia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Have lunched there twice now in the last month. Food is fantastic. First time I had the light lunch of beefburger with a bucket of chips - scrummy and very thoughtfully presented. Also had the chef's homemade chocolate with a coffee. Please make more and sell it - it's to die for!
Second lunch was a two course fixed menu at £9.95 which was again delicious. No chocolate this time but tasty tablet instead.
Staff very friendly and welcoming. We sat outside in the beer garden with our coffees in glorious weather.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suduperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeikleourHotel, Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your review, the thoughts of our customers are extremely important to all the staff. I have passed on your views to the chefs, and they are delighted that you have enjoyed thier food on the last two occassions you visited the hotel. I have also passed on your idea of selling the chocolate. You never know it just might be a possible suggestion. I hope that you will continue to be a valued customer, and return again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meikleour
2.0 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
8.2 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
3.8 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
16.0 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
8.4 mi away
Murrayshall House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Address: By Blairgowrie, Meikleour PH2 6EB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Meikleour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Meikleour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meikleour Arms is a traditional small country hotel in Perthshire, at the heart of the conservation village of Meikleour, internationally renowned for one of the best salmon fishing beats in Scotland and the spectacular Meikleour Beech Hedge. Our restaurant offers great local pub food and is only a short distance away from Perth, Scone, Blairgowrie, and Dunkeld. The Meikleour Arms is your ideal accommodation for a salmon fishing holiday on the River Tay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing