We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best - top of the class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meikleour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were delighted to find the Meikleour Inn provided great food in comfortable surroundings. The staff were friendly and professional and really made us feel welcome. The food was much better than your average pub grub and yet the prices were in line with lesser venues, giving excellent value. The village is charming with good parking at the Inn. The team at the Inn seem to be working hard to give their guests a reliably good experience. Hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

This review if for food only not accommodation.

Living in the area, the Meikleour Hotel has always been in our top 5 places to go for something to eat and we would easily have recommended it as a place that would guarantee a great meal.

Unfortunately, we can no longer say this after a disappointing return visit.

Eating from the bar menu, the food was uncharacteristically average .. warm salad to start and an overly fishy linguini/scampi for our mains.

The staff, although friendly, seemed more interested in chatting amongst themselves than paying attention to their tables. An exaggerated wait for drink service and my request for condiments was forgotten, only after my meal was nearly tipped into my lap on serving, and that was only after we were mistakenly served another tables order beforehand.

It is clear that there has been a change of ownership since our last visit and I'm all for giving people the benefit of the doubt and a chance to prove their abilities. Unfortunately, now the season is nearing it's end, it appears that the staff can no longer be bothered with the extra effort.

For a place that used to be so welcoming, I'm afraid to say we won't be returning in the near future, if indeed at all. Having experience in the bar/restaurant trade, I acknowledge how difficult it can be when there are so many great places to eat in the area - unfortunately, the Meikleour doesn't seem to care or even acknowledge this. It isn't a surprise if they lose business to other more deserving establishments.

Such a shame.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam M, General Manager at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Joanne R

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review.
We apologize you did not receive the service you should have
expected and received, and we hope to provide here at the Meikleour Arms.
From your review there is a long list of issues that certainly should not have
transpired, and we regretfully have to admit that we simply got it wrong with
your visit.
This is certainly is not the message we want convey to any of our guests, and certainly
not to our guests from the local area. We certainly don't want our guests to feel that the
"Season" is over. Good food and service should be provided throughout the year.

We do hope that your visit is not your last, and that you give us the opportunity in making things right.

Please do not hesitate in contacting me, if you wish to discuss your experience further.

Kind Regards

Greg Burgess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

A second return visit to this warm and friendly accommodation in Perthshire. Excellent, well appointed bedrooms. First class, sensibly priced evening meals - perhaps a shade more pub than gastro - and cask ale in sparkling form. A little off the beaten track but a lovely journey heading South from Moray through "malt whisky country" then Deeside and the Cairngorm ski slopes. A joy compared to the travails of the A9.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bostonspa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at the Meikelour for the first time with our two dogs, a lab and a working cocker spaniel, and it was truly wonderful. We were making our way North and stopped over, but having seen our room (the Mercer) I would have stayed if we could because it was so lovely. The manager was extremely accommodating and despite our dogs being a bit of a pain in the [--] the staff were delightful. Nothing was too much trouble and although our dogs barked, it was not a problem. The lady who served us breakfast (who has Poppy the beautiful boxer) felt like a true friend when we left, and this is not how I normally feel, but all the staff were so genuinely helpful that it made our short stay so very special.
We are looking to book another short break here for several days ASAP as I just felt so happy and comfortable here, and as people who travel with their dogs it really did stand out!!!
Onto the food....well, the Meikelour burger was best thing I ate pretty much all holiday, so no complaints on that level either. All I can say is that it was a truly lovely place to stay, with truly lovely people, great food, great location and what a fantastic BIG bed!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliP101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. We arrived later than we expected but the staff were happy to ask the chef if he could do us some sandwiches, which he did, apologies were made because they would only be what was for packed lunches tomorrow. Smoked salmon and cream cheese, beautiful roast beef and horseradish, not the dried up offerings you get at some places! Nothing was too much trouble for them.
the evening meal the next night was superb and excellent value for money.
Our en-suite room was lovely and the bed positively huge and so comfortable. The addition of fresh fruit and a decanter of sherry was a lovely touch and so unexpected.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially Cat, who spoke very knowledgeably to my husband about salmon fishing which was the purpose of the visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chattin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

A return visit to Meikleour Arms, as before an excellent 2 nights, warm welcome, quality room and very comfy bed. Breakfast excellent, staff could not be more helpful, Cat in particular, nothing too much bother for her. Evening meals, you cannot go far wrong with the Steak or Meikleour 100% Steak Burger....Excellent value for money and we shall return...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We recently stumbled upon the Meikleour Arms and had lunch there. We were travelling in Perthshire and were taking the scenic route along the River Tay. I have to say that it is the most charming pub/hotel that we have seen and although we didn't stay there it would definetly be the most perfect quiet place to stay near to Perth away from lots of people that you would find in the likes of Dunkeld, Coupar Angus etc. It would also be a great location to explore other parts of Scotland.

As for lunch, there was a wonderful lawn with tables/benches where to sit and have lunch which made it perfect for us especially with the weather being around 26 degrees! The food was absolutely amazing and the fresh scotch egg is an absolute must try. For anyone also who likes to try new ales, you must also try the lure of Meikleour. The bar lady also told us that there are new owners and that they will shortly be renovating/doing up new rooms.

We will definetly try and stay there for a weekend next year and heavily recommend this beautiful quiet pub/hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing Scottish break in a beautiful scenic location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meikleour
2.0 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
807 reviews
9.3 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,375 reviews
8.2 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
699 reviews
3.7 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#4 of 6 in Blairgowrie
767 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#3 of 6 in Blairgowrie
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant

Address: By Blairgowrie, Meikleour PH2 6EB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Meikleour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meikleour
Price Range: £81 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meikleour Arms is a boutique country hotel in Perthshire at the heart of Meikleour Estate, renowned for one of the best salmon fishing beats in Scotland and spectacular woodlands. With 11 stylish bedrooms and 5 luxurious family cottages we can welcome up to 40 guests. Completely renovated to high standards in 2017, all hotel bedrooms have superking beds (some with four-poster), luxurious marble bathrooms (Superior Rooms have separate walk-in shower as well as bath) and top of the range hypoallergenic bedding and toiletries. Dogs are welcome free of charge in all family cottages and in our downstairs bedrooms which have wooden floor. Our award winning restaurant offers beautiful country food using the produce of our land. We are only a short distance away from Perth, Scone, Blairgowrie, and Dunkeld. The Meikleour Arms is your ideal accommodation for a sporting holiday in Perthshire or a lovely family break in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing