We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soggy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meikleour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner recently the service was average and the fish and chips very poor . Chips should be crispy and golden these were soggy and grey ! So as much as the location was great the experience is one I won't repeat

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank pitchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights the staff and reception were excellent I had an excellent meal on the first night and the breakfast (a full Scottish) was great, I found that nothing was a problem with the ever helpful staff. I would definitely stop here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

we enjoyed a one night break to celebrate a birthday. Everything was very satisfactory and we wished we could have stayed longer. Great food and good service. The dining room was cosy if a little noisy with a large table next to us. T.he bedroom was spacious an comfortable and everything was clean. unfortunately Scotland did not win the rugby!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

On arrival we were met by Greg who showed us to our room. When he saw my husband was elderly he very kindly offered us a ground floor room. Actually it was a short flight of stairs to our room so stayed where we were. The room and shower room were spotlessly clean with everything we could want. the bed was comfortable and the room warm - we had to turn the heating down. We had dinner on both nights and were greeted by name by the staff on both evenings. The staff were very friendly and well trained. The food was delicious - first time I have seen babotie on a menu, and as for the beer batter on the fish - wonderful. We were well looked after both mornings by Cat and wish her well when she moves to Forfar. We really enjoyed our short break and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FeeNairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Visited here after a walk up the nearby woods with the dogs. The dogs came into the bar area loved the warm fire. The staff were lovely and friendly so we stayed for a meal. Tasty food, great portion size and good value. Will be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Weesarah1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg B, General Manager at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Weesarah1980, Thank you for your kind words and we do hope to see you again soon.
Greg Burgess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have just returned from this hotel and couldn't have had a more pleasant time. From our warm welcome to a fond farewell, we were made most welcome and well looked after by all the staff, but especially Cat. We didn't have anything other than breakfast there, but it was excellent and plentiful. The bathroom was well stocked with 'The White Company' items and our bedroom was very comfortable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carobob_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam M, Manager at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Hi Carobob

Thank You for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again,
and maybe next time we could tempt you in joining us for Dinner.

Kind Regards

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My wife and I do not normally ever write reviews but felt we absolutely had to after reading some of the negatives written here! I think some of these reviews are rather out of place and a very harsh difference to our visit!
Firstly, the manager came round a couple of times throughout the time we were there and seemed very friendly ( maybe other reviewers are just hard to please?)
Secondly, the food was incredible- we could not fault it one bit!
And finally the staff were fantastic-nothing was ever too much for them and I'm sure the waitress we had (possibly the Australian/South African one) was one of the most polite well spoken young ladies we have had serve us in a particularly long time! She was a great laugh as was the other young blonde waitress that was working! Maybe the previous reviewers visited a different place to us-but I can certainly say we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and look forward to returning. One small point we do agree with was it was rather chilly but that is to be expected and the girls were certainly doing plenty to keep their small fire maintained! Keep it up ladies!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Harrybrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam M, Manager at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Hi Harrybrace

Thank You very much for the kind words you posted.
We do try to make everyone feel welcome and provide
food and service to match. We've been teasing Steph about
her newly acquired southern hemisphere accent. (She's actually
from Southampton) We hope see you soon.

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meikleour
2.0 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
807 reviews
9.3 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,375 reviews
8.2 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
699 reviews
3.7 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#4 of 6 in Blairgowrie
767 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#3 of 6 in Blairgowrie
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant

Address: By Blairgowrie, Meikleour PH2 6EB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Meikleour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meikleour
Price Range: £81 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meikleour Arms is a boutique country hotel in Perthshire at the heart of Meikleour Estate, renowned for one of the best salmon fishing beats in Scotland and spectacular woodlands. With 11 stylish bedrooms and 5 luxurious family cottages we can welcome up to 40 guests. Completely renovated to high standards in 2017, all hotel bedrooms have superking beds (some with four-poster), luxurious marble bathrooms (Superior Rooms have separate walk-in shower as well as bath) and top of the range hypoallergenic bedding and toiletries. Dogs are welcome free of charge in all family cottages and in our downstairs bedrooms which have wooden floor. Our award winning restaurant offers beautiful country food using the produce of our land. We are only a short distance away from Perth, Scone, Blairgowrie, and Dunkeld. The Meikleour Arms is your ideal accommodation for a sporting holiday in Perthshire or a lovely family break in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing