We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Meikleour B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One night stand”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have stayed in this little pub/hotel several times and always find it good. Comfortable and well appointed rooms. Good bar and good food.
One small blip this time was a very overdone piece of belly pork. Got a free pudding but I would have had another dish if they had asked as they knew it was not right!
I will however go back. Great area to explore.

Room Tip: Only 5 rooms, book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    65
    20
    8
    8
See reviews for
56
145
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,168 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Dropped in for lunch. No surprises on the Menu. Standard Fayre. Pleasant room, traditional warm and welcoming. Staff couldn't do enough to ensure everything was fine. Wine reasonably priced. Overall a good lunch, not exceptional, but worthy of another visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gastronaut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner recently the service was average and the fish and chips very poor . Chips should be crispy and golden these were soggy and grey ! So as much as the location was great the experience is one I won't repeat

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank pitchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights the staff and reception were excellent I had an excellent meal on the first night and the breakfast (a full Scottish) was great, I found that nothing was a problem with the ever helpful staff. I would definitely stop here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmyllie
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

we enjoyed a one night break to celebrate a birthday. Everything was very satisfactory and we wished we could have stayed longer. Great food and good service. The dining room was cosy if a little noisy with a large table next to us. T.he bedroom was spacious an comfortable and everything was clean. unfortunately Scotland did not win the rugby!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

On arrival we were met by Greg who showed us to our room. When he saw my husband was elderly he very kindly offered us a ground floor room. Actually it was a short flight of stairs to our room so stayed where we were. The room and shower room were spotlessly clean with everything we could want. the bed was comfortable and the room warm - we had to turn the heating down. We had dinner on both nights and were greeted by name by the staff on both evenings. The staff were very friendly and well trained. The food was delicious - first time I have seen babotie on a menu, and as for the beer batter on the fish - wonderful. We were well looked after both mornings by Cat and wish her well when she moves to Forfar. We really enjoyed our short break and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeeNairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Visited here after a walk up the nearby woods with the dogs. The dogs came into the bar area loved the warm fire. The staff were lovely and friendly so we stayed for a meal. Tasty food, great portion size and good value. Will be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Weesarah1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg B, General Manager at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Weesarah1980, Thank you for your kind words and we do hope to see you again soon.
Greg Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meikleour
2.0 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
747 reviews
16.0 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
641 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tayside Hotel
Tayside Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stanley
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 6 in Blairgowrie
285 reviews
9.3 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,213 reviews
10.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Address: By Blairgowrie, Meikleour PH2 6EB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Meikleour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Meikleour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meikleour Arms is a traditional small country hotel in Perthshire, at the heart of the conservation village of Meikleour, internationally renowned for one of the best salmon fishing beats in Scotland and the spectacular Meikleour Beech Hedge. Our restaurant offers great local pub food and is only a short distance away from Perth, Scone, Blairgowrie, and Dunkeld. The Meikleour Arms is your ideal accommodation for a salmon fishing holiday on the River Tay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing