We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Inn on the Tay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn on the Tay
Ranked #1 of 2 Grandtully B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We'll be back...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stopped in here for lunch when doing a mad adventure day on the nearby (very nearby) water.. This is an oasis of warmth, good grub, friendly staff and great views over the Tay. We had a good hearty lunch. I wasn't paying and have no idea if it was good value for money, but really enjoyed my burger.

The bar has the most brilliant log burning stove, which made our return after lunch trip on the water totally un irresistible!

Have every intention of returning here for an overnight stay in the future, Grand in Grandtully...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandomJots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    78
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
91
216
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DUNDEE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Spent a night here and fully recommend a great overnight stay.
Most welcoming in a great situation on the Tay. Excellent centre for touring around and many visitor attractions to be kept fully occupied.


Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ardesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent 2 days here. From the moment we stepped in the front door we couldn't have been looked after any better. The staff were very attentive and friendly, Nothing was any bother.The meals were absolutely superb at both breakfast and dinner. If you go have the game pie, it was sublime!!
The bedroom was well appointed with quality bedding and furnishings. The bar downstairs was very cosy. Amazing views of the River Tay.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a view of the Tay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RHP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Just spent a great weekend here,29th & 30th September, lovely spacious room with all usual facilities and views of the river. Excellent food, had our best ever fish and chips on one of our evening meals, really pleasant staff. Lovely area plenty to do and see, especially the chocolate shop opposite the hotel!!
would love to return again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms over the river will cost a little more but I think all the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo,ness
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Visited on the 5th October 2013, lovely hotel staff and accommodation. Room 1 was huge with plenty room for us on my son. Great breakfast overlooking river Tay, very tranquil, wish we could have stayed longer will definitely return next year, stuart from Bo'ness

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Friday & Saturday 27th & 28th Sept. We were shown to room 6 up it's own private staircase. It is a large room with a king size bed and a single bed, sofa, t.v with flat screen, tea making facilities, a shower room and best of all a view of the Tay! We watched canoeists running the rapids on both days. The bar/lounge was a lovely place to sit with a drink and had it been a warm summer night there was a lovely decking area to sit out. The wood burner was lit on Sat night and was a lovely touch. The dining room, again with views of the river, was an elegant room. Breakfast was included in our deal and there was a great choice of food. We also ate dinner there both nights and the food was good. Cullen Skink was excellent and Salmon served on a sun dried tomato risotto was very tasty. We chose the wine of the month to compliment our food and were not disappointed. All in all a great weekend in a lovely cosy, comfortable Inn.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank margaretrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently on a deal. The staff were very friendly and helpful, large rooms very clean and good food. Fantastic area to cycle and walk and of course there's the River Tay on which the Inn sits with water sports. There's also many places to visit round about. Would loved to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jdm64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grandtully
3.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
3.5 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
3.7 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#14 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Tay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Tay

Property: The Inn on the Tay
Address: Pitlochry, Grandtully, Pitlochry PH9 0PL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry > Grandtully
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grandtully
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on the Tay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Tay is a beautifully refurbished family-friendly 6-bedroom hotel nestled into the banks of the roaring River Tay at the rapids at Grandtully, in the midst of the stunning Perthshire countryside.The Inn on the Tay has 6 beautifully presented, contemporary bedrooms, most with river views, and all with ensuite facilities. Our rooms are spacious and family sized, each able to accommodate two adults and 2 children if required.All rooms have Flat Screen TV's with a FREESAT system, Tea/Coffee facilities and hairdryers. Cots and highchairs are available upon request.You can enjoy relaxed, informal dining in our Restaurant which has been refurbished to an exacting standard and offers one of the most memorable settings for a dining experience anywhere on the Banks of the Tay as you sit and watch the canoeists and rafters negotiate the Grandtully rapids.Our Bar at the Inn on the Tay is a cosy, friendly watering hole, with a spectacular extension of external decking offering incredible views of the River Tay and a children’s play area.Free Wi-Fi internet access and free parking are available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn on the Tay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Tay Hotel Grandtully
The Inn On The Tay Grandtully, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing