We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn on the Tay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn on the Tay
Ranked #1 of 2 Grandtully B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
keswick
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Inn on the Tay last weekend with 2 friends on our yearly get away weekend and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The inn is very cosy with a lovely bar area with comfortable seating and a lovely log burning fire. We were shown to our room and given all the information we required. The river view rooms are very large and comfortable and were very clean and what a comfortable bed. Food in the restaurant is good as is the service with very friendly staff. We would certainly return if we were ever in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richatki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    78
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
89
214
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Spent two nights here last week and had a lovely stay with friendly professional staff. Beautiful location especially at this time of the year showing off Scotland late autumn colours with snow on the mountains. Hotel was spotless, beautiful big bedroom and very comfortable. Lounge lovely place to relax with big couches and log burner making it cosy warm. Had dinner both nights in the restaurant and food was really good and very reasonably priced, as was wine and drinks. Breakfasts also good.
Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have just returned from two days at the Inn on the Tay. This is a delightful little 'boutique' hotel with only 6 rooms. Our room (room 2) was very comfortable with a double bed, single bed, settee, coffee table, TV and tea and coffee making facilities and front row seats to the river! The staff were extremely friendly and made us feel totally at home. The bar/lounge area was very inviting with a most efficient wood-burning stove and very comfortable leather chairs and settees. The restaurant was situated with views of the river. The food was excellent, moderately priced and well presented. 5/5 for cleanliness, comfort, food and relaxation. Although the wifi didn't quite reach our room, it gave us the excuse to sit and relax in the bar where the signal was good.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area and we will definitely be making a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanBGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geoff w, Owner at The Inn on the Tay, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review ... & congratulations on being our 200th reviewer! It was a pleasure enjoying your company over the weekend and we're glad you enjoyed your break despite what the weather threw at us on Saturday!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently spent a night here whilst visiting the Enchanted Forest nearby. The enchanting forest was a disappointment but luckily this lovely B & B made our trip worthwhile. We had a stunning room (room 1) which was massive, spotlessly clean and had fantastic views of the river Tay which was fab to watch the kayakers and dingies going past
Enjoyed a lovely evening meal and great breakfast.
Staff were lovely, in particular the girl who served us in the restaurant.
The only negative is that we couldn't stay for our planned 2nd night as my husband was called out to work so we had to head home early.
We will return in the future though.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiylees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Staff were friendly and hotel is very clean but not a patch on our visit 2 years ago the food was not good, perhaps it was the chefs night off. when we went to our room there was no WiFi or stv and the duvet was lumpy and very uncomfortable Not worth the full price that we paid .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geoff w, Owner at The Inn on the Tay, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We are sorry that you found your stay so disappointing, particularly as we work so hard as a team to ensure each visit is memorable and enjoyable, and especially as we had positive feedback from you personally on check-out. We maybe could have addressed some of the concerns you have raised during your stay, rather than hearing about them after you have left.
We did have a problem with our oven on the night of your stay which would have been explained to you at dinner; this was reported and sorted the next day. We also already had a replacement duvet on order, but were unaware of a problem with STV in your room - we have now rectified the problem. We do not advertise that wifi is available throughout our building. It is available throughout the public areas of The Inn and in most of the rooms - the signal can vary meaning that it is not necessarily always available in all the rooms.
It is a shame that you didn’t post a review after your initial pleasant stay and we are sorry that your overnight stay did not live up to your memories. We hope that you would visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stopped in here for lunch when doing a mad adventure day on the nearby (very nearby) water.. This is an oasis of warmth, good grub, friendly staff and great views over the Tay. We had a good hearty lunch. I wasn't paying and have no idea if it was good value for money, but really enjoyed my burger.

The bar has the most brilliant log burning stove, which made our return after lunch trip on the water totally un irresistible!

Have every intention of returning here for an overnight stay in the future, Grand in Grandtully...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandomJots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUNDEE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Spent a night here and fully recommend a great overnight stay.
Most welcoming in a great situation on the Tay. Excellent centre for touring around and many visitor attractions to be kept fully occupied.


Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ardesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grandtully
3.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
3.5 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
3.7 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Tay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Tay

Property: The Inn on the Tay
Address: Pitlochry, Grandtully, Pitlochry PH9 0PL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry > Grandtully
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grandtully
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on the Tay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Tay is a beautifully refurbished family-friendly 6-bedroom hotel nestled into the banks of the roaring River Tay at the rapids at Grandtully, in the midst of the stunning Perthshire countryside.The Inn on the Tay has 6 beautifully presented, contemporary bedrooms, most with river views, and all with ensuite facilities. Our rooms are spacious and family sized, each able to accommodate two adults and 2 children if required.All rooms have Flat Screen TV's with a FREESAT system, Tea/Coffee facilities and hairdryers. Cots and highchairs are available upon request.You can enjoy relaxed, informal dining in our Restaurant which has been refurbished to an exacting standard and offers one of the most memorable settings for a dining experience anywhere on the Banks of the Tay as you sit and watch the canoeists and rafters negotiate the Grandtully rapids.Our Bar at the Inn on the Tay is a cosy, friendly watering hole, with a spectacular extension of external decking offering incredible views of the River Tay and a children’s play area.Free Wi-Fi internet access and free parking are available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Inn on the Tay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Tay Hotel Grandtully
The Inn On The Tay Grandtully, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing