We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The perfect place to relax"”
Review of The Inn on the Tay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn on the Tay
Ranked #1 of 2 Grandtully B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"The perfect place to relax"”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My husband and I spent a 2 night break here and loved it from the moment we arrived. The bedroom was very spacious with a fabulous view of the river.The food we had especially the breakfast was delicious I loved the pancakes with bacon and maple syrup. All the staff we met were very friendly. The lounge bar was super cosy with wood burner. Candles lit around the room made for an intimate atmosphere. Enjoyed our stay so much we didn't want to leave. Will most definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    82
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
98
229
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My partner and I have been twice now with our daughter ( first time she was 3 months old, second time she was 6 months) and we had such an amazing time the first time we hurried to go back :).
the rooms are very spacious, room 6 over looks the river and has its own entrance and is pretty huge, there's no bath in this room however. the bed is massive, the noise from the river is slightly louder than room 1 but i loved this, i noticed the review below and we didn't hear any music from the bar at all. Room 1 is bigger ( although we thought room 6 was huge!) and the bathroom has a bath and a shower in it. rooms were clean and very well presented, beds were huge and amazingly comfy.

The staff were fantastic, genuinely warm and friendly, they really couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. THE FOOD WAS SUPERB! from breakfast (2 courses!) to home baked cakes to 3 courses dinners, every single meal was out of this world. there was obviously a lot of attention to detail with the presentation and it really was far above the standard i was expecting. i really cant praise the food highly enough. the lounge bar is possibly the cosiest, most welcoming bar ive ever been in... twinkle lights, log fire, micheal buble tunes (it was xmas last time we went) truely lovely. they have cocktails, a fantastic wine list and the comfiest couches that you sink into :) and the drink prices are very reasonable indeed! Overall we will be back at this venue and if anyone is looking for somewhere to stay around the Pitlochry area, i will always recommend this one. many thanks again to all the staff who made our stay so special :)

Room Tip: room 1 is quieter but over looks car park and the river.. and the chocolatiers over the road lol. it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaylehscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, UK
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I can only tell you how good the staff are and their attentiveness is fantastic. The location is good, the food is wonderful and our dog was made to feel welcome. Room size was amazing (Room 6) and having direct access to a private outside door was great for the dog and ensured that no other resident was disturbed. Overlooking the river was beautiful and good walks from the hotel for the dog too. HOWEVER, and as much as it might not seem much to some, the noise (bass notes) from the bar (music speakers are sited on the ceiling and so directly beneath the bedroom floor) meant that I couldn't sleep until the bar had closed (11pm +). For some that won't be a problem as they're late-to-bed, but if you're an earlier bedder ... or enjoy peace and quiet in your room in the evening, then forget Room 6 as you cannot sleep because of the noise. Speak to the hotel and see if you can get another room ... if you have a dog though ... this is their only room available for that.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynneharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I booked this for my fiancé for inbetween Christmas & new year, & I was very pleasantly surprised. This is a little haven surrounded with lots of throught which brings even more comfort. When we arrived we had a lovely warm welcome from Josie (owner), she filled us in about the place. We also took our dog, we had a room with our own side door for ease to take him out, equally was good as meant no people passing getting to their rooms, the place was so quiet all you could hear was the sound of the river. The room was a great size & had everything in it you needed. We took the dog down to the snug/bar had drinks (which there was a great choice) & ordered food which was delicious, Josie explained everything was all local fresh produce & it certainly didn't disappoint. We stayed for 2 nights, I didn't want to leave this morning I felt chilled out as soon as I got to The Inn On The Tay, it's a very relaxed & family oriented little place. I was a bit apprehensive writing a review as this place only has a small number of rooms & hope it'll be available the next time we visit. Thanks for having us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m40gsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stunning little place, nice friendly folk, food was fantastic, can't wait to go back with the wife and kids next time. The view of the Tay from the restaurant is brilliant, can see why people continue to return to the Inn. 10/10 from the Blacksmiths :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W33DOV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keswick
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Inn on the Tay last weekend with 2 friends on our yearly get away weekend and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The inn is very cosy with a lovely bar area with comfortable seating and a lovely log burning fire. We were shown to our room and given all the information we required. The river view rooms are very large and comfortable and were very clean and what a comfortable bed. Food in the restaurant is good as is the service with very friendly staff. We would certainly return if we were ever in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richatki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Spent two nights here last week and had a lovely stay with friendly professional staff. Beautiful location especially at this time of the year showing off Scotland late autumn colours with snow on the mountains. Hotel was spotless, beautiful big bedroom and very comfortable. Lounge lovely place to relax with big couches and log burner making it cosy warm. Had dinner both nights in the restaurant and food was really good and very reasonably priced, as was wine and drinks. Breakfasts also good.
Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grandtully
3.5 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
649 reviews
3.7 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
3.6 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,780 reviews
3.6 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,571 reviews
4.2 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Tay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Tay

Property: The Inn on the Tay
Address: Pitlochry, Grandtully, Pitlochry PH9 0PL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry > Grandtully
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grandtully
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on the Tay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Tay is a beautifully refurbished family-friendly 6-bedroom hotel nestled into the banks of the roaring River Tay at the rapids at Grandtully, in the midst of the stunning Perthshire countryside.The Inn on the Tay has 6 beautifully presented, contemporary bedrooms, most with river views, and all with ensuite facilities. Our rooms are spacious and family sized, each able to accommodate two adults and 2 children if required.All rooms have Flat Screen TV's with a FREESAT system, Tea/Coffee facilities and hairdryers. Cots and highchairs are available upon request.You can enjoy relaxed, informal dining in our Restaurant which has been refurbished to an exacting standard and offers one of the most memorable settings for a dining experience anywhere on the Banks of the Tay as you sit and watch the canoeists and rafters negotiate the Grandtully rapids.Our Bar at the Inn on the Tay is a cosy, friendly watering hole, with a spectacular extension of external decking offering incredible views of the River Tay and a children’s play area.Free Wi-Fi internet access and free parking are available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Inn on the Tay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Tay Hotel Grandtully
The Inn On The Tay Grandtully, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing