We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS”
Review of The Inn on the Tay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn on the Tay
Ranked #1 of 2 Grandtully B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is the second time I have stayed now and it's perfect . So relaxing, the rooms are fantastic with great views overlooking the rapids on the Tay. The food is also amazing with great customer service throughout. The owners take great pride in their hotel and they make you feel at home. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Room 6 was lovely, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    78
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
91
219
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Managed to book this through an offer and was so glad that we did. Room was quirky but a great size with a spotlessly clean and modern en suite. We booked dinner the first night and selected our meal whilst sitting in the candlelit bar complete with a log burner. The warm and cosy ambience was wonderful and I could feel myself completely relaxing as I took my first sip of wine. The whole experience was lovely and we enjoyed it so much we booked dinner on the second night also. Again this did not disappoint. The owners clearly take a great pride in their hotel and we found all the staff friendly and very welcoming. The views of the river are superb and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
203 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stopped in for lunch, wow what a delight! Excellent menu, first class service and the location to be honest would be hard to beat.

Menus was varied and all the dishes very reasonably priced. I plumped for a venison burger and all the trimmings. To be honest one of the best venison burgers I have ever had!

Drinks were all reasonably priced. To be honest I wish I could have stayed longer

the location is stunning looking over the rapids can be very hypnotic but it all adds to the ambiance of the place.

Do not drive past this place we will be back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandFramed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had two nights stay as a Xmas pressie it was so relaxing we had room 1 which was looking over the river the room was really big & comfy!!! We had dinner two nights amazing our waiter ( Scott ) was very friendly my favourite was the cosy bar, log fire ,candles every where ,nice bottle wine so comfy sofa so relaxing !!! Thank you all staff Marie & Billy

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

On holiday to Scotland last weekend myself and my husband decided to try this little inn by the Tay river. Beautiful setting and very friendly welcome with attentive staff. My husband had fishcakes which were divine! The only fault i would have to give is that the prices were a little over what we are used to, but probably fitting to the area and setting. I would definitely recommend The Inn on The Tay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moira w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just returned from The Inn on the Tay having stayed for 2 nights. The room was huge with lovely bedding, well maintained and lots of choice for tea, coffee, herbal teas etc. Tv and freeview and selection of magazines.

We ate dinner on the first night, game pie - delicious! Followed by sticky toffee pudding. £40 for 2 courses and drinks, so reasonable price for good freshly cooked food.

Lounge had a wood burner so very cosy and welcoming.

All staff were lovely and we had lovely chat with the owner before we left as we are planning on returning in near future as they offer white water rafting and i think the kids would love it.

Great place for kids too as rooms are big enough to take the kids in the room, good menu for kids and play area outside for them.

Overall great stay and would certainly recommend to others, whether couples or families.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 16theNicols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We spent 2 days at The Inn on the Tay last week and it was a great find for us and we will certainly return. Great staff who were all willing to help and make sure that you had a perfect stay. Very comfortable rooms with a terrific riverside setting. The bar at night was candlelit and very atmospheric and you can take your pick to either eat here or in the restaurant. Both are equally good - special mention for the porridge with white chocolate and raspberry coulis !!

It is a perfect area for outdoor pursuits and again staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. So do not hesitate - get booked up !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grandtully
3.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
3.5 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
3.7 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Tay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Tay

Property: The Inn on the Tay
Address: Pitlochry, Grandtully, Pitlochry PH9 0PL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry > Grandtully
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grandtully
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on the Tay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Tay is a beautifully refurbished family-friendly 6-bedroom hotel nestled into the banks of the roaring River Tay at the rapids at Grandtully, in the midst of the stunning Perthshire countryside.The Inn on the Tay has 6 beautifully presented, contemporary bedrooms, most with river views, and all with ensuite facilities. Our rooms are spacious and family sized, each able to accommodate two adults and 2 children if required.All rooms have Flat Screen TV's with a FREESAT system, Tea/Coffee facilities and hairdryers. Cots and highchairs are available upon request.You can enjoy relaxed, informal dining in our Restaurant which has been refurbished to an exacting standard and offers one of the most memorable settings for a dining experience anywhere on the Banks of the Tay as you sit and watch the canoeists and rafters negotiate the Grandtully rapids.Our Bar at the Inn on the Tay is a cosy, friendly watering hole, with a spectacular extension of external decking offering incredible views of the River Tay and a children’s play area.Free Wi-Fi internet access and free parking are available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Inn on the Tay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Tay Hotel Grandtully
The Inn On The Tay Grandtully, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing