We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st visit would not return”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Inn on the Tay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn on the Tay
Ranked #1 of 2 Grandtully B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“1st visit would not return”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I visited The Inn on the Tay over Easter weekend with my husband. We were shown to a table quite quickly and our order taken soon afterwards. My husband and myself both had burgers which were okay. We then ordered banana and baileys bread and butter pudding which took ages to arrive. When we saw it it did not resemble anything like bread and butter pudding. The bread was dried out and the bananas were quite hard. The whole desert was swimming in melted chocolate with no hint of baileys anywhere. My thoughts were the chocolate was either disguising the lack of baileys or to try and soften the bread. The desert was disgusting and I could not eat much of it and it was not cheap (£5 per person). When we paid the bill we got an apology for the length of time we waited (this was due to a kayaking competition going on at the time). I would not return to this restaurant and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lezells18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    78
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
91
219
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We visited the Inn last week and could not fault it.The welcome was really warm and we had a lovely room overlooking the river.Food in the restaurant was to a very high standard with the homemade fishcakes and steak pie of particular note.The only thing that could have been better was the weather.You will not be disappointed !!


Mike & Liz

Room Tip: For the best views choose a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikelizEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Second time staying here and it was excellent again. Great big room with view of river . Good breakfast plus we ate in the restaurant one of the nights and it was really good as well.
Overall a nice atmosphere about this inn with good stove in the bar to sit near...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jauntyjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

My wife and i had a 2 day stay at the Inn and I would reccomend anyone to go there as it is very clean and warm,the fire in the bar is one of the best we have seen.Food was very good and very good portions,staff excellent and friendly,we had a lovely room over looking the white water rafting ( a great touch ).If you are looking for somewhere new to go to this is the place,no regrets.I had a Venison burger for dinner ( best ever ) my wife had a creamed pasta dish,excellent,a very good choice for breakfast.overall hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is the second time I have stayed now and it's perfect . So relaxing, the rooms are fantastic with great views overlooking the rapids on the Tay. The food is also amazing with great customer service throughout. The owners take great pride in their hotel and they make you feel at home. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Room 6 was lovely, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Managed to book this through an offer and was so glad that we did. Room was quirky but a great size with a spotlessly clean and modern en suite. We booked dinner the first night and selected our meal whilst sitting in the candlelit bar complete with a log burner. The warm and cosy ambience was wonderful and I could feel myself completely relaxing as I took my first sip of wine. The whole experience was lovely and we enjoyed it so much we booked dinner on the second night also. Again this did not disappoint. The owners clearly take a great pride in their hotel and we found all the staff friendly and very welcoming. The views of the river are superb and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
203 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stopped in for lunch, wow what a delight! Excellent menu, first class service and the location to be honest would be hard to beat.

Menus was varied and all the dishes very reasonably priced. I plumped for a venison burger and all the trimmings. To be honest one of the best venison burgers I have ever had!

Drinks were all reasonably priced. To be honest I wish I could have stayed longer

the location is stunning looking over the rapids can be very hypnotic but it all adds to the ambiance of the place.

Do not drive past this place we will be back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandFramed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grandtully
3.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
3.5 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
3.7 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Tay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Tay

Property: The Inn on the Tay
Address: Pitlochry, Grandtully, Pitlochry PH9 0PL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry > Grandtully
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grandtully
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on the Tay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Tay is a beautifully refurbished family-friendly 6-bedroom hotel nestled into the banks of the roaring River Tay at the rapids at Grandtully, in the midst of the stunning Perthshire countryside.The Inn on the Tay has 6 beautifully presented, contemporary bedrooms, most with river views, and all with ensuite facilities. Our rooms are spacious and family sized, each able to accommodate two adults and 2 children if required.All rooms have Flat Screen TV's with a FREESAT system, Tea/Coffee facilities and hairdryers. Cots and highchairs are available upon request.You can enjoy relaxed, informal dining in our Restaurant which has been refurbished to an exacting standard and offers one of the most memorable settings for a dining experience anywhere on the Banks of the Tay as you sit and watch the canoeists and rafters negotiate the Grandtully rapids.Our Bar at the Inn on the Tay is a cosy, friendly watering hole, with a spectacular extension of external decking offering incredible views of the River Tay and a children’s play area.Free Wi-Fi internet access and free parking are available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Inn on the Tay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Tay Hotel Grandtully
The Inn On The Tay Grandtully, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing