We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”
Review of The Inn on the Tay

The Inn on the Tay
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Grandtully
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Expecting it to be very busy on Easter Sunday, I rang to book a table for around 5pm as they serve food all day and I had been working. It turned out that we were the only ones eating at that time. Their usual menu was not available and a limited table d'hôte was on offer. The starters were fine, nicely presented on slate dishes. We both chose roast lamb for main course and got a very small serving, all on the plate, a couple of small potatoes, a tiny amount of vegetables and covered in gravy. We had to ask for some mint sauce which was decanted from a large container still in concentrated form. We felt that the meal was pretty overpriced for what we had even taking into account it was a holiday weekend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    69
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great service and food during a busy Easter weekend”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We were up at Geandtully for the canoe slalom race on the river Tay just by the inn on the Tay. It was a really busy weekend but staff were friendly and helpful, especially as we had a baby with us, nothing was too much trouble. Food was really good, so was the coffee. Lovely atmosphere in the formal restaurant as well as the bar/lounge area. Toilets were spotless all weekend, with fab baby changing facilities. Thanks guys, see you in August!

Helpful?
Thank Ruthhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“You must visit!!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We arrived in glorious weather and spent the whole afternoon on the deck at the Inn on the Tay watching the river rafts and kayaks come down, we only stopped for coffee. We were supposed to eat in Aberfeldy later that night but changed plans after reading the menu and enjoying the atmosphere, the staff were brilliant. Many of us had the fish and chips, huge and really well cooked and the mussels were generous with a near perfect sauce! Everything arrived on time and considering we were a party of 10 and the place was absolutely mobbed I am not sure how they managed it.
The owner kindly too the time to chat about the rooms which we will definitely be back to try.
A must visit!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EJH36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting, nice menu and glorious sunshine the perfect recipe for our last dinner in Scotland. The table was set up quickly but no service for 15 minutes, we asked for menus and ordered. Waited a further 25 minutes until the kids starters arrived, before the drinks. Drinks arrived quickly after we asked for them. Starters were very nice but main courses disappointingly bland - the mussels were mentioned to the waiter as they were poor. Our daughter fetched the dessert menu to save the wait and after 10 mins or so we asked if we could order. Desserts were nice but spoilt by the service. Mussels were deducted from the bill. It had been a glorious day and the waiter said they'd been busy, but it was no excuse. There are ~10 tables and 4 waiting staff. Summary - spoilt by service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geoff w, Owner at The Inn on the Tay, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
This review is so unfair and paints a completely inaccurate picture of my business at the time of this clients visit. Nowhere does it indicate that the gentleman arrived with his family, without a reservation on the Easter bank holiday weekend and was told prior to being seated that although there were a couple of empty tables in the restaurant, the bar and external decking areas were packed due to a Scottish Canoe Association event being held, with over 600 extra people in our village, and would therefore need to be patient with service especially with regards to the volume of food orders that the kitchen already had. We offered this table out of common decency, as our local knowledge dictates that it would take a further 15/20 minute car journey to try to find another restaurant, wiith hindsight we wish we had not bothered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice Food but Service a Bit of a Shambles”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Visited this pub/hotel for lunch. The steak sandwich special of the day was a pleasant surprise. The steak was very tender and served with salad, an egg, and chips. The steak, salad, and egg were served in a roll of excellent flavour. Food pricing was reasonable but drinks were expensive. Service seemed to suffer from "too many cooks" syndrome! Our drinks order was taken and then before they arrived someone else tried to take the order again. Paying was a nightmare. Staff member one, passed the job to staff member two, who passed the job to staff member three, who could not work the computer. Staff member four fixed the computer and after 20 minutes wait we were able to pay.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noirtier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geoff w, Owner at The Inn on the Tay, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We are very sorry that this client got caught up in a computer glitch. Our screen did indeed freeze, resulting in a delay in processing this bill, but we hope there is an acceptance that this was due to a technical error as opposed to poor staff service. If our staff were over zealous in offering to take orders, we once again apologise, yet we hope it can be seen as an attempt to provide good service. I believe the confusion was caused by someone at the table holding onto a menu after the original order had been taken, normally staff remove the menus to indicate to the rest of the team that the client selection has already been made.
Thank very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Inn on the Tay also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Inn on the Tay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing