We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sannox Bay Hotel

Sannox Bay Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sannox
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sannox Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Sannox B&B and Inns
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Service excellent, food even better. Fresh crab out of the bay for starters followed by Chicken breast stuffed with black pudding and haggis, amazing. Took part in consuming some of the local ale prior to our meal, Arran Blonde with a bottle of red for the ladies. My son and his girl friend had the lamb shank and they were beyond impressed, best they had eaten. I could scribble all day long, The best bet is to go and see as we did. This is my 4th or 5th visit to Arran and one off my biggest mistakes was not having been before.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ffdalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    3
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Had many a toastie at lunchtime over the past 14 years on cycling holidays. However, on a weeks holiday during August with my wife, we decided to dine one evening. Scallops and steak pie to die for. Service was warm, friendly and welcoming. Go try, you won't be disapponted.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theTreveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Although we did not stay at this hotel we did have an evening meal with wine and drinks afterwards. The food was excellent and the portion sizes large, very large! The staff were efficient and friendly and very trusting, we sat outside for a while before we paid with no one chasing us up for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FalkirkBairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at the Sannox Bay hotel while visiting a relative on Arran. The hotel is a little way from where my mother stays but it is a beautiful drive over georgeous mountain scenery.The hotel itself is set just off the main circular route round Arran across from Sannox bay in the Firth of Clyde. The views from the bedroom window and the dining room are spectacular, looking across to the Ayrshire coast. Seabirds, a heron and small wild birds abound. The hotel is family run and I mean the whole family mum, dad and daughter(s) Their welcome is very friendly and if you are coming over on the ferry just about lunchtime you can check in when you arrive (even if that is before 3 PM) The rooms are individually furnished and dressed in a welcoming home style way, with multi channel TV with built in DVD (just in case the weather keeps you in!) Rooms are en- suite with both a bath and a shower. There is a large front garden with picnic style wooden tables and benches and on a sunny day drinks and food can be enjoyed overlooking the bay. There is a small cosy bar, with an open fire in cooler weather, with a good selection of beers wines and spirits (good whisky gantry). However, the food is the crowning glory a diverse menu, which can be eaten in the bar ,dining room, conservatory or in the garden (weather permitting). Local produce expertly prepared and lots of it! The breakfast is equally filling and again there is a large choice with a cereal, juice self selection and table service for the hot offerings. Our stay was only for two days but we were reluctant to leave as we liked it so much. Arran is a great island to visit with a huge diversity of things to do be you walker, climber, golfer, cyclist, shopper or simply soaking up the views and visiting interesting and historical places. The only slightly dissapointing aspect is the quite early checkout time of 10 am but I guess this is to do with ferry times as most people will probably be leaving the island after their stay.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms at the Sannox either of the two rooms facing the front (easterly) side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Virgovision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

While staying nearby, my partner and I had an evening meal at the Sannox Bay Hotel on the last evening of our week long stay on Arran. The service was friendly, polite and efficient and the food was brilliant. As a veggie, I am often dissappointed by the choice and quality offered, especially at small local hotels, but that meal was stunning. From the mushroom pepper pot starter to the coffee at the end, the meal and service were faultless.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank GlenMillerFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherfield, East Sussex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We eat here every time we come to Arran and the food is always wonderful. The haggis is especially good. The views from the tables in the lower restaurant are unbeatable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Excellent food,service,location cant wait to go back this year!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RachNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sannox
0.0 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.0 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sannox Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sannox Bay Hotel

Property: Sannox Bay Hotel
Address: Sannox, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Sannox
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sannox
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sannox Bay Hotel Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing