We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal as always”
Review of Sannox Bay Hotel

Sannox Bay Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sannox
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sannox Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Sannox B&B and Inns
Arran
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely meal as always”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Consistently great food everytime we visit!

Fresh scallops are on special when we were dining last, and are to die for, as usual at a very reasonable price for the portion size.

Always a treat to visit, friendly, efficient and knowledgable staff who are always on hand when needed, but not interfearing.

Would give 10 stars if I could - we will be back

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suziArran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    3
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stopped at the hotel recently while walking on Arran. The female member of staff on duty was the unfriendliest and unwelcoming we met on the island. Avoid like the plague
Advice for the management:Invest in customer relationship training and if going to ask walkers who are wet to take off their jackets and boots etc provide somewher suitable to leave them

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehaven, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We have been going to the Sannox Bay for our end of holiday meal for past 5years and the quality and standard of food is Absolutely Fantastic. The service is always quick,friendly and effcient.

There is always a lovely atmosphere in the pub and restraunant. With a cosy fire and comfortable seats.

Great selection of food for adults and children on the menu and it always includes local produce. Very large portions and this makes for great value for money.

We won't go anywhere else for our special meal and would highly reccommend you try this Little Gem!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SophieBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Service excellent, food even better. Fresh crab out of the bay for starters followed by Chicken breast stuffed with black pudding and haggis, amazing. Took part in consuming some of the local ale prior to our meal, Arran Blonde with a bottle of red for the ladies. My son and his girl friend had the lamb shank and they were beyond impressed, best they had eaten. I could scribble all day long, The best bet is to go and see as we did. This is my 4th or 5th visit to Arran and one off my biggest mistakes was not having been before.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ffdalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Had many a toastie at lunchtime over the past 14 years on cycling holidays. However, on a weeks holiday during August with my wife, we decided to dine one evening. Scallops and steak pie to die for. Service was warm, friendly and welcoming. Go try, you won't be disapponted.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theTreveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Although we did not stay at this hotel we did have an evening meal with wine and drinks afterwards. The food was excellent and the portion sizes large, very large! The staff were efficient and friendly and very trusting, we sat outside for a while before we paid with no one chasing us up for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FalkirkBairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at the Sannox Bay hotel while visiting a relative on Arran. The hotel is a little way from where my mother stays but it is a beautiful drive over georgeous mountain scenery.The hotel itself is set just off the main circular route round Arran across from Sannox bay in the Firth of Clyde. The views from the bedroom window and the dining room are spectacular, looking across to the Ayrshire coast. Seabirds, a heron and small wild birds abound. The hotel is family run and I mean the whole family mum, dad and daughter(s) Their welcome is very friendly and if you are coming over on the ferry just about lunchtime you can check in when you arrive (even if that is before 3 PM) The rooms are individually furnished and dressed in a welcoming home style way, with multi channel TV with built in DVD (just in case the weather keeps you in!) Rooms are en- suite with both a bath and a shower. There is a large front garden with picnic style wooden tables and benches and on a sunny day drinks and food can be enjoyed overlooking the bay. There is a small cosy bar, with an open fire in cooler weather, with a good selection of beers wines and spirits (good whisky gantry). However, the food is the crowning glory a diverse menu, which can be eaten in the bar ,dining room, conservatory or in the garden (weather permitting). Local produce expertly prepared and lots of it! The breakfast is equally filling and again there is a large choice with a cereal, juice self selection and table service for the hot offerings. Our stay was only for two days but we were reluctant to leave as we liked it so much. Arran is a great island to visit with a huge diversity of things to do be you walker, climber, golfer, cyclist, shopper or simply soaking up the views and visiting interesting and historical places. The only slightly dissapointing aspect is the quite early checkout time of 10 am but I guess this is to do with ferry times as most people will probably be leaving the island after their stay.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms at the Sannox either of the two rooms facing the front (easterly) side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Virgovision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sannox
0.0 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.0 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sannox Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sannox Bay Hotel

Property: Sannox Bay Hotel
Address: Sannox, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Sannox
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sannox
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sannox Bay Hotel Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing