We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best stopover on the N4!”
Review of Old Joe's Kaia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Joe's Kaia
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best stopover on the N4!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

What a privilege to once again spend a night at Old Joe's Kaia on our way to the Kruger National Park. Our family usually gets more excited about the Old Joe's visit than the Kruger! Marian and Paul, together with their friendly staff, are the perfect hosts and will go out of their way to make sure that you are comfortable and content. We stayed in cabin #1, the girls in cabin #2 and the boys in cabin #5 - nothing lacking! The children felt like royalty! Old Joe's is a home away from home, yet is a wonderfully interesting sensory experience. After a walk to the very unique labyrinth, spending some quality time there, fun times for the kids on the huge tree-swing close to the swimming pool, we ended our afternoon with the best wine on the deck with its spectacular view on the mountains. Thereafter, lazily paging through the many interesting books in front of the cosy fireplace, we awaited the highlight of the visit: Marian's out-of-this-world cuisine - every bite a taste sensation! Total bliss! Old Joe's spells RELAXATION and EXCELLENCE in capital letters. We cannot wait for our next visit! Marian and Paul - you are truely special!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Werner D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    74
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
82
180
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Old Joe's Kaia, Log Cabin #5 was recommended to us by dear friends who got married there a year or so ago.
What a truly serene, peaceful, "breathing in" experience.
Truly a home away from home - sitting by the fireplace on the floor in the diningroom as if it was our own home...Marianne is an attentive, gentle, caring hostess - that has a gift for dishing up an exquisitie tastebud adventure every time you sit down for a meal be it breakfast, lunch or dinner (might I just add that everything is fresh and homemade/homegrown). Interesting conversation with Paul and Dale and James everso attentive to our every need.
If books are your thing, don't despair, there's a book for every kind of interest an arm stretch away.
The soothing / relaxing music gently playing in the background adding to the harmony.
The logcabin met every need - nothing was lacking. The cleaning fairies were nowhere to be seen but our room was always in a pristine condition.
The gardens / forest / labyrinth / river walk / pathways...lent itself to discover magical things if you just quietened yourself to allow your soul to see, hear, smell, touch...a surprise round every corner.
The only thing that bothered a little was the noise from the road...but that eventually faded away - a distant reminder of reality.
There's no doubt in our mind's that we'll be back.
Thank you.
Willem and Jomaine

Room Tip: The view from Logcabin # 5 at sunrise is just beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JomainePretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Old Joe's definitely is a home away from home! The accommodation is excellent, good quality beds and good interior. The grande dame of Old Joe's, Marian, makes you feel at home and one of the reasons we keep going back is the great cuisine. It is not far from Nelspruit and Kaapsche Hoop, another jewel in Mpumalanga. Worth staying over for a night or two....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElrietaSASouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at Old Joe's again finally! Coming from Johannesburg we don't go often, but I have been looking forward to it for a while.... It was not disappointing, once again it was like being in heaven! The FOOD (Marian is a GREAT chef) and the whole peacefulness and homeliness is heart warming. We stayed in cabin 5 which was great! You are very private and have everything you need, from good cotton linen, good bed, good coffee, good view and good everything and it is super clean.

I have so much more good things to say, like for instance they have their own free-range hens on the property where they get their eggs from and most of their herbs and veggies are also from the garden :-)

The place is arty and still classy, I just loved the stay and can't wait to return.

I can really recommend Old Joe's with a sincere heart.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoelenePrinsloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

A genuine welcome from a very friendly Marian and Paul and their keen to please team was the start of a wonderful long weekend. The accommodation was spotless and tastefully decorated. A lot of thought has gone into the comforts in the room because everything you need is there - heater, extra blankets, hair dryer et al.
Food seems to be the attraction there and the time spent on the preparation is definitely enjoyed by the guests.
We thoroughly enjoyed the country home walks, cosy atmosphere and excellent service.

Room Tip: Cottages further from the road will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorna_gibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed often on business trips and although we haven't been there for years, we remember the enjoyment and peace and tranquility of one of the nicest places we have stayed at. Evenings mingling with other guests and locals in the pub were always memorable, and the situation and views unsurpassed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BreezeInn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My mother and I recently attended a short weekend conference hosted at Old Joe's Kaia. We were expecting food and lodging and then THE CONFERENCE...but boy were we in for a surprise! Old Joe's Kaia turned out to be just as big a hit as the event itself. We were hosted by Paul and Marian and their team, who - by the end of the weekend - became like family. The food is rich, beautifully presented and fulfilling. The furnishings remind of the cosy house you've always dreamt of but not gotten 'round to build. All around are guests declaring that they've been coming here 'forever'. The setting and surrounding nature is absolutely tranquil and to top it off, we enjoyed beautiful views from the deck at sunset, with snacks and the buzz of people discussing ideas and opinions that will change our world. If I can recommend you to stop over at Old Joe's next time you're passing through...DO IT! Oh heck, just go to Old Joe's Kaia to experience Old Joe's Kaia!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schoemanskloof
22.1 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Waterval Boven Malaga
22.0 mi away
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
#1 of 7 in Waterval Boven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
15.6 mi away
Saragossa Game Reserve
Saragossa Game Reserve
#1 of 11 in Waterval Boven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
15.8 mi away
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
#3 of 30 in Dullstroom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Joe's Kaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Joe's Kaia

Property: Old Joe's Kaia
Address: N4 Schoemanskloof Road | Btw. Machadodorp and Nelspruit, Schoemanskloof, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Schoemanskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Schoemanskloof
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Joe's Kaia 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLD JOE'S KAIA is a unique and small family owned and managed vegan guesthouse situated in the magnificent malaria-free Schoemanskloof Valley. This is a little oasis full of surprises. Expect fresh and unpolluted mountain air, fabulous scenery, prolific birdsong, and a wonderful relaxing, homely atmosphere. Known for its excellent vegan cuisine and fabulous wines, this is the perfect stopover en route to The Kruger National Park, Mozambique, Swaziland, The Panorama or the Lowveld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Joe's Kaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing