We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Joe's Kaia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Falcon Glen(Schoemanskloof)
View Hotel
Fortis Hotel Malaga(Waterval Boven)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bushveld Lodge(Nelspruit)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Budget Inn(Sabie)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
275
79
9
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
79
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskruger parkat homecrocodile riveren routewine listvegan foodexcellent foodevery mealbird lifea lovely staypersonal attentioncooking courseguest housebeautiful gardenmain buildinginteresting booksfine dining
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Only the best! Even without request, you will find only the best! This country house is all about nature, tranquility, peace, style and hospitality. Hosts with extraordinary care, creativity and passion in everything they do. Admiring the decor in the main house feels like walking through an art gallery!

Every year in November I celebrate my birthday, with my husband, at Old Joe's Kaia. And everytime it meets my wildest expectations!

We stay in a log cabin everytime. Unwinding amongst the birds in the tree tops is someting else! Overlooking the big and beautifull indigenous garden. Hours of peacefull and relaxing strolls in the garden is a big bonus of this country house!

I enjoy the romantic feel of every gourmet meal with good wine, candles, fairy lights and flowers!

Well done Paul an Marian!

Warm regards,
Connie van der Schyff

Room Tip: We choose a log cabin everytime!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvdspretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Owner at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Your birthday is something we look forward to, Connie - thank you for giving us the opportunity to spoil you every time! Kind regards, Paul and Marian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I absolutely loved the decor in this place,it had beautiful trinkets and a labrynth for those who have decided to change to awareness in all aspects of their lives,including mindfulness and organic food choices.

I was pleasantly surprised.thanks to host Marian and the brilliant chef for making my stay a memorable one.

I would love to return

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank NatalieRenou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Owner at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for pointing out many 'unmentioned' aspects of our guesthouse, Natalie. We believe that many people will realise the wider scope of our offering with comments such as yours. We look forward to your return! Kind regards, Paul and Marian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

It was quite interesting and somewhat surprising to read the reviews posted in the last 3 months, describing the experiences of various travellers to Old Joe’s Kaia, as our experience was completely to the contrary.

The entrance to our room was a very dishevelled and neglected garden with dark green mould on the walls. The room was dark and dingy and the décor was tired and shabby. It was definitely not “Luxuriously comfortable” as stated by the writer of the last post titled “Secluded Gem”.

As for the bed, it had seriously passed its “sell by date’ and the mattress had no life in it at all. We had to sleep right on the edge of the bed in the hope of finding some sort of "cushioning". The pillows were old and lumpy and the duvet was so old it was “paper-thin”. Whilst the room was clean, there was a mosquito net hanging above the bed that was brown with dust.

In terms of the service, although the staff were fairly pleasant, we did not find them particularly efficient and we had to ask them for the same thing a number of times.

The food was actually quite ordinary with some dishes ranging from bland to over spiced. It definitely was not gourmet food.

The whole experience for us was quite an uncomfortable one and we definitely would not recommend or stay at Old Joe’s Kaia again.

A week prior to our stay at Old Joe’s, we had stayed at another establishment in the area which had beautiful rooms, excellent service and good food. On those grounds and taking into account our experience at Old Joes, we would definitely challenge their ranking as the No 1 or 2 B& B/ Inn in the area!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Moira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Owner at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

This review is hurting us really badly. Seen in the light of all the other reviews on this site, our high percentage repeat visitors and you being the only guest that has experienced our offering so negatively, we can only assume that something terrible must have gone wrong with this booking that we were unaware of. The fact that we did absolutely nothing right indicates that there is a deeper anger which we failed to pick up, and we apologise for that – we did not have an opportunity to make good and enhance your experience of our guest house, because we didn't know that something was wrong. Regards, Paul and Marian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I have stayed at Old Joe's a couple of times, but hadn't been back for many years and I was delighted to find it is still as wonderful as ever! It's hard to believe that a little spot literally just on the side of the road can be so special, but Old Joe's really is. The accommodation is luxuriously comfortable, and the surrounding are beautiful and tranquil and you can't help but relax and unwind after a long drive. I was once again impressed by the gourmet quality of the food here almost in the middle of nowhere. It is original and surprising, but most of all delicious! I don't think there can be any better value for money anywhere in this area. If you're still deciding where you should stay, stop thinking about it and just book at Old Joe's!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Owner at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

We are delighted that we did not disappoint you after so many years. Thank you for coming back and giving us the opportunity to host such appreciative guests! Kind regards, Paul and Marian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

After going back several times for a breakaway and Marian's excellent dinners we decided to get married in the labyrinth at Old Joe's in the bottom of the Kloof. Our special day was made perfect by Paul, Marian and their staff - every little detail was attended to. From the moment we arrived on Friday we were surprised by hanging hearts all the way to reception. On Saturday we had a lovely breakfast before the day's activities started. The path to the labyrinth and the labyrinth itself was done with new wooden shavings and covered with rose petals all the way. Most of the plants in the labyrinth were in flower which made the most beautiful setting for a wedding that one could ask for. The formal dinner afterwards were done in such style and finesse, the food was excellent and the flower arrangement was different from what I have ever seen. Marian is a very creative, artistic person so I left all the decor, flowers and menu to her. I was not disappointed. The next morning all our family and friends were treated to a gourmet breakfast.
From sleeping arrangements for all our guests to their choice of wines - everything was five star! We cannot think of a better way to have a small intimate wedding.




it was surprisingly suburb

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the busy road.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElrietaSASouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Owner at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Elrieta, what can we say, except that it was SOOO much fun hosting your special day here at Old Joe's Kaia. You were amazing just leaving us to get on with what we enjoy most - hosting people that appreciate our efforts. Thank you to you both and a fantastic group of people. Kind regards, Paul and Marian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews