We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Old Joe's Kaia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Joe's Kaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stopped past there on our way home from Mozambique. What an amazing place. Absolutely gorgeous. The owners are incredible and so friendly. If we knew about it before hand we would've made the proper arrangements and stayed for lunch and even stayed the night. A def MUST do on my bucket list.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nastassha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you Nastasscha for your fabulous review. We do hope you find your way up to our neck of the woods again and we can spoil you for a longer stay next time.

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

We happened across Old Joe's Kaia a few years ago whilst looking for a bed and a meal. We were delighted with our room and utterly amazed at the wonderful supper and breakfast the following morning. We promised ourselves that we would go back. We booked for a few days over Christmas and were a little nervous that things might have changed, but Paul and Marian are still serving the most amazing meals in the most tranquil of places. We had a secluded log cabin this time with a little verandah where we could just sit and gaze at the beautiful grounds. One of the nicest B & B's that we've experienced and we hope to return again one day.

Room Tip: We did prefer the previous room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidays030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your fabulous review and taking the chance to return to us! We are so pleased you loved it as much as the first time. And hope there is a second and third and fourth....

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were once again left breathless by Paul and Marian's hospitality, the excellent cuisine and welcoming atmosphere during our recent stay at Old Joe's Kaia!! You arrive there as guests, but you leave as friends. We got a feeling of what it must have been like in the garden of Eden. The peace and calmness of this exquisite venue, are overwhelming and recharges you for the new year ahead!

Room Tip: Log Cabin number 5 is my all time favorite, it's private and overlooks a beautiful part of the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skoonma-se-Tong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Another delightful review from you! Thank you!!!! As mentioned - Log cabin 5 is ready and waiting for you...

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A very warm welcome from Marian and Paul, in this very lovely B&B, hidden, being located halfway between Mashadodorp and Nelspruit. We had a clean and spacious room with our own terrace, in such an exquisite garden. A garden with its maze full of flowers and rivulets, and with its hidden secrets spots of interest.
But what was so amazing is to feel how our hosts are so relaxed and how they transmit their feeling of wellbeing to all their guests. It was one of our most preferred stay in B&B!
Furthermore, the dinner served was excellent. A delicious butternut soup, followed by a bolitie of beef. – a Malaysian delicacy from the Cape. The main course was a tasteful smoked trout in puff pastry, fresh vegetables and a potato pancake, with a good bottle of shiraz, and finally such soft brownies with their vanilla ice-cream and chocolate sauce.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlainPieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review earlier this year! We are delighted that so many aspects of our offering thrilled you, from the gardens to our home cooked food and extensive wine list! Please do come again!

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stumbled across this place purely by accident, while driving from Jo Burg to Kruger.
We were met with a warm smile, by paul and Marian. Even though we arrived 30 minutes before dinner we were kindly offered dinner, which was by far the best meal we had in our 4 weeks in South Africa. I
The Accomodation is as close to home away from home as you can get. Every little detail has been paid careful attention to and executed to perfection.
Our only regret was that we only stayed one night. We will definitely plan for a longer stay next time we are in South Africa.
We would not hesitate recommending a long stay, in what we felt was the loveliest, warmest place we have stayed in years.
We hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

It is so wonderful to read this again - thank you for your review! We would love to host your family again for a longer stay so hope that your return trip to South Africa isn't too far away now!

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Took both sets of parents to Old Joe's for a Christmas lunch with a difference. I was not looking for traditional fare - we did the roast turkey etc bit the night before, so I was looking for something Christmassy but different! Marian assured me by telephone & email we'd not be disappointed...and she was 100% correct. The food was awesome and the ambience as great! Everybody had a great time and Psul, Marian & Sonja made us feel like old friends! We are already planning a return visit, and although we live nearby in Nelspruit, perhaps even an overnight stay to enjoy the gardens and views for a bit longer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you Daryl for bringing your family to celebrate with us! Its Christmas in July time already - but nonetheless we do hope you return before the end of the year! Thanks again for the glowing review.

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We always wanted to stop at Old Joe's and when they were on TV Pasella, we thought this was it and went. Hospitality at its best. Warm homely people, food divine, service remarkable. Must visit place.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet and value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Owner at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Leonie, it was very special for us to get to know a little about you and Melt as well. Thank you once again for your visit and we hope to be seeing you soon again :). Regards, Paul and Marian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schoemanskloof
22.0 mi away
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven
0.0 mi away
Drakenzicht
Drakenzicht
#1 of 4 in Schoemanskloof
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Martin's Haven Guest Lodge and Function Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Joe's Kaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Joe's Kaia

Address: N4 Schoemanskloof Road | Btw. Machadodorp and Nelspruit, Schoemanskloof, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Schoemanskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Schoemanskloof
Price Range: £41 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLD JOE'S KAIA is a unique and small family owned and managed vegan guesthouse situated in the magnificent malaria-free Schoemanskloof Valley. This is a little oasis full of surprises. Expect fresh and unpolluted mountain air, fabulous scenery, prolific birdsong, and a wonderful relaxing, homely atmosphere. Known for its excellent vegan cuisine and fabulous wines, this is the perfect stopover en route to The Kruger National Park, Mozambique, Swaziland, The Panorama or the Lowveld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Joe's Kaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing