We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful find!!”
Review of Old Joe's Kaia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Joe's Kaia
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a wonderful find!!”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Hi Guys,

A Big thank you to all of you, for making our 1st night of Honeymoon so enjoyable.
From the beautiful set up of the room with champagne and chocolate, to the beautiful dinner on the deck looking over the mountain range.

Dinner & Breakfast - some of the most decadent food we had on our trip around South Africa.

Hospitality & Staff were absolutely wonderful.

We will definitely recommend our friends & family onto you.
We look forward to our next adventure starting with you guys.

All the best, God bless

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you Nick for starting your honeymoon here with us as well as your glowing review! We hope your first few months of marriage have been wonderful so far. And we look forward to hosting you on your next adventure when you pas by this way again.

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    74
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
82
180
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kempton Park, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We came across Old Joe's a number of years ago more by chance than anything else. The welcome, the food and and the homely comfort has caused us to return for a weekend getaway from Joburg as often as we can. Paul and Marian have mastered the balance between attentive and welcoming hosts and and providing the space so often needed from the rat race. James and the rest of their staff complement their hospitality. The food can only be described as an amazing fusion of taste and sufficiency. You will lose out by not visiting.

Room Tip: The log cabims are the BEST!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanGeddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you Alan for coming to explore Old Joe's Kaia and for your rave review! We hope that as winter starts to wear itself out you will return for a Spring break and rejuvenate with us.

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Old Joe's is the perfect place to rest up on the way to the Kruger or lowveld region from Gauteng or after a long flight into Joburg. The hosts, Marian, Paul and James provided us with a warm welcome, without being overbearing. They know what they are doing, and are very good at it. The location is beautiful, with fantastic views of the Schoemanskloof Valley and subtropical gardens. There are walks in down to the Crocodile River beyond the property that are clearly signposted, which we appreciated after a long flight.

We stayed in a log cabin, which was well appointed and spotlessly clean. The beds were comfortable and we slept soundly.

The highlight for us was the quality of the meals - we had a fantastic dinner, with great wine. We couldn't resist some excellent dessert wine with our pudding - kindly suggested by Paul! Breakfast was equally good and served outside on the deck as the weather was fine.

The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, and the service just what you want and need to feel at home and enjoy the beautiful setting. It also represents great value for money.

I am sure we will be back when we next need a stopover on the way to the Kruger - Old Joe's would be hard to beat. The dinner alone would be a reason in itself to stay again.

Room Tip: The log cabins are very comfortable and set in secluded spots around the subtropical gardens, giving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for delightful review! We would love to host you again on your next Kruger adventure and so hope its really soon!

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We arrived in the late afternoon and had changed our diet to carb-free a few weeks earlier, after making the booking, and I had forgotten to inform Paul and Marian. With no notice Marian went off to the kitchen and cooked from scratch a delicious beef dish with a beautiful salad. Both vbery friendly and accommodating and we slept like logs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanvRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your great review Allan! How is the no carb diet going? We imagine a bit tougher in winter. We do hope to host you here again soon!

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellevoetsluis, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Old Joe's Kaia was an excellent place for a stop on our way from the Kruger park back to Jo'burg airport. Lovely welcome, beautiful scenery, large garden, spacious and well equipped room (rondavel). The food was the best! What a great cook and so beautifully presented. We wished we had planned more time in this relaxing place to spend time near the pool and to watch the birds.....and enjoy more of the great food!
We hope to return to South Africa and will surely come back to Old Joe's Kaia on the next occasion.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyp44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We would love to spoil you again with our delicious food and hospitality - so please don't wait too long to come back.

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dcusa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Old Joe's is like being at your Grandma's house....so much love and care. You feel like you are with " Family " Really ..... It was that nice.

The OWNERS are great !!!! We needed two be rescued from some bad travel plans...and OLD JOE's took us in.....they found a room for us....fed us.... and gave us LOVE .

The rooms are nice and clean....the staff wonderful..... James .....what can you say about him ??? He does everything.....BUT leave Tuesday alone...its his day off !!!!!

Joe's is 3 hours from Pretoria....a great place to layover on your way to Kruger. Stop at JOE's go for a swim....and eat some GREAT GREAT FOOD...the wonderful lady who cooks & prepares the meals does a FANTASTIC JOB

You will love " Old Joe's " BUT book ahead.....the word is OUT. Old Joe's is the place to stay on the way to Maputo or Kruger

Trust me....the people and food will make you SMILE !!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you! Reading this again makes us grin ear to ear! Your review is delightful. It is always so wonderful to thrill our valued guests. So again, thank you for so exuberantly expressing your joy. We do hope to spoil you again!

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Our 5th 0r 6th visit to this little gem in the Schoemanskloof valley. This time for a special family birthday celebration As usual the food was magnificent, the service outstanding,the rooms as beautifully appointed as ever. Nothing is too much trouble for this special couple, Paul and Marianne. They make you feel as though you are indeed home from home, even to a complementary bottle of bubbly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wend B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! Your frequent visits delight us each and every time - and we so look forward to the next one. Thank you.

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schoemanskloof
22.1 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Waterval Boven Malaga
22.0 mi away
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
#1 of 7 in Waterval Boven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
15.6 mi away
Saragossa Game Reserve
Saragossa Game Reserve
#1 of 11 in Waterval Boven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
15.8 mi away
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
#3 of 30 in Dullstroom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Joe's Kaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Joe's Kaia

Property: Old Joe's Kaia
Address: N4 Schoemanskloof Road | Btw. Machadodorp and Nelspruit, Schoemanskloof, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Schoemanskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Schoemanskloof
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Joe's Kaia 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLD JOE'S KAIA is a unique and small family owned and managed vegan guesthouse situated in the magnificent malaria-free Schoemanskloof Valley. This is a little oasis full of surprises. Expect fresh and unpolluted mountain air, fabulous scenery, prolific birdsong, and a wonderful relaxing, homely atmosphere. Known for its excellent vegan cuisine and fabulous wines, this is the perfect stopover en route to The Kruger National Park, Mozambique, Swaziland, The Panorama or the Lowveld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Joe's Kaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing