We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
281
79
9
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
79
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kruger park crocodile river home away from home wine list excellent food bird life a lovely stay personal attention cooking course guest house main building interesting books vegan menu great hosts nothing is too much trouble marian labyrinth
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I can only echo the previous reviews about how great Old Joe's Kaia is.

The warmth of our hosts and the quality of our dining experiences will long be remembered and has set the bar for future places that we will visit.

One thing is for sure that by staying only a single night wont do it for you, it takes time to soak up the serenity of the place. While there take a walk along the Crocodile River Path and have a quiet moment in the Labyrinth while reflecting on the life of Damian, we have a son the same age and are only be too thankful that he is still part of our lives.

Until the next time...Slainte.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGuigan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your Anniversary with us and taking the time to write your stunning review. It is always wonderful to hear that the lives of our guests were touched on meaningful ways by being here. We hope to see you here again soon!

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A little piece of heaven on earth! Consistency to Excellence-whether you visit for a day, a week-end or for a Conference-is second nature to Paul and Marian. The rooms are beautiful with attention to detail that surprises you; the food is equivalent to the best you will find in any 5* restaurant any where in the world!!; the staff is friendly, helpful and competent and should you be looking for a venue to host your next Conference, Team Building or Strategic Session for Executives, you can make your booking with confidence!! Old Joe's will exceed your expectations! You can bet your bottom dollar ... we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LydiaRoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you Lydia for your stunning review of Old Joe's Kaia. We loved hosting you here and so look forward to your return and spoiling you some more!

Warmest Wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

It really a wonderful, tranquil and serene environment. Great service and staff are very friendly. You immediately feel at home and its is just so relaxing. They have amazing food and a wine list to die for.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiezlHechter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you Liezl for your fabulous review! Our wine list is ever changing and expanding as we discover more delights our South African vineyards offer. We would love to host you again and share this with you!

Warmest Wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We are going through a terrible time in our lives, our daughter, who resides in Sabie has been diagnosed with terminal breast cancer stage 4. At this moment my wife is at her bedside 24/7.
We took a break by spending 3 nights at Old Joe's Kaia and were surprised by the tender care and compassion shared by the owners and staff. We could really recharge our body and soul, the area and atmosphere seems to cover you with tranquility and peace. The food and service were 5 star plus. We arrived as strangers and left with a lot of new friends. Accommodation in the wooden huts were great.

Room Tip: Choose accommodation that is not near to the road, the N4 tends to be noisy at times
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for allowing the peace and tranquility of Old Joe's Kaia to ease your pain in such a hard time. We are so, so sorry for your loss. Please return anytime as we are sure our tranquil surrounds will assist you to let go deeper.

Warmest Wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here on our way to Kruger Park & on our return.
What an oasis, and pleasant experience - we hope to return.
It is so reasonably priced, and the food excellent.
The four course evening meals are a must, with drinks in one of the many
lounges before and after dinner.
The owners are excellent hosts.
Thank you Old Joe's

Room Tip: Rooms 1,2,3,4, & 5 are well positioned away from the road.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bozzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review! We so look forward to hosting you again in our exquisite oasis.

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews