We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lowveld Landmark”
Review of Old Joe's Kaia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Joe's Kaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A conveniently situated well established owner managed country inn for those en route from Johannesburg to The Lowveld, the Kruger Park area and beyond, in a scenic setting with a large river fronting garden. Whilst the accommodation is somewhat dated, and the property a mix of different room types, some simple and quite rustic, the warm hands-on hospitality however is superb, the charming and quirky public areas are a welcome surprise, with very comfortable lounge and dining areas, lots of good books and magazines, fresh flowers, art and a lovely verandah with views, coupled with innovative delicious cuisine from co-owner Marian Cottle, who creatively and very successfully uses fresh locally sourced ingredients, whilst the wine list too is excellent.

Room Tip: Select a Kaia room, each have a garden facing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LewR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you! It was wonderful to host and meet both yourself, Lew and Barry. We appreciate your honest feedback - the fabulous as well as pointers that include ways to improve. We would love to host you again, the summer blooms from our garden are even more spectacular that our winter ones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our Stay at Old Joe’s Kaia was regrettably far to brief. Old Joe’s was everything I remembered and hoped it to be.

What a beautiful location.

Dinner was excellent with some adventurous menu items. All the food was delicious. Great atmosphere and we had a fabulous evening.

Breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of hot and cold offerings. Everything you would want for breakfast.

The staff could not do enough to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

I can not say enough good things about Old Joe’s Kaia and can not think of a better place to stay over on route to Kruger Park, Swaziland and Mozambique or maybe just if you need a relaxing weekend away. Truly value for money

Room Tip: Keep up the good work !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DerelleSteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you Derelle for the wonderful review! We so enjoyed hosting you and Beth at Old Joe's Kaia. And are delighted we met your expectations after such a long time. We look forward to your return, hopefully for much longer this time.

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I participated in a weekend of photography hosted by Old Joe's Kaia. What a pleasant surprise Old Joe's was! Apart from getting my head around Lightroom and the opportunity to photograph amazing landscapes (with the aloes obligingly blooming), I enjoyed Marianne's wonderful home-cooked meals and Paul's serene hospitality. Being nuts about indigenous trees, I found the gardens surrouding Old Joe's delightful. Lots of trees attract lots of birds and it was pure enjoyment sitting on the deck, eating a delicious lunch while listening to the liquid notes of the black-headed oriole (and various other singers of note of the avian sort).
Old Joe's Kaia is a keeper and I'll definitely head back there for more home-cooked fare, more photography and more enjoyment!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 89Marissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you Marissa for your fabulous review! We are thrilled that the birds, trees and aloes all played along so well to contribute to am enchanting weekend for us all. Please come back soon - the summer flora and fauna are so different and just as exquisite.

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

After a reference from a family member we decided to also visit Old Joe's Kaya on Sunday afternoon for lunch. We received a warm and friendly welcome from the owners. The food was nice, the service was excellent, and the views are stunning. We will definitely visit soon again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NielBlig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of our establishment. Please do come and visit again we would love to spoil you!

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Thank you for the relaxing afternoon. We arrived for lunch and received excellent service and the food was very well priced. The food is of exceptional home made quality. Had such a great time and an excellent afternoon. The people were so friendly and professional. Will definitely recommend Old Joe's Kaya to any of our friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarietjieBlig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of our establishment. Please do come and visit again we would love to spoil you!

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Old Joes is everything we would look for in a place for a weekend getaway from Joburg. An easy 3 hour drive, unless you get caught in the Friday afternoon rush, the last half hour or so is down the scenic Schoeman's Kloof, so it is worth trying to get there in the light.

The owners are warm and welcoming, the decor and furnishings are individual and reflect the taste of the proprietors. Definitely no "chain hotel" or pseudo Africa here. The rooms are as comfortable as real down duvets and fluffy pillow. Turned down beds with chocolates on the pillows at night highlight the attention to old fashioned values.

Marianne, who doubles as chef and hostess, will discuss the dinner menu with you on arrival, or at breakfast if you are staying more than one night, and you will not be disappointed, unless you eat too much lunch and spoil your dinner. Paul, the other half of the owner couple, will advise on the state of the roads in the area and on the best places to visit, then make sure that your glass is full in the evening. Appreciate (yes really) will guide you down to the Elands River and give you a good chance of seeing a Finfoot or Narina Trogon.

The gardens are an inviting mix of manicure and tangle, with a labyrinth for the spiritually inclined.

Stop here on your way to or from the Kruger, or make it a weekend getaway. You will certainly not regret the decision.

Room Tip: One ofbthe kaias
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris181054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Oh how stunning! Thank you for your superb review of our property. We just love it when our guests see so much detail and appreciate both the in and outdoors to the extent that you have. We so look forward to your return!

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Visiting old Joe's Kaia (Schoemanskloof) was unbelievable. From the spur of the moment booking (to be at Mbombela Springbok/Wales weekend), to leaving on Sunday was an experience of note. The gracious hosts "made" space for us, accommodated us for dinner on short notice and made the stay overnight very enjoyable. The dinner was 5star - hosting, presentation and taste!! Special touches like desert wine make the experience worth while!! Breakfast was great and how could we end the stay with a more appropriate ending than a walk in the labyrinth. It is a true way to come to feel peace and tranquility and finding your soul. The quietness, nature and the effort that goes into making this a wonderful place speak volumes of the hosts. Will definitely go back for a weekend and do the river walk.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luciao921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review! We loved that we could make you so happy on such short notice! The River Walk is gorgeous and one of the many reasons to return. We look forward to hosting and delighting you again.

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schoemanskloof
22.1 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
552 reviews
0 mi away
Drakenzicht
Drakenzicht
#1 of 4 in Schoemanskloof
43 reviews
0 mi away
Martin's Haven Guest Lodge and Function Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Joe's Kaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Joe's Kaia

Address: N4 Schoemanskloof Road | Btw. Machadodorp and Nelspruit, Schoemanskloof, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Schoemanskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Schoemanskloof
Price Range: £41 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLD JOE'S KAIA is a unique and small family owned and managed vegan guesthouse situated in the magnificent malaria-free Schoemanskloof Valley. This is a little oasis full of surprises. Expect fresh and unpolluted mountain air, fabulous scenery, prolific birdsong, and a wonderful relaxing, homely atmosphere. Known for its excellent vegan cuisine and fabulous wines, this is the perfect stopover en route to The Kruger National Park, Mozambique, Swaziland, The Panorama or the Lowveld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Joe's Kaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing