We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Stay Of Your Life!”
Review of Old Joe's Kaia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Joe's Kaia
Certificate of Excellence
Nelspruit
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Stay Of Your Life!”
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We truly had a superb one night stay at Old Joe's Kaia and our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer! The team were unobtrusive yet catered to our every whim. The food was outstanding too. A fantastic place to go to recharge the batteries. We cannot wait to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty1Nelspruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    76
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
82
182
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Unfortunately we only stayed one night. We felt almost like being invited to some friends and really enjoyed the homelike interior, and the serenity outside.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasy_se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2010

after a long flight and 24 h hours without sleep we arrived at old joe's kaia. and it was like coming home!
everybody was nice and helpfull.
we had an extraordenary dinner and slept well in our cabin.
and it was so cool to wake up and look outside the window....feeling like in the jungle!
everywhere green.
and the cabins all stand alone so you think your the only one!
the breakfast on the terrace again was fantastic and we got our first rays of sun!
it was the perfect place to start our vacation!
we can only recommend everybody old joe's kaia!
it's worth to stay longer than 1 night!
we will next time!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maicamarohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoofddorp
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Our stay in Old Joe`s Kaia was to short, the place is beautyful, the food is excellent, the accomodation is very good and romantic.
We loved our stay and will be back when we come again in South Africa.

Paul and Marian are very nice people.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollanders13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dowerglen
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2010

The service was exemplary. Management and staff were friendly and well informed of surrounding area, flora and fauna. The cuisine was beautifully presented , fit for royalty. The bedrooms are individually appointed, clean and very confortable. The shared areas such as the lounge and dinning areas are comfortably furnished with many individual touches which creates a lovely serenity needed by rushed city dwelling folk. Our son of 12 was delighted with being able to explore the gardens in this safe environment filled with all the beautiful plants, insects and not to forget the little frogs. Management and staff treated him with great kindness. We will be back to our Shangri-La.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Old Joe's is as hospitable as ever. In fact I think it has evolved into the most personal and intimate of venues for a stop-over or weekend destination.

The service is attentive yet not intrusive. The ambiance is relaxing and comfortable.

The culinary masterpieces that come from Marian's kitchen, always have a unique mouthwatering appeal.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kolmanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2010

My partner has been driving past Old Joe's for years now and I booked us in as a treat and way of breaking up journey to Jo'burg from Maputo. We booked the log cabins, ours was nestled back and view from bedroom gave impression of being in the treetops.
Dandering around the gardens some outbuildings seemed neglected as did pond, greenhouse and pool, but latter being renovated at present. We took a pleasant walk by the river prior to dinner. Welcome from hosts excellent, not intrusive and dinner utter joy to tastebuds (organic produce on each dish) and superb, well-chosen wine list. I loved the homely decor in the main building, tunes as we ate, abundance of magazines and books to peruse and will go again. soon. The hosts are most welcoming and service superb. P.S. breakfast on the terrace is equally good and I recommend a walk beforehand.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schoemanskloof
22.1 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
438 reviews
22.0 mi away
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven
15.6 mi away
Saragossa Game Reserve
Saragossa Game Reserve
#1 of 11 in Waterval Boven
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
#1 of 7 in Waterval Boven
128 reviews
15.8 mi away
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
#3 of 30 in Dullstroom
91 reviews
18.2 mi away
Stonecutters Lodge
Stonecutters Lodge
#1 of 14 in Lydenburg
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Joe's Kaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Joe's Kaia

Property: Old Joe's Kaia
Address: N4 Schoemanskloof Road | Btw. Machadodorp and Nelspruit, Schoemanskloof, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Schoemanskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Schoemanskloof
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Joe's Kaia 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLD JOE'S KAIA is a unique and small family owned and managed vegan guesthouse situated in the magnificent malaria-free Schoemanskloof Valley. This is a little oasis full of surprises. Expect fresh and unpolluted mountain air, fabulous scenery, prolific birdsong, and a wonderful relaxing, homely atmosphere. Known for its excellent vegan cuisine and fabulous wines, this is the perfect stopover en route to The Kruger National Park, Mozambique, Swaziland, The Panorama or the Lowveld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Joe's Kaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing