We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, perfect hospitality and the best dinner throughout our trip”
Review of Old Joe's Kaia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Joe's Kaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed for one night at the Old Joe's Kaia on our way from Kruger NP to St. Lucia. The lodge was easy to find and Paul gave us a warm welcome. Though the lodge is near the street it seems like a little secret refuge, build on a hillside you go down to the reception in the nice and warm main house. Rooms are nicely situated and decorated wooden houses, each has an own path through the little rainforest and has a huge window facing downhill. Within the room was a large canopy bed, useful information about the local attractions, tea and coffee making facilities (including REAL coffee) and a large bathroom with bathtub. Due to the street nearby one can hear engine noise during the night (not very loud), the provided earplugs are good for people who wake up easily (we didn't have a problem, though).
The wonderful secenery one can enjoy sitting in one's own room looking out the large panaorma window or sitting on the little private porch, and in addition, one can walk through the rainforest paths and visit the little labyrinth - passing the lodge's vegetable garden. The maze is a funny idea though it still might need to grow a bit.
The main house offers a large homely living room with many books and games and a large porch/balcony overlooking the wonderful landscape.
We enjoyed a wonderful candle light dinner (4 course), definitely the best dinner we had throughout our entire trip in South africa - including special wishes.
We had a wonderful stay at the Old Joe's Kaia and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herzi_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2010

Set in tranquil surrounds, the log cabin we stayed in was beautifully appointed with a stunning view of the distant mountains. Your hosts Paul and Marian personally attend to all your needs and they are extremely friendly but respect your space. Lovely walks through tree-lined paths. To top it all is the food, freshly cooked and comparable to any 5 Star establishment. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank temash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Everything is freshly prepared. I've tried some of Marian's recipe's myself when I got home - her food is really delicious(she put some of her recipe's online so that you can try them yourself). Yes, and then there is the 5 cats that makes it feel more at home when they come to eat at 18:00 and make themself comfortable infront of the fireplace when it is a little bit chilli outside. Every room is decorated differently with their own balcony that makes it exquisite. I would defininetly recommend this guest house to anyone that wants fine dining and good company. Thank you Paul & Marian for a great stay at your guest house Old Joe's Kaia.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bok30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

loved the quaint old world charm very comfortable with all needs taken care of, so nice to be in a personalised space as opposed to an impersonal hotel. The food is especially delightful and special thanks to Marianne for making countless mugs of her special hot chocolate for a growing boy that couldn't get enough of your delicious recipe! Also thanks to Paul who gave us such lovely ideas for sightseeing trips - such fun and very interesting we would never have found some of the places that are well off the beaten track.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GautengTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We stayed here en route to Kruger national Park (from Jo'burg Airport). It is ideally situated on a lovely road nestled in the indigenous forest along the Crocodile River. The hosts,Paul & Marian, are so welcoming and friendly. Be sure to book dinner as this is a feast prepared by Marian and her staff with ingredients from their organic garden. Though we could only stay one night, I would suggest a stop of 2 nights at least. No complaints as everything was organized and pleasant as could be. Try the Finfoot walk on the Crocodile River before breakfast - a lovely way to wake up - birds, monkeys, rushing river..........

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowGalColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Arrived dead tired from Oliver Tambo Airport in May. To be welcomed by warm professial host. A nice room ( One of the upgraded Kaias). Perfect setting with a great backdrop.
Mountains and tropical garden. Great food and very welcoming hosts. Will visit next time again.
Bert (Netherlands

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane123Rotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Absolute gorgeous setting with classy accommodation, excellent service, fantastic meals and good value for money. A real hidden gem.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilteller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Old Joe's Kaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Joe's Kaia

Address: N4 Schoemanskloof Road | Btw. Machadodorp and Nelspruit, Schoemanskloof, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Schoemanskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Schoemanskloof
Price Range: £41 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLD JOE'S KAIA is a unique and small family owned and managed vegan guesthouse situated in the magnificent malaria-free Schoemanskloof Valley. This is a little oasis full of surprises. Expect fresh and unpolluted mountain air, fabulous scenery, prolific birdsong, and a wonderful relaxing, homely atmosphere. Known for its excellent vegan cuisine and fabulous wines, this is the perfect stopover en route to The Kruger National Park, Mozambique, Swaziland, The Panorama or the Lowveld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Old Joe's Kaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing