We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected find!”
Review of Old Joe's Kaia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Joe's Kaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Having decided unexpectedly to stay over,we were very pleasantly surprised at the friendly reception and no effort was too great for the hosts to try and accomodate our requests for the necessary toiletries that we needed.The log cabin type room was also great nestled amongst the lush vegetation.That takes care of the accomodation,but now for the real cherry on the cake,THE FOOD!
Marian"s love of cooking shows in the way the menu is compiled with the presentation and taste a true reason to visit them again!Thats just dinner,dont forget about the breakfast the following morning.Thanks guys,will see you again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjaartCenturion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2010

I bring ~20 MBA students to SA from the USA every year and we stop at Old Joe's on the way to Kruger after a gruelling 10 days of business meeting and travel. The group breaks loose after the awesome evening of food and hospitality. The next morning when they wake up they discover the scenery.
The group demands that we return next year once again...

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jboers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We had a 1 night stay at Old Joe's during our self drive from Joburg to Kruger. Marian and Paul were terrific hosts. They did everything to make us comfortable. What a lovely setting this was; quaint and homelike with so many personal touches. Marian prepares the meals herself and what a chef she is! They even opened up their conference center so hubby could watch a World Cup game on the large screen TV. I would highly recommend this location for a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banditoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Our family stayed one night on our way to Kruger Park. it was such a good surprise that we booked the family unit for our return way.
Marian, Paul and Gay give a very special touch to this charming place : a considerate and friendly welcome, personalized and comfortable rooms, cosy atmosphere during dinner time, tremendous breakfast on the balcony with wonderful views on the moutain.
We particularly appreciate meals prepared by Marian, using products from her organic garden, full of taste and flavours. Accessible walks along the Crocodile river with magnificent birds.
We really get feeling to be at friends' home and we will keep in mind this experience for a next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Marian and Paul are so friendly and makes you feel welcome and at home. The staff is well dressed and super nice. The bed was fantastic and we slept like logs! The cabin we stayed in was beautiful and the atmosphere was peaceful and relaxing! The FOOD was out of this world! Will definitely recommend it to anyone! Already planning our next trip there... :o) Thank you SO much!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMJMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed for one night at the Old Joe's Kaia on our way from Kruger NP to St. Lucia. The lodge was easy to find and Paul gave us a warm welcome. Though the lodge is near the street it seems like a little secret refuge, build on a hillside you go down to the reception in the nice and warm main house. Rooms are nicely situated and decorated wooden houses, each has an own path through the little rainforest and has a huge window facing downhill. Within the room was a large canopy bed, useful information about the local attractions, tea and coffee making facilities (including REAL coffee) and a large bathroom with bathtub. Due to the street nearby one can hear engine noise during the night (not very loud), the provided earplugs are good for people who wake up easily (we didn't have a problem, though).
The wonderful secenery one can enjoy sitting in one's own room looking out the large panaorma window or sitting on the little private porch, and in addition, one can walk through the rainforest paths and visit the little labyrinth - passing the lodge's vegetable garden. The maze is a funny idea though it still might need to grow a bit.
The main house offers a large homely living room with many books and games and a large porch/balcony overlooking the wonderful landscape.
We enjoyed a wonderful candle light dinner (4 course), definitely the best dinner we had throughout our entire trip in South africa - including special wishes.
We had a wonderful stay at the Old Joe's Kaia and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herzi_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Set in tranquil surrounds, the log cabin we stayed in was beautifully appointed with a stunning view of the distant mountains. Your hosts Paul and Marian personally attend to all your needs and they are extremely friendly but respect your space. Lovely walks through tree-lined paths. To top it all is the food, freshly cooked and comparable to any 5 Star establishment. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank temash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schoemanskloof
22.0 mi away
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven
0.0 mi away
Drakenzicht
Drakenzicht
#1 of 4 in Schoemanskloof
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Martin's Haven Guest Lodge and Function Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Joe's Kaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Joe's Kaia

Address: N4 Schoemanskloof Road | Btw. Machadodorp and Nelspruit, Schoemanskloof, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Schoemanskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Schoemanskloof
Price Range: £41 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLD JOE'S KAIA is a unique and small family owned and managed vegan guesthouse situated in the magnificent malaria-free Schoemanskloof Valley. This is a little oasis full of surprises. Expect fresh and unpolluted mountain air, fabulous scenery, prolific birdsong, and a wonderful relaxing, homely atmosphere. Known for its excellent vegan cuisine and fabulous wines, this is the perfect stopover en route to The Kruger National Park, Mozambique, Swaziland, The Panorama or the Lowveld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Joe's Kaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing