We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful hideout on your way to Kruger National Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Joe's Kaia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Joe's Kaia
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful hideout on your way to Kruger National Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

We stayed the last night of our honeymoon in one of the luxury rooms (log cabin no.5) and wished we would have been able to stay another. The rooms and the premises (including a large and beautiful garden) are very cozy and beautifully decorated. No TV but beautiful bathtub, extremely comfortable bed, aircon and a lot of small amenities, like an umbrella, magazines, etc. in the rooms. Possibility to have dinner - superadvisable. Cooked deliciously by Marianne who runs the place together with her husband Paul (who is fluent in German, by the way). Both were really friendly and have a lot good tips for excursions and things to see in the area.
About 3 hours from the airport of Johannesburg and about 1 hour from Kruger, this is the perfect place to spend your first or last days of a south africa trip - book 2 nights, you won't regret it. Of all the places we have been to, one of the best value for money ratios.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iznel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    73
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
82
175
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ravensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

Old Joe's Kaia was our first stop in South Africa on the way to the Krueger National Park. We enjoyed the wonderful food and the great hospitality of Marian and Paul.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin-7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

After spending 2 months working on a very difficult project, it was such a treat to be in one place for 3 days, never having to worry about the next meal, do the preparation or washing up. It was a really special, relaxing enjoyable weekend and as we proved, close enough for some retail therapy as well.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adey1Johannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

On our way to the Krugerpark we stayed one night in Old Joe's Kaia. And on our way back, a few days later to Johannesburg, we stayed again one night in a different room.
When we arrived there was a verry warm welkom by the owners. The place is like a small paradise. Many different trees en flowers, fresh fruit and vegetables are growing in the garden. The way the rooms are decorated, the 'living'room, the terrace with a lovely view, every single place, there is so much sphere and personal touch. We had diner both times and that was a sensational experience.
You can taste the love and attention the food is prepaired with. All the fresh ingredients and different flavours, together with a great botlle of wine, really wonderful ! I ame sure when we visit this area again we'll come back to Old Joe's Kaia.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indyphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullinan, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We received only the best service from the staff and owners. From checking in up to checking out, nothing was too much trouble for them to accommodate us. Every meal is an experience to be remembered for as long as you live, I suppose. I say this as we went to Old Joe’s Kaia in October 1994 for the first time and I still remember the cuisine from that time. Absolutely marvelous and it is still absolutely marvelous. The personal attention being given by the owners makes the experience so much more to enjoy. It makes you feel right at home.
We stayed for two nights in one of the log cabins. It was delightful. It is more of a rustic environment, but all that you may need is being provided for – even a torchlight, umbrella and something for repelling the mosquitoes (that were nowhere to be seen). We spend some nice time in our room doing some reading. If you forgot your book there are magazines provided in the room. The log cabin had an air conditioner as well.
Old Joe’s Kaia is located next to the Schoemanskloof road which is the alternative road to the N4 travelling to Nelspruit from Machadodorp. The traffic on the road at night didn’t even bother us (even though we live on a farm where there is none of that) – they do however have earplugs in the bedside tables for those that might need it. The views and nature scenery is something out of this world. We did some excellent hiking along the river and in the indigenous bush, and there is abundant bird life just outside your room to start with. The river can also be used for canoeing – in fact, we saw some people doing just that on one of our hikes.
What we liked best was the excellent cuisine that was an absolute feast to one’s palate and enough for every need – complements to the cook (one of the owners if I am not mistaken)!
What we liked least was that we had to depart from this marvelous establishment at last, but we will be back for certain.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WimVierbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

Having decided unexpectedly to stay over,we were very pleasantly surprised at the friendly reception and no effort was too great for the hosts to try and accomodate our requests for the necessary toiletries that we needed.The log cabin type room was also great nestled amongst the lush vegetation.That takes care of the accomodation,but now for the real cherry on the cake,THE FOOD!
Marian"s love of cooking shows in the way the menu is compiled with the presentation and taste a true reason to visit them again!Thats just dinner,dont forget about the breakfast the following morning.Thanks guys,will see you again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjaartCenturion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

I bring ~20 MBA students to SA from the USA every year and we stop at Old Joe's on the way to Kruger after a gruelling 10 days of business meeting and travel. The group breaks loose after the awesome evening of food and hospitality. The next morning when they wake up they discover the scenery.
The group demands that we return next year once again...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jboers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schoemanskloof
22.1 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Waterval Boven Malaga
22.0 mi away
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
#1 of 7 in Waterval Boven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
15.6 mi away
Saragossa Game Reserve
Saragossa Game Reserve
#1 of 10 in Waterval Boven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
15.8 mi away
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
#3 of 30 in Dullstroom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Joe's Kaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Joe's Kaia

Property: Old Joe's Kaia
Address: N4 Schoemanskloof Road | Btw. Machadodorp and Nelspruit, Schoemanskloof, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Schoemanskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Schoemanskloof
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Joe's Kaia 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLD JOE'S KAIA is a unique and small family owned and managed vegan guesthouse situated in the magnificent malaria-free Schoemanskloof Valley. This is a little oasis full of surprises. Expect fresh and unpolluted mountain air, fabulous scenery, prolific birdsong, and a wonderful relaxing, homely atmosphere. Known for its excellent vegan cuisine and fabulous wines, this is the perfect stopover en route to The Kruger National Park, Mozambique, Swaziland, The Panorama or the Lowveld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Old Joe's Kaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing