We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villelongue Cote Jardins
Metchosin, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
979 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
“Very nice!!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Maybe due to our poor French, we had a bit of a strange 'welcome' but all was quickly sorted and we were shown to a very nice, very large, upstairs room with lovely antique furniture, plush carpets - very nice. It just lacked decent lighting. The room faced the street but was not noisy as the road is very seldom used. The night was very quiet and relaxing. The next morning we were served the best chambre d'hote breakfast ever...meat, cheese, croissants, bread, fresh pineapple plus all the usual things. Although our room was great, a better upstairs room is in the back facing the backyard and the gorgeous ruined abbey next door - ask for it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Villelongue.Simply lovely.This is rural France at it,s best.We also got the info from Sawdays.
The bedroom was huge,clean and had a lovely bathroom.It was twin bedded on the first floor but i understand there is a double bedded room on the same floor which was already booked.(So be quick).
The view from our room was of the ruined abbey next door.Realy nice.
The breakfasts were very good with a fantastic selection of sweet and savoury.
This was a great location for Carcassone and Albi on the way back.
Lovely stay with very nice hosts.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1834jules_philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, the old one.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Not I suspect a place for everyone but, for those who like what it has to offer, it is indeed lovely and unusual.

First the lovely: huge rooms - and I mean huge. Mine had a vast “double” bed, large on suite bathroom and enough space for a squash court to not be out of place in the far corner. The building itself is wonderfully old France and is peacefully located in a quiet spot, but within easy, short driving of all major areas of the region.

Now the unusual: dinner and breakfast. Claude and Renee are lovely, welcoming, friendly and very helpful. For anyone wanting to brush up their French over dinner and breakfast with your hosts, a stay here offers a great opportunity. For anyone who does not speak French, or who wants his or her choice of food and wine, dinner will be a slightly odd experience.

If that is your thing, this is a five-star place!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shower_Says_It_All
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We loved staying here in such a tranquil location and were sorry to leave. Claude and Renee are lovely, warm, friendly hosts and made good recommendations for trips. We liked our very spacious room and very comfortable bed. We really enjoyed our meals with plenty of wine and good conversation and trying to speak French, with our hosts (we also met a very nice Dutch couple). Cote de Jardin is surrounded, by beautiful, unspoilt countryside and is a great place for walking and wildlife.We would definitely like to return in the future, it is one of the best places I have stayed in France, if not the best!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lancsnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We have been twice now and will soon be visiting for a third time. Such a lovely place and lovely hosts. We can't visit France without coming back. I cannot think of a nicer place to stay. Exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart_a_nolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have overnighted at Villelongue Cote Jardins two years in a row, so much did we enjoy our first visit in June last year. We were equally delighted this year. The rooms take your breath away because of their size. They are also most interestingly furnished; bathrooms are excellent. Everything is immaculately clean; the garden out the back is a fine place for relaxing after the end of a busy day. The owners, sisters, Claude and Renee are unobtrusive but most responsive hostesses. Their dinners and breakfasts are second to none; in the case of dinner, excellent home cooking using regional and seasonal produce. Breakfasts! Well, don't plan on eating until very late in the day after one of them. Their Chambre d'hote is well placed not only to visit the most interesting abbey ruins next door but also for walking locally, for visiting Carcassone and as a peaceful haven on a journey through the region. We strongly recommend this, and for those of us trying to improve our grasp of the French language, Claude and Renee are generous there too.

Room Tip: We have been in downstairs rooms both times so can't comment on upstairs, one has a bath, so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Bugue, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed a night with Claude and Renée on our way down to Spain - this is a truly romantic place, their home is the remaining part of the monastery attached to the now ruined Abbey, hidden in a secret valley.....it was the perfect, quiet spot to get a peaceful night, and as this was early February, we didn't want to have to find a restaurant, so asked Claude to do an evening meal for us. Well! (Nous avons passé une nuit chez Claude et Renée en route pour Espagne - c'était un parfait endroit tranquille, et comme c'était début fevrier, nous n'avons pas envie de trouver un restaurant, donc nous avons demandé à Claude de nous préparer un dîner). The weather had turned unexpectedly cold, but we were welcomed warmly to a comfortable, very spacious room, and spent a really delightful evening in the company of our hosts - absolutely delicious dinner, sourced locally (including a veritable 'fest' of wild mushrooms!), plenty of wine, and lively conversation....and the best salad we have ever had...and we live in France!....(Il faisait un temps très froid, mais nous avons recu un accueil tres chaleureux, une chambre spacieuse et confortable, et un diner delicieux, produits de la region, un bon vin). When we woke the following morning to a blizzard, Claude was really helpful in giving us the best directions to avoid the deteriorating road conditions and get back to the motorway....invaluable! All in all, a memorable stay - and incredible value for money.(un séjour inoubliable, excellent rapport qualité prix). Merci tous les deux pour votre hospitalité.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Villelongue Cote Jardins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villelongue Cote Jardins

Property: Villelongue Cote Jardins
Address: Hamlet of Villelongue, 11170 Saint-Martin-le-Vieil, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Saint-Martin-le-Vieil
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Martin-le-Vieil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villelongue Cote Jardins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villelongue Cote Jardins France/Saint-Martin-Le-Vieil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing