We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very handy for Inverness without being central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
North Kessock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Kessock
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very handy for Inverness without being central”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We seem to end up at North Kessock March each year, but this time was the first with our young baby in-tow. We were a little unsure given our previous experience with the slightly dated decor, but couldn't have done better - we asked for a room big enough to hold a travel-cot... and were allocated a newly refurbished family room with space for a couple of toddlers. That was a very pleasant surprise, and one for which we were most grateful.

Everything else was the same as previous times - the hotel is very handy for Inverness.. you're only 15 minutes by road from the city centre via the Kessock Bridge, but far enough out to have a bit of quiet tranquility.

Breakfast, service and accommodation all spot-on... probably see you next March 2014 :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank japitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    72
    15
    3
    9
See reviews for
64
82
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Arrived and parked hassle free at this picturesque waterfront location.
Friendly welcome from owner.. Shown to a lovely room (3) recently refurbished. Super clean. Big TV. Comfortable beds with good bedding.
Dining room nice with friendly atmosphere. Dinner served from 5.30pm. This was promptly served so no lonnnnng wait!
Fabulous meal. We had the monkfish...salmon and sirloin steak. Faultless.
Breakfast same standard.

Would defo go back. Recommended. We were 2 adults and a 4 yr old.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monicarobak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We are fairly local and just wanted to get away for the night without the hassle and time of lots of travelling so decided on the North Kessock Hotel. Fabulous location on the shores of the Moray Firth with views across to the City of Inverness which is just 5 minutes away over the Kessock Bridge. Service from the minute we arrived was excellent and our room was lovely. We ate in the restaurant in the evening (which was fully booked - loads of locals in which is always a good sign) and enjoyed some great food at reasonable prices. A good breakfast was had the next morning to set us on our way and we will definitely be returning sometime soon and will be more than happy to recommend to our friends! We were chatting to the owner Cilla at breakfast who told us about how they are working through their refurbishment plans which will only enhance the current customer experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Waited around to be seated and ended up having to just select a table ourselves as the waitresses didn't even make eye contact with us when we arrived. There were only 3 tables occupied so they can't use the excuse of it being too busy. Had to request menus after waiting for over 20 minutes. When requesting the bill, the waitress simply returned to the bar area and stood about doing nothing for 10 minutes before I had to physically get up and request to pay at the bar. Not sure if this was down to incompetency or sheer rudeness.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fooooody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Just got home from 4 nights at this absolute gem of a hotel - wish I had booked longer. As a single traveller (who last weekend had spent a couple of nights in a very posh, expensive hotel in Cornwall where they gave me the worst room with absolutely no view at all and the worst table in the restaurant) it was so refreshing to find the North Kessock Hotel, where I was given Room 1 with stunning view over Moray Firth - I actually spotted dolphins from my bed! The staff were brilliant and really nothing was too much trouble; I didn't want chips with my (excellent) sirloin steak, so I got mustard mash which was perfect. All the food I sampled was perfectly presented & cooked; and the desserts were amazing - no way could I resist them! But the best bit was I felt so comfortable there - it's really informal and they make you feel so very welcome. So what if the rooms may be a little dated; they are very clean & are being updated one by one, and anyway it all adds to the charm of the place! I can't wait to go back and next time I will book a longer stay. It's also perfectly situated for popping in to Inverness when you want city time - great bus service from front of hotel, but you are just across the bridge in the peace and tranquility of a wee village by the water. Took me about 20 minutes to the airport too, so a very convenient base overall.

Room Tip: The view from the front facing rooms is just incredible - a paradise for dolphin watchers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Even the organising of a cup of tea and 2 hot chocolates seemed to be beyond the capabilities of this bunch!

We stopped off at the tourist information centre above and walked down (seemingly!) hundreds of steps because we fancied a hot drink.

Ordered our drinks at the bar, paid the pleasant young lady for them and then went outside to sit and look at the view, there were 4 other people just finishing up drinking outside and there was no other customers in the place.

At least 20 minutes later we were still sat there 'beverage free' so we went back to the bar where we overheard 2 of the male cooks (one of whom could give Gordon Ramsey lessons in swearing) having a row, the waitress seemed reluctant to go anywhere near the kitchen whilst this was going on which may explain our lack of drinks!

Needless to say, we asked for our money back and made a swift exit, never to return, avoi
best avoided I think.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieEly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dingwall
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Came here by accident as where I was going didn't have tables.we arrived after they had finished serving sunday roasts.still the food and service was good would deffo go back..the fish in the beer batter was amazing and as I didn't want mushy peas I got garden peas lovely.someone else on my table had the scampi,well king prawns they weren't a success as it wasn't liked very much,but it was our choice to order.on the whole was really enjoyable but next time I'm going to try and b in time for the roast

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mackie29_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kessock
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
4.3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
571 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
2.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Kessock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Kessock Hotel

Property: North Kessock Hotel
Address: Main Street | The Black Isle, North Kessock IV1 3XN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > North Kessock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Kessock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — North Kessock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your North Kessock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Kessock Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing