We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the steps of Queen Victoria”
Review of Loch Maree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loch Maree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Talladale
Reviewed 4 July 2013

A very friendly and very reasonable Highland Hotel, which is especially suited to the fishing enthusiast. The recent refurbishment has been completed to a very high standard and one wonders how long the deep pile carpets will look good with damp feet from the bogs and mists coming and going.
The Hotel serves the local beer - Suilven - and has an excellent dining room. After two of the three courses at dinner i could not eat any more as the local fish in creamy white sauce obviously did not cut the corners on the cream.
I was in a single room with a spectacular view of the Loch. It was on the small side. When Queen Victoria stayed at this Hotel she also had to cope with a small room, but she found the place enchanting, as detailed in her highland diary.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

A beautiful site with a period building which has recently been refurbished. In its class and because of the operators, it stands out from the norm. Friendly and obliging staff, great food in very comfortable surroundings with well appointed bedrooms, clean, fresh and the view from our room was outstanding.
I understand from locals, that Caroline and Raymond have been waiting for over a year to open the hotel due to works not being completed by their landlord but they seem to have overcome any obstacles and managed to provide guests with a great all round product. Thanks to all for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewisdonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This hotel has only been reopened under a new owner for a couple of months. Having seen the state of decline it was previously in I was astonished at the amount of work that has gone into the new venture by a very passionate owner. I stayed for one night whilst travelling back home from the hebridies. The hotel is clean, well appointed and very comfortable. The owner and his new young staff are superb. nothing is to much trouble and friendliness abounds. Whilst I felt the catering was only average, the view from the dining room is magnificent and makes up for this.
Indeed the view over Loch Maree from anywhere in the hotel grounds is stunning.
Yes I will definitely be back. Good luck to them on their exciting new venture!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a loch facing (ie rear) room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Northumbrian_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

A recently opened hotel which is now well signposted on the main road, and in a lovely location on the side of Loch Maree. On arrival we were made very welcome and the teething problems we experienced with the TV were immediately sorted out. In fact we found all of the staff very polite and friendly and they could not do enough to make our stay more enjoyable. We did not have our evening meals at the hotel and found the breakfast adequate. Everywhere was very clean and newly refurbished but we were a little disappointed with the size of our bedroom. We had booked a double room in advance but were of the opinion that our room would have been more suitable as a single room because although the bed could have been described as a double it was certainly a small double bed. I suspect that if you want to be certain of more all-round space then book a twin room because in our experience, and generally speaking, twin rooms would have to be larger than the room we had. To summarise we liked the hotel and location but felt that there are a few management issues still to be sorted out one of them being that one waitress serving breakfast on a busy Sunday morning is just not enough and no printed menus on the table at breakfast. It’s a nice hotel in lovely surroundings but there are management issues to be resolved and when these are resolved I am sure my average rating will be improved by following guests.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frequentravellers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

First it took us a while to find the hotel because it was not sign posted, and there was no indication that this house we were driving past might be a hotel (turns out the delivery of the sign had been delayed).Apparently it hadn't occurred to anyone to put a temporary sign there. I had booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 children and was told on arrival by a rather blunt lady (the owner I assume)that we had booked the wrong kind of room as our room could only accomodate 3. Her tone made us feel almost like we had tried to trick them by booking a cheaper kind of room.Unfortunately I hadn't brought a copy of the booking confirmation with me (but it turns out I was right and on checking the website today it still states (2 adults - 2 adults) which is confusing). No apologies were offered for the mix up and we were told we'd have to pay extra whilst no additional bed would be provided. A lose-lose situation but thankfully our 6 year old was more than happy to sleep on the floor. The food was OK and the whisky of the month and the house white wine were delicious. Also on the plus side the hotel has been renovated and had just reopened. It is very cosy and charming throughout. Except for the lady owner everyone was very friendly. The chef came out of the kitchen for a nice little chat. The reception chap was lovely and friendly. So were the waitress and waiter. There was a family atmosphere to the hotel which was pleasant. The setting on the banks of Loch Maree is dramatic and beautiful. The front of the hotel with the terrace could do with some landscaping as it is a shame to have such a beautiful view and
something missing there. I suspect this is a work in progress. It looks like the rating system of the hotel's website does not work properly but I would give it a 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulieBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Only a week after opening Caroline and Raymond showed how genuinely they strive to make guests feel at home. Their personal and individual service shines through - even providing hot water bottles for a sore back! They are were so flexible, doing everything they could to make our stay right for us. Breakfast at the time we wanted; encouragement to go fishing; dinner served in the bar, in the restaurant - wherever would be best for us. They are ably supported by an excellent young team. The hotel is beautifully refurbished, but still of course has its amazing situation on the edge of Loch Maree and its everchanging view.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ninjaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

We arrived on Sunday after a long dive from Edinburgh and wow as soon as you entered you were made to feel at home.
The hotel had just reopened after a major refurbishment, and looked fab. We had drinks outside overlooking the Loch, were given a bit of history of the Loch and the hotel. Room was super with its tartan blinds and bedding. Both supper and breakfast were perfect. Charming staff and owners alike.
The water in the hotel is fed from a stream up the hill so it's not clear but wow it's delicious, it's a bit odd bathing in green water but it does leave you feeling soft.
Can't wait for our next trip back to our 'Highlands Retreat' thanks folks, Mark and John

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mcrt2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talladale
6.9 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
175 reviews
7.7 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
356 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
159 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
620 reviews
7.5 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Maree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Maree Hotel

Address: Achnasheen | Gairloch, Talladale IV22 2HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Talladale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Talladale
Price Range: £54 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Maree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Loch Maree Hotel, Ross-shire set in some of the most breathtaking scenery on the west coast of Scotland. The Loch Maree Hotel was built in 1872 and offers a warm welcome to anglers, walkers and the visitor wishing to explore this territory of untamed beauty. Loch Maree is one of the most beautiful in Scotland and many songs have been written about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Loch Maree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Maree Hotel Talladale, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing