We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looked After”
Review of Loch Maree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loch Maree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Talladale
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Was at Loch Marre when decided to go foor lunch. The Loch Maree Hotel was in reach
Arriving we found a very unhappy owner Raymond
He had just been robbed by previous staff so service was not treally available
Undaunted Raymend said he could offer a short lunch menu
Delivered politely we had lunch under these arduous circumstances
Very help to two travellors
So if passing Raymond will look after you give him some business to alleviate previous bad momenmt for him and his wife
Should have charged the rats for robbing him of till monies
Will return to see how he fairs
Boyd & Betty Hamilton

Room Tip: only had lunch but the view over the Loch must be a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boyd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

We loved our stay at Loch Maree hotel. The Hotel is a lovely old building in a very peaceful, loch-side setting with very pretty views. It has clearly been recently refurbished and is lovely and bright, lots of soft yellows and greens and soft tartans. Our room was fairly small, but incredibly comfortable with a huge window with a view over lochs and mountains. In fact, although it wasn't the most luxurious, it was the most comfortable room of our Scottish tour. Service in the hotel was very friendly and relaxed, but also very efficient. From the moment we walked in the door until the moment we left, we were made to feel welcome and comfortable. The dining room is particularly lovely and light and the breakfasts were very good. The food at dinner time was ok, simple and hearty but perhaps a bit heavy on the cream sauces and too much dependence on frozen veg. I wouldn't travel there for the food alone, but we were very happy to eat there for the couple of nights of our stay. The prices for accommodation, food and wine were all extremely reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cambersberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We spent a night at the Loch Maree hotel in the middle of May this year. It had recently reopened after a renovation to a very high standard. The location was unbeatable, on the shores of Loch Maree with beautiful views across the loch to the mountains. Our room was fairly cosy but big enough for a 4 poster bed and a travel cot for our little girl, and we had a very comfortable night's sleep. The furnishings in the bedroom, en-suite bathroom and the rest of the hotel were all very good following the refurbishment.

The food and drink was fantastic. For dinner we had freshly caught langoustines with a nice bottle of white wine looking out over the loch. I can't remember the price but I remember thinking it was excellent value. Breakfast was also very good quality and plentiful.

We had a chat with the owners who were very friendly and hospitable and it was clear that their guests' comfort was top priority for them.

Plenty to do round and about for the outdoor types, especially when the weather is good. Not so much to do at the hotel itself on a rainy day I suspect, but if you want a warm and cosy highland retreat with comfort and good service then I would rate this place highly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were so pleased to see the hotel appear on the distance as we had been travelling a good few hours. David's welcome was warm and we were encouraged to eat in the dining room that evening. We were not disappointed as the food was good and fresh. That introduction to the hotel was typical of our four nights there. Comfortable, clean, well-decorated rooms, good service and good food. Family run, the hotel has chosen its staff well. We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FayAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We happened by the hotel and went in for lunch. There were the usual offerings, burgers, sandwiches, etc but also a langoustine salad. This we chose and it arrived after a while with a warning - be careful, the langoustines are still hot. And they were, freshly cooked and delicious, with salad and chips out on the terrace overlooking Loch Maree. What a lovely way to spend an hour or so. Staff were helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank tripleart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Spent a couple of nights here last week. Very friendly staff especially David, and good clean, comfortable rooms. View from room was great and the local ducks entertain you. Tasty breakfast. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ootnaboot16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

this hotel met all expectations. it is set in a stunning location overlooking Loch Maree. Quiet and Comfortable with nicely done rooms. amazing views on the lake. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay a lot

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Annina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talladale
6.9 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
174 reviews
7.7 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
355 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
159 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
620 reviews
7.5 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Maree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Maree Hotel

Address: Achnasheen | Gairloch, Talladale IV22 2HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Talladale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Talladale
Price Range: £54 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Maree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Loch Maree Hotel, Ross-shire set in some of the most breathtaking scenery on the west coast of Scotland. The Loch Maree Hotel was built in 1872 and offers a warm welcome to anglers, walkers and the visitor wishing to explore this territory of untamed beauty. Loch Maree is one of the most beautiful in Scotland and many songs have been written about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Loch Maree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Maree Hotel Talladale, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing