We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning Splendour”
Review of Loch Maree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loch Maree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Talladale
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Three nights at the Loch Maree Hotel while working in the area. The staff work hard to make you feel at home and comfortable. The food is excellent, the rooms are spotless and comfortable if a little on the small side, but the residents lounge makes up for that. The real joy though is being so close to Loch Maree and its spiritually blessed islands. The hotelier, Raymond, also acts as the boatman and will take you out to the islands for a guided tour - an experience not to be missed.
And if you don't like the water there is always Queen Victoria's room

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank columbo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Wonderful stay at this world class location, friendly warm atmosphere, food home cooked, generous portions, proprietors very accommodating and friendly local people, can't wait to go back for the fishing.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happy camper j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stunning location right on the loch.
An evening visit on the lawn of a family of deer was a fantastic experience.
Friendly welcoming proprietors, nothing was too much trouble.
Twin loch view room was stylishly decorated in local fabrics with a modern twist, lovely big bathroom and stunning view with very comfortable beds and good amenities in the room, tea/coffe making facilities, hair dryer etc.
The dining room overlooking the loch was stunning and both dinner and breakfast were really tasty and interesting cooked by the owner who took time to discuss our likes and dislikes.
We will return as soon as possible and would highly recommend the hotel for a fantastic highland stay.

Room Tip: Room 2 a twin loch view was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CxBx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We spent 4 nights at the hotel and enjoyed it thoroughly. The rooms were nicely furnished and comfortable. The shower was tricky but there was plenty of hot water. Our room had a post card perfect view over the loch living up to our expectation. The food was excellent both breakfast and evening meals and the bar area was cosy at night for pre-dinner drinks. Raymond was a great host making us feel very welcome as did all the staff. Look forward to returning next year.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Loch Maree was our last hotel(stayed in 5)after a week in scotland.It was a lovely way to end it !We had a cosy room over looking the loch and a warm welcome in the bar not only from Ray and Caroline who told us the history of the hotel but off the fabulous log burning fire!!The hotel has been decorated to a high standard and very clean. Our evening meal of smoked fish and salmon was delicious , After a few drinks!!! in the bar chatting to other guests and ray and caroline we had a comfy night sleep.Breakfast was also good and staff friendly.We would certainly stay again on our next trip to scotland

Room Tip: As others have said, ask for a room overlooking loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fayjoe87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We had a warm welcome from Raymond and Caroline and the hotel has a friendly atmosphere. We stayed in Queen Victoria Room which has a stunning view across Loch Maree. The food is homely and good with good portions

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sgdbdhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Loch Maree hotel is in a truly stunning setting! We arrived early and went for a walk but were able to drop off our luggage. The hotel is spotless! we had room 12 and the view!! This is an ideal break for the serious fisherman/woman! right on the shore and boat available! my fly casting twitch was going crazy!
We had dinner, i agree with other reviews, it is a wee bit expensive but even so the black pudding/scallop/bacon and maple syrup was incredible! Ive struggled with this review as the hotel is on the edge of a border between hotel and inn (if that makes sense).

Room Tip: ask for a Loch facing room... number 12 is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12,121,874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talladale
6.9 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
185 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
633 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
376 reviews
7 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
160 reviews
7.5 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Maree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Maree Hotel

Address: Achnasheen | Gairloch, Talladale IV22 2HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Talladale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Talladale
Price Range: £104 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Maree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Loch Maree Hotel, Ross-shire set in some of the most breathtaking scenery on the west coast of Scotland. The Loch Maree Hotel was built in 1872 and offers a warm welcome to anglers, walkers and the visitor wishing to explore this territory of untamed beauty. Loch Maree is one of the most beautiful in Scotland and many songs have been written about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Loch Maree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Maree Hotel Talladale, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing