We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
View over Busta Voe and island of Linga
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View over Busta Voe and island of Linga
View from the dining table Kitchen and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
View over Busta Voe and island of Linga
View from the dining table
Kitchen and dining area
Chapel site with Busta Voe and Brae in the background
The Chapel seen from the nearby Millburn Beach
Lounge
Wood burning stove in the lounge
Dining table viewed from the mezzanine loft
Master bedroom
Bedroom 2 sleeping three people
Bathroom
En suite toilet and shower
Cliffs at the back of Muckle Roe
Roda Geo in Muckle Roe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Muckle Roe, Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fishface4
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
4
people found this review helpful

Muckle Roe was a perfect spot for a family retreat at the start of the year, after a hectic Christmas and new year.
The Chapel was spacious enough for us and our 3 teenage boys, but very cosy and homely too. We stayed "home" quite a lot, as one boy has exams coming up and needed to study, but it was never a hardship, as the rest of us could play board games at the table, read by the fire or head out for a walk.
We had a glorious walk round the Hams, starting from the door of the Chapel, a walk that took in a beach, cliffs, heather, frozen lochans and a lighthouse. A few friends thought we were brave to travel to Shetland in January, but we had some beautiful, bright, clear weather. When it was a bit wild and rainy one afternoon, it was wonderful to sit by the fire and watch the ever-changing sky and water just outside the windows.
I would add that the ferry trips from Aberdeen to Lerwick and back were very quiet and comfortable and a great way to start and end our short break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2018
We’re very pleased that you enjoyed your time at the Chapel and hope that you will come again. Thank you for the 5-star review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ban-alban...
Ramstein, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A dream come true”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in May 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The trip to Shetland had been in the pipeline for a few years, postponed for various reasons, but although I had looked for accommodation, there had never been anything that really grabbed me. Once it became a more definate plan in 2016, I set about to find somewhere to stay, and within ten minuted stumbled accross the chapel. It was love at first sight. It had me at the picture of the view from the dining table and then I saw the rest of the photos and was hooked. The whole trip was planned over 6 months ahead and I spent a lot of those dreaming about the trip to Sheltand and Orkney. This really helped me through a very trying and stressful winter at work. Arriving at the cottage was so exciting. but somewhere at the back of my mind was a slight doubt about whether is could live up to either the online pictures or the ones in my head. but absolutely nothing to worry about. Everything was as shown, but so, so much better. The chapel in beautiful. The furniture and fittings are of an excellent standard, but there is so much more to it. Both the inside and the gorgeous surroundings are so peaceful. This is the perfect place to get away from the stress of everyday life, while missing none of the comforts of home. The owners have put a lot of thought into fitting out the chapel - there is everything you need in the kitchen, including a welcome package (thanks!) lovely locally produced soaps and an amazing array of information. The location is excellent for exploring the islands as well as being downright spectacular. The views from the windows are ever-changing and the play of light on the water is a photographer's dream.
All in all, I find it difficult to put into words how much I loved being here, all I can say is go there, you will not regret it!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for that lovely review and we're so pleased that you enjoyed the Chapel. Come again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmorla...
Cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best cottages we've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Muckle Roe Chapel in late May 2017. The building is half a converted chapel, and half new-build. The layout is all on one floor, and the building has been carefully designed. Some of the original features from the chapel have also been retained.
The whole cottage was fitted out to an exceptionally high standard and was extremely well equipped. The views were amazing and the setting extremely peaceful.
The cottage was well situated in the centre of the Shetland Islands, and was a good base. Despite the isolated location, the town of Brae was only a few minutes away with a decent supermarket.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

A stay at this beautifuil property ought to be on everyone's bucket list! Not only is the property beautiful, restful and more than adaquate for anyone's needs the setting is to die for. Tranquil, peaceful. To watch the weather moods from tne panoramic windows is amazing. A lot of thoughtful planning went into the design and facilities and no money seems to have been spared in making this a most wondeful relaxing retreat.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fmw883
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful holiday rental.”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The chapel is a wonderful place to stay on a visit to Shetland.
The accommodation is 1st class. My husband and I were there with my daughter and her three children (2 teenagers and a 3 year old). The accommodation was spacious and extremely well kitted out. The surroundings are lovely very quiet and peaceful. We would not hesitate to book again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing