We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and peaceful”

Westayre Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muckle Roe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westayre Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Muckle Roe B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Relaxing and peaceful”
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We spent four days at Westayre. While the B&B is a fair distance out - it is easy to locate and we found it easy to get to anywhere in Shetland from this location. The roads on the islands are well maintained.

Elsie is very sweet and her breakfasts are wonderful. As others have mentioned the views from the B&B are amazing. We were overwhelmed by the peacefulness of the area.

Make sure you rent a vehicle or have one on your own. We found Bolt rental cars to be very efficient. We didn't book ferry service to Yell or Unst and were able to get on right away; however, if this would have been high season it probably would have been needed.

Frankie's Fish and Chips in Brae is a good place to eat at a good cost. The Co-op sells snacks and sandwiches if you want to pick something up for your day travels.

Eshaness cliffs are worth a trip out to see and can be done in half a day. The croft house is an amazing reproduction. Munness castle was interesting as was Jarlshoff and seeing the puffins at Sumburgh Head.

We would highly recommend Westayre as a place to locate oneself while in Shetland.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

An excellent B&B with owners Elsie and Ivor very welcoming and hospitable. The rooms are immaculate and very well equipped. The view across the sea from the dining room was amazing, with red throated divers, cormorants and guillemots to watch in the bay below. Nearby evening meal dining options include Busta House Hotel and the Mid Brae Inn. Both serve similarly good, reasonably priced food. If you want to economise on a meal, the Brae fish and chip shop is well worth a visit - haddock in nice, crispy batter, unlike the soggy stuff you get in so many Scottish mainland chip shops (and I say this as a Scot!). If you have time and are reasonably fit, ask Ivor for directions to the circular walk to The Hams. Take a picnic lunch and eat it, as we did, in the isolated seclusion of South Ham bay, where we had the place to ourselves and were checked out by three curious seals!
I've long believed that mid priced Scottish/Shetland hotels are largely disappointing. B&Bs are the way to go and Westayre is a prime example of first class accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scot_rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

This really is a gem of a B&B and I wish we had been able to stay longer. It is terriffic value for money and the lady who owns/runs it is lovely and friendly. I subsequently paid much more money for much less quality elsewhere on Shetland, and wish that I had found out about Westayre much sooner.

It is immaculately clean, spacious and quiet. Breakfast was plentiful and excellent. I'll bet it's lovely in the summer as the location by the sea is gorgeous...

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TavernaCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We had a very enjoyable two night stay at Westayre B&B and only wished we had spent more time. The B&B is the last home off a single track road, approximately 4 miles from Brae, and is part of a working farm with sheep and ducks, and a very friendly cat. Our bedroom window overlooked sheep and green rolling hills, as in the picture attached. The bedroom was comfortable, with a great shower, and wonderful hospitality. The shades in the room were also such that they kept most of the light out at night - something to think about in June, when there may be only 2 hours of dusk before it starts getting light again! For breakfast, you can even request fresh duck eggs, from their ducks. They also have some local hand knit Shetland hats and gloves for sale, if you missed the shops in Lerwick on the way up. There is a nearby beach you can walk to, that is at most a half mile away, which is very picturesque and empty. Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to explore the hiking further than the beach, but there are many longer walks just beyond the beach. And my 13 yr old son's favorite part about Westayre, is that they had wi-fi - and added treat to our B&B stay.

The B&B is also in a great location if you decide to take a day trip north to Unst, as it is maybe a half hour from the first ferry over to Yell. Esha Ness is also about a 30-45 min drive from Westayre, although sadly we didn't get a chance to see Esha Ness during this trip. It is definately on our list of things to do for our next trip! Additionally, we had some wonderful meals at the Busta hotel, which came highly recommended by our B&B. Would love to help answer any questions if you are considering a stay at Westayre. Just loved our stay, and hope to return in a few years and spend more time there.
Heather

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heathermci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2006

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Westayre in May of 2006. What an experience! Westayre is a B&B and a working croft. Located on the island of Muckle Roe, on Mainland, Shetland, you couldn't ask for a more picturesque location. There's nothing like waking up and seeing the sheep and new lambs grazing nearby. There are beautiful walks to other parts of the island. Just past the light house to the west, about a 30 minute walk, you can find seals sunning themselves on the rocks. The views are spectacular and the hospitality shown by Ms. Wood is perfect. Her husband is very knowledgeable about the islands and is happy to share his stories when he's not busy working the croft or fishing! Every morning we looked forward to eating our breakfast while looking out across the water to the west mainland.

Helpful?
8 Thank iplayazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Westayre Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westayre Bed and Breakfast

Property: Westayre Bed and Breakfast
Address: ZE2 9QW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Muckle Roe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Muckle Roe
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Westayre Bed And Breakfast Muckle Roe, Shetland Islands, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing