We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Total tranquillity”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Breil, Maine et Loire, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hec131
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Total tranquillity”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We can only endorse the comments of previous guests, this is a beautifully and comprehensively appointed gite in a very tranquil setting with an abundance of places to visit and things to do nearby. We spent a happy relaxing week enjoying all th comforts of home (including a roaring wood burner in the living room on the one chilly wet day) while kidding ourselves we were keeping fit with cycle trips round about. The back roads were all but empty and there are miles of woodland paths to explore often with signposted cycle routes, all a treat for the senses. Our compliments to Iris and Derrick on their warm hospitality and the thought that has gone into making sure their guests lack nothing, a truly memorable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Our hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for your gracious review.
The wood burner certainly creates a charming and cosy atmosphere in the autumn and winter months.
We are delighted that you found the many and various cycling routes in the area. The Loire Valley area offers terrific cycling opportunities for all ages and levels of cycling ability.
We are continually striving to ensure that all our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable holiday.
It was a delight to meet you both.
Hope you consider us for next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
igrevie
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
1 review
“Extremely enjoyable, relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Wow! A beautiful Gite in a stunning and tranquil location. My family and I are more used to Coastal holidays so were unsure what to expect by going more rural this year – needless to say we were not disappointed.

It was a short flight from Dublin and approximately an hours drive from Tours Airport. We arrived early evening to a warm, friendly greeting from Iris and Derrick (the owners), a cold glass of wine and some delicious fresh pizzas left in our fridge. A well thought out Welcome Basket was also provided for us which was very much appreciated and meant we didn’t have to rush out the next day to stock up on the basics, although there are various supermarkets located within 10 – 20 mins drive of the Gite dependent on which one you prefer.

The Gite itself has been renovated to a very high specification and has all the amenities you could ever want and more. From plastic plates/cups for children to gas bbq for the men and the much needed wine rack for the women! A full-sized fridge/freezer also meant we had plenty of room for the must-haves of cheese and wine. The master room is beautifully furnished with plenty of room for a travel cot alongside the comfortable double bed, open the patio doors and you are gazing out onto a stunning field of sunflowers although we missed them in their full bloom, it was still a welcome scene. Our son was delighted with his room which contained 2 single beds. Downstairs toys were available for both children to play with alongside dvds and cds. At this point I would very much like to thank Iris and Derrick again for taking the children’s safety into account by providing us with stair and bed guards during our stay! We were also given the use of a buggy and travel cot – we didn’t know ourselves being able to travel so light!

Outside Derrick and Iris also had bikes on standby (we were too lazy to make use of those), a swing-set, see-saw, badminton net, football nets, toddler and adult pools and a petanque ground. There is a gorgeous Zen garden which attracts the sun throughout the day and it is surrounded by beautiful, fragrant lavender bushes.

Prior to our stay we were slightly concerned that there would not be enough activities available to ensure the children were kept occupied. Any concerns we had were immediately alleviated by the owners when we were informed there were zoos and various parks available approximately 1 hour away.

Breil (where the Gite is located) is close to various other picturesque villages such as Noyant and Vernantes. About a 40 min drive to Saumur, 50 mins to Tours and 1 hour to Angers – all of which are plentiful with restaurants, shops and chateaux. Unfortunately we were that busy doing other things ie zoo, vineyard, botanical gardens etc we didn’t get to see all that they had to offer on this visit but that has only gone to ensure we will be returning next year.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this Gite to either families or singletons who may be seeking either a relaxing or hectic holiday. Iris and Derrick are on hand to provide useful advice and suggestions when needed. Thanks again for a most enjoyable stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to barbeque and picnic
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2016
Thank you for a wonderful review, we throughly enjoyed having your family stay with us. We are delighted that you found the child friendly equipment, i.e. stair gates, bed guards, buggy and travel cot useful and that they contributed to the enjoyment of your holiday. It was a joy to have your children around and they were extremely well mannered and a credit to you. We are happy that you took the opportunity to not only enjoy the gîte facilities but also to visit the attractions that abound in this beautiful area of France, including the Tank Museum in Saumur, the Botanical Garden in Angers and the wonderful Zoo at La Flèche. Thank you for taking such great care of our gîte and we hope to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmo101
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tranquility, sunshine and starlight served up by the warmest of hosts”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The Gite is owned by Derrick and Iris (D&I from here in) who share the location just outside of a beautiful small village north of Saumur.
I would like to begin by complimenting our hosts. Way before our arrival D&I had been in regular contact thinking of our journey and making some preparations for our arrival. We travelled over night and to our delight, D&I had a large "Welcome" flag flying from their flag pole and a warm welcome greeted us. They showed us around and left us with a wonderful welcome hamper of essentials and some home made pizza in the fridge (to the pleasure of our two teenage daughters). Throughout the stay D&I gave us a wonderful blend of help, advice and assistance anticipating our needs and a healthy distance to make sure we didn't feel encroached upon.
The Gite is newly refurbished. Iris has planned the beautiful kitchen with a useful selection of utensils and crockery to cater for all occasions. New dish washer and washing machine. I loved the coffee machine, my early morning best friend. Everything is so clean and fresh. The lounge has entertainment for all with both Frenvh and British television, wifi for the kids to stream and download, numerous DVDs and books, games and a Bluetooth sound bar, our particular favourite. The gorgeous stair case leads to two bedrooms. Our girls were very happy with their twin room whilst us grown ups had the space and opulence of the very beautiful master bedroom. The windows were greeted with warm sunlight in the mornings basking through to a softly furnished bed, plenty of wardrobe space and furnished to make you feel fabulous when you opened your eyes in the morning. The bathroom had a lovely powerful shower and like the rest of the house, is new. The individual face towels complemented the fluffy bath towels we all were provided with and a pool towel each. The adults had a new bath robe each to chill out in after a cooling shower. The evening breeze kept the house cool over night with enough draft through to guarantee a good nights sleep.

So, the Gite is beautiful and the hosts thoughtful and considerate but we spent most of our time outdoors.

The Gite is set in square grounds with its own private garden. A choice of table and chairs provides a lovely setting for morning croissant and a family evening meal. We had some sun loungers for all of us with a south facing garden guaranteeing all day sun bathing. We made great use of the pool, just large enough for four of us to float about lazily on sun loungers listening to the buzzards on the wing. There is a football pitch (not enough interest from the girls), badminton/volley ball net, swings and a see-saw. The evening gave us opportunity to use the pétanque ground. There are two areas prepared for total relaxation. One under a whispering walnut tree and the other seated under a canopy surrounded by the scent of lavender. This, come evning time, attracted the setting sun and illuminated with softly lit globes to keep you chilled. Derrick had provided us with four adult bikes to enjoy the quiet local country roads. Each morning I was able the meander into Breil to visit the friendly Boulanger and collect breakfast. The silence of the location meant the bees were a welcome distraction when collecting pollen and the flutter of the friendly birds on the fence were the only disturbances. Bliss.

The Gite was therefor a most suitable base and one that could have entertained us quite satisfactorily but the location means you have access to so much more.

To the west is Angers and its medieval streets and towering castle. South is Saumur with so much to see and do. Tours to the east with copious amounts of history and the name of Le Mans to the north needs no explanation.

We had access to the local supermarket, a 7-10 minute drive away. It caters for everything including fuel and is a lovely trip by bicycle.

We had so much to do with many Cinderella chateaus located in the area, we went kayaking down the Loire, ate in fine affordable bistros and cafés and took advantage of Saumurs incredible selection of wine. There is a wonderful Zoo which is a must visit as the animals are very accessible even if one of the vultures looked too much like my mother in law to get that close to me.

We are not new to gites or the area so for us to come away and feel so strongly about our recommendation for this accommodation, facilities, location and mostly our hosts takes some doing. We loved it a lot.

Finally I would like to mention that at night you can see the largest skyful of stars I have ever seen. No light pollution means that we spent a few evenings lay outside into the small hours gazing up into the heavens giggling with each other. No electronics and how the conversation flowed. Probably how any family should be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Thinking of something to dislike
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2016
Thank you for your very eloquent review of Gîte Le Tremblay. We enjoyed meeting you all and delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Lee, a Leicester fan was very gracious to his host, a lifetime Spurs fan when we discussed football during a friendly game of French boules. We hope the girls didn't catch on that the adults let them win at Pétanque, Not!! lol. We have worked hard for a year to create a quality gîte that represents great value for money with all inclusive facilities and amenities that allow our guests to relax, unwind and enjoy the beautiful and historic Loire Valley. Given that this is our first year we are delighted that Gîte Le Tremblay had such a positive impact on your family holiday and thank you again for your wonderful review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing