We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please do not book this guesthouse”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanymynech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rhandregynwen Hall Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 6 Llanymynech B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This accommodation is NOT five star and is not fit for purpose.
Upon our arrival at 8pm at night the owner appeared inebriated, dishevelled and dirty advising us that he had had to get someone in to clean the room and toilet at short notice.
We had booked a double room with ensuite - we got a double room with a bathroom down the hall
The dining room was dingy and gloomy, and the lounge was unusable due to the filth, litter and dirty laundry strewn all over it.
The kitchen was in an absolutely atrocious state - piles of dirty crockery in the sink, spilt drinks and empty cups lying all over the floor and there was absolutely no possibility of accepting any foodstuffs from that kitchen.
We were advised that if we visited the attached stables we might meet with some hostility.
The owner advised us the place was in a mess with the gutters hanging off and broken windows as he was going through a divorce and wanted the place to look a shambles for valuation purposes.
He advised us he had spent all day at the hospital and, whilst sympathies were made, the place clearly was unfit for use, and had been for some time.
We made excuses to leave and did not feel comfortable explaining the above reasons why, as we felt the owner was inebriated and in a state of life crisis, and we uncertain as to what his reaction would be. We were then charged £70 instead of the quoted £56 by Laterooms
I intend to pursue my money back and a copy of this email will be sent to Trading Standards, Environmental Health and other such organisations to prevent anyone else booking this guest house.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank sueh387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

My friend and I never looked at the rooms. We walked out after seeing the state of the kitchen and the common room. Hopefully this place will be sorted in a few months and I hate to give a bad review to a nice man, but the place was absolutely filthy and I could not in good conscience encourage others to book there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannsen, Owner at Rhandregynwen Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

I don't know what you were doing in my kitchen or the so say communal area which is my private living room. The living room is used as a store for dirty laundry waiting to go to the Laundry. It is not used as a living room due to noise transfer issues. The kitchen had all the crockery and pans unwashed and the cleaning up had not been done . In the morning I had to attend to my other 3 businesses so just cleared the table to the kitchen. It often happens that the washing up and kitchen cleaning is done in the evening. We have been graded 4 out of 5 by Powys County Council for Hygene. This revue would not have been written unless the guests had decided to go on an unauthorised tour of the private parts of the house. They were refunded and driven elsewhere all assistance was given to them that they required. High priority is given to food hygene and the kitchen is always clean before use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We may have got a bit unlucky with this place as we turned up after a long day’s walk, a bit wet and tired to find the house was 50% over occupied and the owner was in a bit of a fluster.
Breakfast time was a bit of a muddle as there were more people than chairs or plates so we had to wait a while before we were able to sit down and when we did the crockery looked like it had been quickly rinsed under a tap rather than washed. Had we seen the state of the kitchen before eating we may have stuck with cereal as it looked like a total disaster zone.
The room itself was lovely, plenty of space to hang clothes, but it was cold when we arrived and we had to ask for the heating to be put on. The bathroom floor was freezing and there didn't seem to be a heater in there.
Mark was very friendly and couldn’t apologise enough for the overcrowded house and we very much appreciated the lift to the local pub for an evening meal.
Based on my own experience I’d struggle to recommend this place but you might get lucky.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IdRatherBeHiking2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Cannot fault the hospitality of Mark, he really is the reason why we've come to love finding brilliant B&Bs. Rhandregynwen Hall is brilliantly refurbished whilst still retaining the charm and character of the building. We stayed with our dog and were made to feel very welcome. Breakfast was fantastic, a great range and a a well cooked breakfast. We also took part in the shooting which was also fantastic, a great experience with a wonderful teacher. Mark really can't do enough for you, this is definitely a place we'd return to, loved the area and the B&B.

Room Tip: Rodney's Pillar room does have a separate bathroom however this is only a short way down the cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k11ytp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed for two nights as my friend was getting married at rowton castle. The owner is very friendly and goes out of his way to make sure your happy. The bedrooms are gorgeous and clean and the breakfast is delicious! The area itself is very picturesque with some brilliant walks and little towns but you will need a car to get around as not to many pubs within walking distance. Overall had a brilliant stay and will be back!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rebeccacharnley88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Arrived here in the midst of the floods, particularly bad in this area of Wales. We're greeted by slightly disorganised owner but very pleasant all the same! Dropped off our things then walked up to Rodney's Pillar, only a few minutes drive away. Returned and fully appreciated the views from our room- lovely and peaceful. Room itself was extremely luxurious with fur throws, sofas and thick duvet. Bathroom was not en suite but was decorated in a very modern, luxurious style with corner bath and walk in power shower. Spotlessly clean. Breakfast was amazing, even though we had to wait half an hour because they have recently changed breakfast times wand haven't got round to changing it on their information booklet. Really lovely food, cooked to perfection, with the additional option of cereal, yoghurt and fruit. All this at excellent value for money- just £70 a night B&B! Definitely beats your more expensive premier inn/travelodge style hotels. Will definitely be staying here again, and will recommend to anyone and everyone!

Room Tip: Rodney's Pillar room was lovely, although not en suite the luxury definitely made up for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebblackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Had a weekend birthday break here in an excellent room with en suite. Mark is such a nice chap will do anything to make you feel at home. Cooks brilliant breakfast too. We did some clay shooting with him as well which was great fun. An all round very enjoyable stay so peaceful and quiet. Will be going back and would thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbyCOMPTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanymynech
0.0 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#6 of 6 in Llanymynech
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandysilio
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sychpwll Centre
Sychpwll Centre
#1 of 1 in Llanymynech
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhandregynwen Hall Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhandregynwen Hall Bed & Breakfast

Address: Rhandregynwen Hall Stables Domgay Road | Four Crosses, Llanymynech SY22 6SN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanymynech
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Llanymynech
Hotel Class:5 star — Rhandregynwen Hall Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rhandregynwen Hall set in picturesque countryside, 8 miles north of Welshpool just off A483. This beautifully situated retreat offers three double rooms, two en-suite and one with adjoining bathroom (not shared), and family room.All rooms are equipped with LCD televisions, wireless internet, seating areas, and tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast is served in the dining room on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rhandregynwen Hall Bed & Breakfast Llanymynech, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing