We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cisnadioara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Secret Transylvania Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Cisnadioara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just returned from a week with Jez & Di. All of the holiday was great- trips, food, company and accommodation. Although out every day, the variety of trips offered made this a very relaxing holiday. bear watching is a must! If you want a relaxing holiday with good food and personal service this is the one for you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
94
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were picked up at the airport as arranged and then dropped into a vineyard we had asked to visit (and had a wonderful impromptu wine-tasting), got to Cisnadora and received a lovely welcome and then had a fantastic meal (accompanied by a very nice bottle of red). We sat back, happy and well fed and thought: if the rest of the stay is like this we will have been very lucky!
The rest of the stay was like that: lots of personal touches, lots of good recommendations and local knowledge, some great places to visit, excellent fellow guests. And perhaps the best of all: the wonderful food. There is a seriously good cook here. Di and Jez, with their team,maintain a very high level of service.
The local town, Sibiu (Hermannstadt) is great, the local countryside is beautiful there are some really nice places to visit (note: there are some long drives involved on some trips on some not great roads).
Having only been able to take one week of leave all summer I am very glad I spent it here (probably worth 2 weeks of any other holiday!).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank entremet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Jez & Di really made us welcome and showed us so much in the week we stayed with them.Walking was fun and we enjoyed the packed lunches very much.The castles and mediaeval towns were very interesting, culture,history and lots of greenery. Our second week was at the apartment in Sibiu.Perfect setting for an exciting town experience. To top it all we were kindly invited back for the best ever BBQ the food was memorable.Great company. Who couldn't enjoy the warmth of this place?
Check this out before it all gets too touristy.We loved it all thanks again Jez & Di

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Arrived back this morning and planning our return.

Cisnidioara is a beautiful unspoilt Transylvanian village, surrounded by mountains.

Our hosts Di and Jez go out of their way to make your stay first class, the home cooked food is amazing, the trips excellent, our favorite being the bear watching, we counted 8 all at the same time. We felt relaxed from the moment we arrived, and were collected at the airport.

I wish we had booked a few more days, Transylvania has a lot to offer.....you will need more than a week !!!!,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed fully inclusive and had a great holiday. Di and Jez run a first class guest house. The accommodation, food and trips were great. Our highlight was the Bear watching trip; it was amazing to see wild bears (from the safety of the Bear Hide). There is a lot more to Romania than we thought and Jez brought that to life with his knowledge of the history and funny anecdotes. The wildlife is glorious and meadows really hum with life.
We had some bad family news a few days before leaving which left us a little subdued, but the trips really helped us forget about things.
Bernadette and George.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We are still waxing lyrical about our visit even after having been back a week. The B&B itself is super with wonderful food, comfy beds, a decent shower, facilities to make tea and coffee whenever you want, a pool and decking area plus its own on-site pub! But what really make it are Jez and Di who not only are first class hosts (boy do they work hard) but who have clearly become part of the local community who provide colour to help us understand everyday life in this part of Romania. Jez is a great tour guide and host, Di is a superb cook and organiser and both radiate a real love for their adopted country. Nothing was too much trouble. They offer a whole range of excursions you can choose from and are backed up with some excellent help from Nelutu, Doris, Cristina and others. It was wonderful to have no worries about how we would get from A to B or make ourselves understood.


The guesthouse is in a wonderful spot, both for visiting cities, medieval towns, castles, museums, and also for the great outdoors which is right on your doorstep. You are as likely to see a horse and cart driving through the villages as you are motor transport. We opted out of the excursions on one day, and instead had a little ramble around and about the village soaking in the sights, sounds and scents which was terrific. I also loved the Astra open air museum. Animal lovers will be in their element. There are two dogs (Dolly and Derek) who live with Jez and Di, and also Dennis the resident cat. During our breakfasts we heard cuckoos every morning andone day we saw storks nests atop lighting columns in a local villagw. We also went on the bear expedition and were thrilled to have a chance to see them in the wild. Having been a bit nervous about going to the mud baths I got talked into it by a more enthusiastic partner and with Jez to show us what to do we had a great afternoon there and I’m so glad I did it. Before we did this trip I thought the bears would be a highlight but actually I cannot pick what my favourite thing was, they were all so enjoyable. The one thing likely to stress you out here is trying to prioritise what you want to do in the time you have available. You have to decide that for yourself, but once you have that sorted, Jez and Di work flexibly to organise it for you. With a maximum of 8 guests staying at any one time in the two houses, you really do benefit from the personal touch.
We are already thinking about when we can go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EurogirlBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed fully inclusive in the house which is around 10 minutes walk from the main guest house.
Di & Jez are probably the most accommodating couple we have ever met, nothing is too much trouble. All previous comments about the fantastic food are correct, hubby put on over half a stone while we were there! Trips are great, especially enjoyed the bear watching and castles. Also the Astra museum if the weather is good is well worth a trip. The Lancaster pub is great for chilling out and swopping stories at the end of the day. Definitely have plans to go back some time, loved it!

Room Tip: Rooms in the house are well appointed and clean if you don't mind the 10 minute walk to the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cisnadioara
0.0 mi away
House of Dracula Hotel
House of Dracula Hotel
#4 of 16 in Poiana Brasov
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 49 in Timisoara
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Wagner
Hotel Casa Wagner
#3 of 56 in Brasov
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Luxemburg
Casa Luxemburg
#2 of 31 in Sibiu
247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hunter Prince Castle & Dracula Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hilton Sibiu
Hilton Sibiu
#1 of 31 in Sibiu
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Transylvania Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Transylvania Guest House

Property: Secret Transylvania Guest House
Address: Str Biserilicor 15, Cisnadioara, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Cisnadioara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cisnadioara
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Secret Transylvania accommodation is in traditional Saxon houses, renovated to a modern standard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Secret Transylvania Guest House Hotel Cisnadioara
Secret Transylvania Guest House Cisnadioara, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing