We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impeccable hosts, room spotless”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hunter Haven

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellbird
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hunter Haven
Ranked #1 of 2 Bellbird B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Impeccable hosts, room spotless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We initially discovered Hunter Haven through a deal on the Groupon website, however, further dealings with Colette led us to drop Groupon as the middle man and book two nights during the Easter school holidays that included daily breakfast and a wine tour.
At first glance the Hunter Haven bed & breakfast looks like a large family house, but once past the clean pool and family portraits there are rooms complete with stylishly dressed queen beds & a spotless modern looking bathroom. Showers were AWESOME, the shower head was really big like a rainforest shower head and the hot water didn't run out! (Very important after a hard day wine tasting)
The breakfast forms were to be filled in and given to Colette and Ken by 830 the night before, offering a selection of eggs, Irish breakfast, croissants, toast etc. The espresso machine was put to good use by us as well! Each morning we sat on the balcony and enjoyed our piping hot coffees & breakfast with the rolling hills of the Hunter in front of us.
The wine tasting tour was run by Ken, who drove us to a handful of wineries in his four wheel drive. From the very start of the tour he explained that the purpose of this tour was for us to gain a better understanding of our palettes and how a variety of wines can be enjoyed in different situations. There was no pressure to purchase wines (however there was no issue with that, by the end of the afternoon all you could hear in the car was the clink of dozens of bottles) and Ken was really keen for us to develop a better taste for what we liked. Throughout the drive and tour he told us stories about the local wineries and the history behind each one. You can tell he has a keen interest in the wine making business and also how well he gets along with the staff at each winery. They knew each other by first names and it was really cool to be able to ask Ken questions about just anything.
We also went to dinner at 221, and Blaxlands Inn, which I'll review separately.
Overall we had an amazing time- Colette & Ken are great people who work round the clock to ensure we are happy and satisfied. I asked Ken today (Anzac day) if he had a break at all this week, he told me that him & Colette have roughly 5 days a month off. The house is spotlessly clean, Ken & Colette are outstanding hosts... All the best to you both, I'm really looking forward to visiting again and doing another wine tasting tour.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    14
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
62
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Colette and ken are so lovely they make you feel so welcome all the rooms are perfect, so clean and comfortable, if you are there for a concert, Colette or ken will drop and pick up from the event included in price of room. We have stayed here 4 times now and we wouldn't stay anywhere else

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We had such a wonderful stay at Hunter Haven. Ken gave us a tour of the vineyards which were amazing. He is very knowledgeable. We stayed as part of our honeymoon and would stay again. It was very clean and the food was sooooo good!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were very impressed by Ken and Collette's warm welcome when we arrived. They were very friendly and we talked casually while they made us a beautiful tea and coffee. Then, Ken took us on our very own winery tour which included one other couple - only guests from the B&B. It was very personalised and we set off early so as to miss the hoards of other tourists in the big tourist buses. Ken has a large amount of wine knowledge and endeavours to help everyone find what they are looking for in a wine. He also has a lot of knowledge on local history and we were very spoilt with all this information. The best part is that he knows all the locals and they know him!! So we were treated very well at each stop :)

Our room was very cosy and comfy with beautiful decor. We slept beautifully and in the morning awoke to a beautiful cooked breakfast. It was overall a wonderful experience due to the amazing hosts. Can't wait to go back!
Previne and Georgia

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaWicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Ken and Colette had made our mid-week break even more relaxing. Clean and cool room with privacy. After having breakfast (which is tasty and filling!), we were given the opportunity to be taken by Ken on a wine tasting tour. Not being wine drinkers, we passed on the tour but Ken provided us with information about the surrounding area and highlighted on a local map some places of interest which we may like to visit. The places Ken suggested had been within a 20-25 minute drive. After a few hours of exploring and tasting our way around the Hunter region, we returned back to Hunter Haven. After returning to drop off our purchases, we cooled off in the evening with a dip in the pool. Thank you Ken and Colette for your country hospitality.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie13V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

What a great girl’s weekend away spent at the Hunter Haven. Ken and Collette could not do enough for us. Form the moment we arrived til the time we left. The rooms were fab, a little bright in the morning, but very clean and comfortable. Kens Winery Tour was fantastic, the breakfast was amazing and you just felt like you were at home. I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingrosesx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Just returned from spending a few days in the Hunter Valley. Stayed this time at Ken and Colette's B& B. What a great little place! Very clean and the bedrooms and living area are spacious, beautifully decorated, and comfy. This was highlighted with extra little treats in our room.Breakfast offered a good choice,was generous, delicious and our hosts made sure we didn't leave the table hungry. Ken and Colette are friendly, welcoming and happy to chat about anything - Ken's wealth of knowledge about the area, as well as just about everything else, lent itself to some long and interesting talks. An extra bonus for us during our stay was a personal tour of the vineyards and produce outlets by Ken, who gave us little tips and valuable advice all manner of things from wine choices to places to visit. Would highly recommend this B& B if you're visiting the Hunter.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAH542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellbird
2.0 mi away
Wine Country Motor Inn
Wine Country Motor Inn
#3 of 16 in Cessnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
7.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.3 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellbird Hotel
Bellbird Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bellbird
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cessnock Motel
Cessnock Motel
#1 of 16 in Cessnock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Haven

Property: Hunter Haven
Address: 351a Wollombi Rd, Bellbird, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Bellbird
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bellbird
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family operated B&B with 4 rooms, all with en-suites. All rooms have wireless internet, there is a small one off connection fee, Digital TV and DVD players. We do our own wine tours, host a murder nights and will drive you to and from dinners, weddings, concerts etc. (Conditions Apply) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing