We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Isle of Coll Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Tiree Lodge Hotel(Isle of Tiree)
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$308
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
165
58
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
165
58
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafoodlangoustinesgreat foodlovely hotellunch and dinnerlambfriendly serviceremote islandwine listbeautiful islandhomemade breadscottish islandthoroughly enjoyed our stayboth timessmall hotelowners and staffmain course
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

It was just over a year since my last visit, and once again I must say, the reception at the hotel is first class. The food is some of the best Ive ever had, and Ive eaten my way around the world!!
Whilst it is the only hotel/bar on the island the prices are very reasonable and quality is obviously high on their agenda
Many thanks for another great time

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank YOU-you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at the Coll hotel for 2 nights. We really enjoyed our stay. The room was nice and comfortable and we had a lovely view across the bay. There was tea, coffee, water, biscuits and sweets in the room which was a nice touch. There’s a guest dining room so you are always guaranteed a table if the restaurant fills up. Breakfast was lovely and I have to say the girls working in the hotel were very sweet and helpful and the hotel generally had a nice friendly feel.

I found the wifi a bit patchy. We couldn’t really pick it up in the room and would have to go down to the bar. There’s not a lot of mobile reception on Coll but the hotel does have a payphone. There’s also the community centre across the road which is very nice and they have internet facilities there if you really need it.

We used the free hotel bikes on one day. They were all very good quality, they have helmets too. It was a nice extra. The island was nice to ride around. It’s extremely quiet and remote with only 200 inhabitant, plus sheep! Everyone is friendly and helpful on the island, locals will give you a lift if you need one etc. We just really enjoyed our stay there. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GemmaR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed with family overnight on the way to Tiree. The hotel location is great as were the staff and both the breakfast Setting staff & all meals really great. Only issue was with room 6 directly above bar & smoking area. We stayed a busy Saturday night so noise from good natured crowd in bar below was unfortunately an issue until 00:30hrs. In fairness owners are aware of the problem and working hard to solve the matter. Also only likely to be issue for room 6 and only when bar busy.

You may wonder why I have written this review - its because I believe trip advisor only works if people write honest reviews both good and bad.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WillyEckerlyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed here in a single room for two nights in July while younger members of the family stayed in the excellent new Island Bunkhouse nearby. The Hotel is very welcoming, the food is excellent. We had lovely weather and sitting out in the hotel garden with drinks was very pleasant. The family had dinner both nights eating the local seafood and it was delicious and very good value. Bikes are free and I loved whizzing about the Island. Coll itself is a lovely island full of welcoming people with lots going on and very pretty - the machair was in full bloom and the best I have seen in the Hebrides.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROMBunkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Book Now!

We ahve been visiting the island for 12 years now and without a shadow of a doubt The Coll hotel is the best in the islands.Kevin and Julie are amazing hosts in all senses of the word. The hotel is very much run as if it is an extension of their lives and not as a business, so be prepared for friendly conversations, amazing hospitality and food that is unrivaled.

Do not expect a city centre style approach to customer service, here you are a person with a name, not a room number.

Do not think the food will be the run of the mill , over sauced (just to add flavour) , fiddly , fancy small portions... here it is all about the raw produced, cooked very well, served as it should be.

This is the only hotel and the only bar on the island... remember, you are a guest to the island and therefore embrace it and enjoy the island banter. If you are expecting a sterile hotel chain style service with souless interiors .. dont come ..simples!!

I have read through a lot of reviews here and stagger to understand some of the comments... sheep poo on the grass... it is an island filled with sheep what do you expect??

Keep up the amazing work ... We love you. We love the island and we love your culture!

Room Tip: room 7 is perfect for kids as it can sleep 4. Room 6 has the best views as it is on the corner, but is above the bar and the restaurant so if youran early to bed person maybe not suitable... Room 2 ... great bath!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DouglasMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews