We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B&B”
Review of Bankhead Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bankhead Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Broxburn B&B and Inns
toronto
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding B&B”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Excellent location, accommodation and welcome. Food terrific. Excellent access to Edinburgh, St Andrews, Pentland Hills. Beautiful views and very quiet and serene atmosphere. Wiil definitely be back. Very good value

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BankheadBob, Owner at Bankhead Farm, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments
We appreciate guest feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
11
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Booked the last minute after another booking fell through and so glad it did - It is a wonderful place and lives up to its great reviews. The photos on the website don't do it justice - We stayed in a twin room in the byre and had the place to ourselves, include the sitting room with a real log fire and a dinning room and kitchen. I stayed in one afternoon and it was brilliant watching the weather roll in across the hills. Great advice on nearby places to eat and things to see and do. The cooked breakfast was excellent (not to mention addictive). We had a wonderful time and I am sure we will be back next time we are up that way!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BankheadBob, Owner at Bankhead Farm, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I have been staying at Bankhead for about six or seven years when I visit the area in late August.
Robert and Heather run an excellent B & B that suits me perfectly, because I prefer not to live in someone's house.
The accommodation is all self-contained and every room is fitted out to a very high standard. Housekeeping is of a similar high quality.
All rooms have hot drinks facilities and, although rooms do not have fridges, there is a large one in the kitchen where cold drinks etc, can be kept.
There is a large lounge with views across the farm. There is also a dining room and an adjacent kitchen. All can be used by all guests.
Because the farm is located at the end of an access road a little distance from the nearest town, guests are assured of a quiet night's sleep with no traffic noise.
The breakfast room has views across the fields in the opposite direction from the lounge.
Breakfast itself will not disappoint. There is a wide range of cereals, yoghurts and dried fruits, plus an extensive list of cooked items. If you like haggis for breakfast, order it the night before, as I do! If all that's not enough, there is as much toast and preserves as you can want as well as tea or coffee.
I would recommend Bankhead Farm to anyone who wants casual, but good quality accommodation.
My next visit in August 2014 is already booked.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Some upstairs rooms might not suit tall people because of the slope of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaguarEW02GRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BankheadBob, Owner at Bankhead Farm, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for your comments.It is a great pleasure to see guests returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qormi, Malta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Thanks to Google Earth we found this farm, checked the website and thought its worth a try due to the location. Since we are a family of 4 cause of our 2 kids I like to stay close to airport when on Holiday by car. This farm's location is thumbs up! Very close to Edinburgh Airport and to city as well. Just 20 - 30 mins far from Park & Ride where you can enter the city hassle free by bus (especially in August) and enjoy the beautiful Edinburgh. Breakfast is great and the full english cooked on order. Rooms very clean and comfy with country views Scottish style! Owners are very nice and helpful. On our next Scottish Holiday its a must to visit again when close to Edinburgh! Bankhead Farm .... thanks for making our Scottish holiday one to remember! Regards from MALTA.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Booked for one night at very last minute and no idea about the accomodation. So glad we did - great to get away from the motorway madness and into rolling countryside. We stayed B and B but there is also self catering. Breakfast great and only a short drive to our destination in Edinburgh. We much preferred to stay outside the city as we had private parking, peace and quiet. Room was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorrytyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

It was perfect for us and our boys. From the amazing family room to the friendly hospitality to the beautiful views. We will definitely will stay here again when we visit granny again. Our place of choice. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carloseltoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
305 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My wife and I visited Bankhead Farm after a recommendation from a colleague and we had a fabulous time.
It's pretty remote and found at the top of a dirt track but the welcome was warm, the room was spotlessly clean and very spacious. The whirlpool bath was great fun and the furniture was of a very high standard. Breakfasts were hearty and cooked to order, and they certainly filled us up for the whole day. We will definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrREvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broxburn
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
517 reviews
Travelodge Livingston
#2 of 4 in Livingston
287 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bankhead Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bankhead Farm

Property: Bankhead Farm
Address: Dechmont, Broxburn EH52 6NB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Broxburn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Broxburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bankhead is a quiet tranquil spot in Central Scotland with superb panoramic views of the Pentland and Ochil Hills and over the Forth to Fife. We offer Good quality B&B or Self catering accommodation. We are ideally located close to Broxburn, Livingston, Linlithgow, Edinburgh and Glasgow. Edinburgh airport is under 20 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bankhead Farm Broxburn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing